BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Our Lady of the Forest

Average Rating 2.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2006

    Donna, a reviewer, 8/22/06

    I read the other reviews with interest. I bought this book because I loved Snow Falling on Cedars and East of the Mountains. I admit that Our Lady of the Forest surprised me, and made me somewhat uncomfortable at times. Nevertheless, I finished it, and I found that I've spent some time thinking about the book, its characters and events a lot since then. Sitting in my comfortable living room with a cup of tea and time to spare makes me a poor judge of people who find themselves in the position that many of the people in the book. Except for Carolyn who could have chosen a very different life considering her education and intelligence, these people were caught up in situations I've thankfully never had to face. The book is not an easy read - true, but I think the author deserves a lot of credit for tackling a setting that many of us will never have to deal with, and doing it without a judgemental and condescending note. I think he captured the media hype and mass reactions beautifully, as well as showing how situations build upon themselves creating potential disasters and/or successes. All in all, I say well done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    atmospheric with location

    I was mesmerized by this the context of this novel. I could actually feel the damp, dank and dark forest and picture the destitude 'mushroom pickers' and their life styles. I think it is one of the most unique stories I have ever read and it stuck with me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Worst Guterson novel

    Ilove his works,but this novel is awful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Not What I Was Hoping For

    I was hoping this novel would take a serious look at religion via the extreme case of a woman who sees visions, but unfortunately the book seems mired in the details of its individual characters to ever stretch beyond them, to ever say something important about religion and what it means to believe or not to believe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2010

    This book belongs in the Humor section

    All the reviews I have read seem to take this as a serious book. I read it as a comical description of faith and the apparitions that people have turned into ways to make money. How can anybody actually believe that the Virgin Mary comes down from wherever and can cure warts, smoking, and even arthritis. Thousands of "believers" come to boost the economy of a dying community and the pocket books of the "faithful" seers. Come on people. Lighten up and enjoy the book for its humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Almost couldn't see beyond the forest for the trees

    This book didn't have that many pages, but it was a very long and drawn out read. The story has an intriguing concept, but at times it can be boring. Ann was a interesting character and I felt bad for her, but the people around her were less sympathetic characters to follow. The priest who has fantasies about her, Ann's best friend who wants the perks that come with fame, and the logger with an mean streak and abusive nature. This is not David Guterson's worst book, but its not as good as Snow Falling on Cedars. If you can drudge through it, its an ok novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    Our lady of the really boring forest

    Ok, so the beginning is not to bad. I kept reading it,and waiting for something to happen. After awhile I stopped waiting and simply put the book on my shelf. I am now going to donate it to the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    Don't read this if you are depressed!

    The sadness in this novel overwhelmed me. I cared about Ann, so kept reading, hoping for some light, some redemption. And I kept hoping until the end. There was none. No hope, just incredibly sad people. The thing that struck me the most was the way everyone USED Ann. Is that what Catholics do? What everyone does? Innocently or otherwise? Does the building of a wonderful church justify the neglect and abuse of a young girl, no matter how ill? Maybe I just want to be insulated from the most pathetic realities of the world. I know they are out there, but it is very painful to read about them. Maybe that's the challenge here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2005

    I don't think so!

    I struggled through this book, hoping against hope that it would gain momentum....but no! The sexual innuendos in themselves were gratuitous and unnecessary. Would I recommend this book to anyone? I DON'T THINK SO!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2005

    HOW COULD ANYONE LIKE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!

    I struggled so hard to read this book.From the very beginning to the end not one page interested me at all.And the story is so boring.I dont recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2005

    This book was annoying

    I usually read the first few pages before deciding to buy a book. The first few pages of this book are truly well written and kept my interest. By the end of the book, I no longer cared what happened to any of them. Just wanted to finish it. Once I was done, I stared at the book for about five minutes wondering what other things I could have done with my life instead of reading this....like watching my toenails grow or paint dry perhaps.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2004

    Not Worth the Time or Money

    This book is well written but that's the only positive thing I can say. Except for the protagonist, who is a rather bland innocent, none of the characters are very likeable. And I thought I'd scream if I had to read about one more masturbation!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2004

    What's with all the masturbating???

    I could have really enjoyed the book a lot more if 3 out of the 4 main characters weren't pre-occupied with masturbating. What did that add to the story?? I didn't need to know about Tom's wanting to smell certain parts of a woman's anatomy either. Makes me wonder if the author has a problem or if he thinks sex helps his ratings. The story could have stood well on it's own without all that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2004

    Never read this book!

    I found this book incredibly boring and pointless. It goes nowhere and has no climax. Don't read it and waste your time and energy on it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2004

    Taking that second look..

    Let's face it, folks, life ain't pretty. One can easily figure that out after the first few pages of Guterson's newest, and somewhat disturbing, novel. I agree, there are several parts in it that make the reader cringe [did he really write that.. is that really.. could he mean.. !!!] and that's what makes this book so great. There are cracks in life that are downright dirty and Guterson dives right in, ripping them open for all to see. In the end [hopefully] the reader will be able to realize that all the characters are, after all, human and prone to mistakes and it takes real courage to learn from these mistakes and change yourself. Like my mother always says, 'try it, you might like it'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2004

    I initially agreed with Donna (below)

    I thought several times about closing the book - I found it disturbing - and foul...but I wanted to stick with it (I like to finish what I start) and I'm glad I did...life is messy and ugly...but there can often be beauty in the mess and ugliness...by the the end I was, once again, drawn to the mysteries of God and how God can and does use the ugly in this life for beauty. Worth finishing...the disturbing parts in the beginning make the redemption in the end all the more satisfying...and Carolyn is just funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2003

    Couldn't get through it...

    I've made the mistake in the past of reading books that didn't grab me from the start for the sheer sake of finishing them. I decided 'never again'. I got through the first few pages of this book and found it to be crude and disgusting what with Ann's constant... I can't even say it. I promptly shut the book and will be returning it to the library unread. Don't waste your time or money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2003

    Haunting & Rewarding

    Guterson creates a dark tale with a gloomy setting and in-depth characters. Match that with some rich sub-plots and once again, Guterson has a wonderful novel thats filled with intrigue and wit. Guterson has a way of taking real life issues and spinning them into a mesmerizing read. Deep and touching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2003

    Great story-great characters

    Our Lady of the Forest is the moving story of a teenage runaway who lives in a campground and supports herself by picking mushrooms in the forest. She's had a troubled past and she's been know to indulge in drug use. One day while picking mushrooms in the forest she sees an apparition of the Virgin Mary. I thought that the characters were well drawn and I came to care about all of them. I also found the ending to be perfect for the story. I would recommend this book. I truly enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2