Customer Reviews for

Our Lady of Immaculate Deception (Roxy Abruzzo Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

super

In Pittsburgh, Roxy Abruzzo tries to keep her Bada Bling Architectural Salvage business clean although her Uncle Carmine the Mafia boss tries sending her work. Roxy feels strongly about staying legal in spite of Uncle Carmine's efforts because she feels she must set an...
In Pittsburgh, Roxy Abruzzo tries to keep her Bada Bling Architectural Salvage business clean although her Uncle Carmine the Mafia boss tries sending her work. Roxy feels strongly about staying legal in spite of Uncle Carmine's efforts because she feels she must set an example for her sixteen year old daughter Sage; who is the result of a teen fling she had with Chef Patrick Flynn, just back from a Middle East deployment and wanting to deploy a second time with his former high school girlfriend.

However, Roxy is unable to resist stealing an ancient Greek statue that belongs to wealthy womanizing Julius Hyde. Her assistant "Nooch" Santonucci does whatever she wants and easily hoists the garden statue. Soon after her heist someone murders Jules and burns down the estate of his nonagenarian mom, who is more fretful that her prized possession, an ancient Greek statue is missing, rather than her son's death or the arson.


With the Blackbird Sisters taking a breather, Nancy Martin introduces her fans to a steel tough single mom trying not to join the family business though thievery runs in her DNA. Roxy holds the story line together especially after she purloins the statue. Filled with dark humor, Ms. Martin's fans will enjoy the Stealer escapades of a woman who straddles the line between a touch of piracy and a role model citizen as one tiny caper proves to the heroine that crime doesn't pay (sometimes).

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

If you like the Blackbird Sisters, you'll hate this!

I got to page 92 and quit. There is nothing loveable about the main character. I couldn't connect with her, or bring myself to care about her activities, thoughts or feelings. I LOVE the Blackbird mysteries, and I waited anxiously for this release, but I was very dis...
I got to page 92 and quit. There is nothing loveable about the main character. I couldn't connect with her, or bring myself to care about her activities, thoughts or feelings. I LOVE the Blackbird mysteries, and I waited anxiously for this release, but I was very disappointed. If you absolutely have to try it, start at the library. You'll be glad you saved your money.

posted by bdjems on April 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    super

    In Pittsburgh, Roxy Abruzzo tries to keep her Bada Bling Architectural Salvage business clean although her Uncle Carmine the Mafia boss tries sending her work. Roxy feels strongly about staying legal in spite of Uncle Carmine's efforts because she feels she must set an example for her sixteen year old daughter Sage; who is the result of a teen fling she had with Chef Patrick Flynn, just back from a Middle East deployment and wanting to deploy a second time with his former high school girlfriend.

    However, Roxy is unable to resist stealing an ancient Greek statue that belongs to wealthy womanizing Julius Hyde. Her assistant "Nooch" Santonucci does whatever she wants and easily hoists the garden statue. Soon after her heist someone murders Jules and burns down the estate of his nonagenarian mom, who is more fretful that her prized possession, an ancient Greek statue is missing, rather than her son's death or the arson.


    With the Blackbird Sisters taking a breather, Nancy Martin introduces her fans to a steel tough single mom trying not to join the family business though thievery runs in her DNA. Roxy holds the story line together especially after she purloins the statue. Filled with dark humor, Ms. Martin's fans will enjoy the Stealer escapades of a woman who straddles the line between a touch of piracy and a role model citizen as one tiny caper proves to the heroine that crime doesn't pay (sometimes).

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    If you like the Blackbird Sisters, you'll hate this!

    I got to page 92 and quit. There is nothing loveable about the main character. I couldn't connect with her, or bring myself to care about her activities, thoughts or feelings. I LOVE the Blackbird mysteries, and I waited anxiously for this release, but I was very disappointed. If you absolutely have to try it, start at the library. You'll be glad you saved your money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    An Exciting New Adventure!

    I will admit straight out that Nancy Martin has been a favorite of mine ever since I was introduced to her and The Blackbird Sister's Mysteries books. So when I heard that she would be starting a new series, I will admit to some trepidation.will I understand her characters? Will they strike a chord with me? Heck, will it leave me wanting more???

    Oh yes, indeed! It must have been good... I just read it in less than 24 hours!!? Holy moly. It is a major departure from her Blackbird Sisters Mysteries, but well worth it. Roxy is definitely not prim and proper, and has some major issues. But heck, who doesn't??? Loved it!!! I can hardly wait for the next in this new series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A sad disappointment for me

    OK, if you like the TV show Amazing Grace, you'll probably love this series. It certainly has certain sexual qualities that mimic Grace, and it lacks an easy story line with a string of characters that might need a score card to track. I feel sorry for Roxie's daughter and for Roxie, they have many unresolved issues that will need a bonafide psychologist to work through. Sorry, this is far removed from the Blackbird sisters, fans beware. You'll be sorely disappointed in Nancy Martins' newest book, I was.
    Maybe she'll surface through this mire of new characters and come out with a great sequel to the Blackbird series but so far, it misses the mark by a mile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun reading, Nancy Martin never disappoints

    Roxy Abruzzo is not as lovable a character as Nora Blackbird, but this book is a good, fun, lighthearted read. I do hope that Ms. Martin will return to Nora as well as Roxy. Her characters are colorful and delightful and I always look forward to her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Spin off Blackbird Sisters-Michael Abruzzo's Zaney Cousin

    Really fun story about the Abruzzo family. Not as romantic as Blackbird Sisters, but Roxy is a bit more rowdy. Made me reminisce for Michael. Good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    Disappointing!

    Hope Ms. Martin goes back to the Blackbird sisters. Roxy was a slutty woman, not a hero!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    Just Ok

    Synopsis looked good, but found the book just ok. Would much rather have enjoyed Janet Evanovich and Stephanie Plum.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    Nice try

    This book is not anywhere near the authors abilities. The plot is thin and the main character,Roxy, is not well rounded. The entire book leaves a lot to be desired. All in all, Nancy Martin should stick with the Blackbird sisters. They are a lot more fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1