Customer Reviews for

Otis

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    This is such a great book!

    I live in Texas and my grandkids are in Minnesota. I send them a book every month. I go into B&N to see what i want, then send it online. My grandson is 6 and is crazy about this book. He takes it with him when he visits people to show them and have them read it. His mom helps out at his school class on Wednesdays and he had her bring it to read to his classmates. He thanks me for it every time I talk to him on the phone. The story is so cute and the pictures are fantastic.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Make Room, Mike Mulligan!

    Beautiful in every way! Children, and everyone who reads this sweet book to a child, will fall in love with it. Lauren Long adds a classic to the list of "must reads" for children.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2013

    This is one of the books that I bought solely because I love, lo

    This is one of the books that I bought solely because I love, love, LOVE the artwork. Loren Long used a subdued color palette to create gorgeous, retro illustrations. Otis the tractor charmingly goofy (or goofily charming), and the calf from the back view looks almost exactly like my dog Sophie did when she was a puppy -- She's a fawn-colored Ridgeback and her ears used to stick almost straight out. 
    The story is timeless: Friends stick with you, friends help you out, friends make you feel special; so although this theme is used frequently in children's stories, I don't find it tired. And the story is well-told, and not overdone.
    This book is a must for any child interested in vintage vehicles from the '40s and '50s and appreciates a sweet story. Some of the renderings were accurate enough for my husband to identify them and he has restored two vintage cars and a truck.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    Love it!

    My 3.5 year old loves this book. The illustrations are great, the story is great. Certainly a book that is going on my gify giving list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    School

    At school ms.nelson holons read it and i fell in love! It is so cute

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    I love love love this book.  .  My grandson who is 2.5 loves thi

    I love love love this book.  .  My grandson who is 2.5 loves this book whenever he sees it we have to sit and read it.
     what a great story and fantastic pictures!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

     So cute!

     So cute!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    great story

    This is a great story about friendship and how knowing someone well enough to help them not be scared when their in trouble. I love to read this story to my son. I also have otis and the tornado and enjoy that story as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    A familiar story!

    This is a wonderful story -- very classic! I quickly read it in the store and it almost brought a tear to my eye. I'm sure it will appeal to both boys (the tractors) and girls (the cute calf). it's beautifully drawn and I can't wait to read it to my son tonight!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Parents may like this one better than their kids

    I think this is a very nice story. I LOVE the illustrations, and it's a beautiful book. The story is meaningful and soothing, but I kept asking myself why I wanted to return to this book at bedtime and I got the "uhhhh, ok" response from my 5 year old. I think I've come to the conclusion that the story makes me feel nostalgic for what I feel was a simpler time, but my child doesn't get that feeling at all. That said, the message is well-received and it is a feel good story, if a bit slow for the kids. I would recommend this book, but don't be surprised if your kids aren't clamoring for it all the time...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Good bedtime storybook

    Otis is a good book to read to toddlers and young readers at bedtime. The story is cute. I bought this for my nephews birthday. The book is easy to read and is just the right length for a bedtime reading. I wish the story was a little more educational. It doesn't make a lot of since in some places. However, the illustrations are well done and it's a good book for any young child who likes farm equipment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    A MUST READ!!! We loved it!

    I'm completely in love with this book about a lasting friendship. The artwork is gorgeous and cute at the same time. I plan to give this book as a gift and recommend it to many (4-8 year old) boys. It's a winner in my mind for sure!!!
    I'm confulsed about the low ratings that the one reviewer gave it because I didn't get that impression at all from the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2009

    Confusing and depressing

    I found this story very confusing. Why did the farmer bring home a calf without the mother? Why does Otis stop working when the yellow tractor arrives? Why does he abandon his friend, the calf, and sit behind the barn? How did the calf climb out of the mud puddle by turning in circles? I don't know if this story was meant to be depressing, but it is.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2