Customer Reviews for

Our Kind of Traitor

Average Rating 3.5
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

Read all his books and this newest one is just as evolutionary as the others. Different tack in writing but rewarding in so many ways. He's not the kind of author you can count on to be steady as it goes. He is always stretching and testing and ultimately rewarding his ...
Read all his books and this newest one is just as evolutionary as the others. Different tack in writing but rewarding in so many ways. He's not the kind of author you can count on to be steady as it goes. He is always stretching and testing and ultimately rewarding his readers.

posted by Johnette on January 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

In the tale, and I fear in real life, in this world of secrecy, the end justifies the means regardless of the consequences and the means are often highly questionable with the results being even more so.

Our Kind Of Traitor, John Le Carre
I read an advanced uncorrected proof. The book is written with some lighthearted humor and a great deal of suspense. Until the final pages, I was really not sure of the outcome or even the actual nature of the plot! However, I could n...
Our Kind Of Traitor, John Le Carre
I read an advanced uncorrected proof. The book is written with some lighthearted humor and a great deal of suspense. Until the final pages, I was really not sure of the outcome or even the actual nature of the plot! However, I could not stop reading it, so psychologically, the writing style worked for me. I wanted to keep reading even though the details sometimes became overbearing and the path to the plot, often indecipherable. I needed to find out the conclusion.
A young British couple, on a much deserved vacation, hoping to define their own relationship and decide on whether or not their future is with each other, unwittingly meet a master money launderer and stumble into a secret financial crisis which involves them into the hidden world of British spies and the Russian mob.
The book is very timely as it takes place in the present day with mention of current politicians and events that have recently occurred. The mystery itself evolves around the current financial crisis. It is, however, very fragmented and, as I wrote, until the final pages, the entire plot is not exposed. Although there is some finality, in the conclusion, there are still many questions about some of the characters, that remain unanswered and are left for the reader to decide. It made me wonder if perhaps there would be a sequel.
Our Kind Of Traitor is a tale of corrupt politicians, spy organizations that manipulate information for their own benefit, criminals and criminal governments, lies, payoffs, murder and mayhem, bribes, manipulation and coercion, really dirty politics, cheating and government-sponsored mobs.

posted by thewanderingjew on August 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    In the tale, and I fear in real life, in this world of secrecy, the end justifies the means regardless of the consequences and the means are often highly questionable with the results being even more so.

    Our Kind Of Traitor, John Le Carre
    I read an advanced uncorrected proof. The book is written with some lighthearted humor and a great deal of suspense. Until the final pages, I was really not sure of the outcome or even the actual nature of the plot! However, I could not stop reading it, so psychologically, the writing style worked for me. I wanted to keep reading even though the details sometimes became overbearing and the path to the plot, often indecipherable. I needed to find out the conclusion.
    A young British couple, on a much deserved vacation, hoping to define their own relationship and decide on whether or not their future is with each other, unwittingly meet a master money launderer and stumble into a secret financial crisis which involves them into the hidden world of British spies and the Russian mob.
    The book is very timely as it takes place in the present day with mention of current politicians and events that have recently occurred. The mystery itself evolves around the current financial crisis. It is, however, very fragmented and, as I wrote, until the final pages, the entire plot is not exposed. Although there is some finality, in the conclusion, there are still many questions about some of the characters, that remain unanswered and are left for the reader to decide. It made me wonder if perhaps there would be a sequel.
    Our Kind Of Traitor is a tale of corrupt politicians, spy organizations that manipulate information for their own benefit, criminals and criminal governments, lies, payoffs, murder and mayhem, bribes, manipulation and coercion, really dirty politics, cheating and government-sponsored mobs.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    It just ends!

    This book must have been found in John le Carre's desk drawn, unfinished, scooped up, sent in to the publisher who finished it just for the money. I kept thinking, "there's not enough pages left to finish this story!" But I kept reading anyway. After the book goes to all the trouble of developing complex personalities the story comes to an abrupt end in just a couple of final pages! I felt tricked into buying it and more disappointed due to the time it waisted in reading it. I keep thinking, I didn't get it! Oh well live and learn.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    Loved it

    Read all his books and this newest one is just as evolutionary as the others. Different tack in writing but rewarding in so many ways. He's not the kind of author you can count on to be steady as it goes. He is always stretching and testing and ultimately rewarding his readers.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Dull and Disappointing

    I have a number of friends who are big le Carre fans so I decided to give him a try. It was a total disappointment and I probably won't be buying another.

    Briefly, a young English couple on vacation (Perry and Gail) meet Dima, a big-time Russian criminal and money launderer. Dima latches on to the couple to solicit their help in obtaining asylum for himself and his family in return for spilling his guts. They return to England and are interrogated endlessly before becoming part of the plan to get the Russian's information.

    While the idea was a good one, the writing was so dry and dull, I had to force myself to finish this book. There was no action for the first 240 pages and by then I cared so little for these characters that it didn't even matter what happened.

    After reading OUR KIND OF TRAITOR, I'd suggest you save your money and go to your local library for one of le Carre's earlier books which are supposed to be terrific. Lynn Kimmerle

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    Big Disappointment - Not Recommended

    The first chapter left me with a sinking feeling, but I read the entire book to determine whether my initial impressions were fair. Unfortunately, this book follows the decline of the le Carre series. The dialogue is stilted and forced. The plot, particularly the pivotal overtures by the Russian mobster to the British couple, is unbelievable. While the James Bond novels have wildly unrealistic plots, they can be appreciated as good hokum. "Our Kind of Traitor" proports be realistic, with its mention of recent current events, but it quickly emerges as bad hokum.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Vintage thriller

    Gotta say, I am really surprised at some of the low ratings for this book. John Le Carre is a legend, and I think he's as good here as he has ever been. I think some thriller readers are "hooked" on the blistering pace stuff of Brad Thor et all, but I think there's something to be said for Le Carre's more methodical pace. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    John Le Carre's writing is always a treat to read, even when he

    John Le Carre's writing is always a treat to read, even when he misfires. And misfire he does in this story, where no amount of sheer writing style and talent can salvage a story replete with flashbacks inside flashbacks where nothing significant, not even by way of character growth, happens in the first half to two thirds of the book. Eventually the action picks up, but by then we might be so angry with the author as to simply read out of spite rather than enjoyment, obligation -- because we want to get our money's worth -- rather than excitement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Do not recommend this book.

    This book has no plot and is badly organized. I actually deleted it from my library, which is something I never do.

    I gave it one star, but am being overly generous. If I had the option it would have a minus score.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    John le Carre' is an exciting author

    If you liked: Tinker, Taylor, Sailor Spy, you will enjoy this book as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    As expected from this author

    I use audio books on long driving trips; this was a perfect listen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    "Original Recipie" Le Carre.

    Your basic - get 'em on, get 'em over, get 'em in. But with the pace and anguish that is original recipe Le Carre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    dry and rambling

    Reading the reviews and being from John Le Carre I expected a great deal more from this book. The first few chapters, especially the first couple of paragraphs, really grabbed my attention but i quickly found myself becoming more bored as the story progressed. The dry british wit and dialogue mixed with financial jargon, flashbacks and foreshadowing really lost my attention and focus. I found myself simply trying to finish the book rahter than trying to enrich myself in the plot.

    and on a side note - the reviews are here to do exactly that - review the content of an author or book...not complain about the prices of ebooks!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    Confused and Rambling

    Not at all what I expected from le Carre. I have always loved his books but this one didn't live up to expectations. Perhaps my expectations were too high, but it seems he was trying too hard to keep the reader guessing and ended up being confusing. The final few pages do manage to wrap things up fairly well but until then the book was a muddle. Not worth wasting time reading - a shame, really.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    At the top of his game

    John le Carre has always been one of my favorite authors & his latest novel, "Our Kind of Traitor" does not disappoint. I find it amazing that he can continue to come up with different plots within the espionage genre. Very clever analogy between the game of tennis & the game of spying. Keep them coming David John Moore Cornwell.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Age of Cynicism

    With economies rattled world-wide following an orgy of greed, it's no wonder that even an old spymaster like John le Carre would write a novel highlighting the new world we live in. No one, however laudable their position, can be trusted anymore, and age-old bonds of honor are now meaningless as it becomes every man for himself. What was once dirty money is now just money, and governments who cannot deal in that currency will soon be left behind. But the reader is a cynic as well, wondering how the characters in this novel- the lay professor and his law-abiding girlfriend, could ever have connected with the master of money laundering in any believable way, not to mention enter into such a conspiracy as le Carre creates in the novel. The cynicism rings true, the story does not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6