Customer Reviews for

Our Lady of the Lost and Found: A Novel of Mary, Faith, and Friendship

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    One of my very favorite books!

    The Virgin Mary appears in a middle-aged writer's living room asking if she can stay and rest for a week. What's not to love? I immediately bought into the whole premise of this book and could easily relate to the writer who voices the story. I could see & feel the neighborhood she lives in, the house where she resides and the simple everyday task of making tea. Mother Mary seemed real; caring & smart as well as sporting a great sense of humor. You'll find nothing stuffy or preachy in this fabulous novel. Sprinkled with history about Mary & her many miracles through the ages, it is also very interesting on an intellectual level. I own the hardcover of this book and so I'm partial to the cover on it, rather than the paperback version. I have read this book many times and have given the paperback version as a gift to at least 20 friends. It holds a fond place in my heart and makes me wish I could hear a gentle sigh coming from behind my household fern.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2005

    You don't have to be religious...

    ...to like and understand the philosophy of this lovely book. Through her association with Mary, the protagonist (an over-40 unmarried writer) comes to understand why her life is like it is rather than like she always thought it would be and why doubting is a part of faith. The book touches not only on Marian sightings, but also on history, philosophy and physics. I saw much of myself in the writer and recommend the book wholeheartedly for those seeking another way to look at their lives and who they have become.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful

    Loved this book! Enabled me to imagine Our Lady having a cup of tea at my kitchen table while I fixed dinner. I bought extra copies to pass around

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2002

    EXCELLENT

    One of the best books I've read this year. Different and unique. Mary is portrayed as special but very human. She's a Mary that you would love to have a conversation with. Full of history and detail. Very well done!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    Now My Book Club is Scaring Me!

    After about 200 pages of this book, I quit reading it, which is unusual for me, especially given that this was for my book club. Reading this book was torture; it had long boring passages that felt more like lectures than a novel. This book was just much too slow-moving for my preferences.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2006

    Boring and Pretentious

    If you are expecting a creative and moving account of what it might be like to have the Virgin Mary visit for a few days you'll be vastly disappointed. This book is all about the author's own exploration of the Marian stories. In the right hands, that might be enough to make an interesting read but Schoemperlen isn't talented enough to pull it off. The protagonist is distant and pretentious right from the start -- she's a sucessful author of serious books, a great cook (I guess it's the gourmet version of zucchini & barley casserole she makes for Mary) and talented decorator. Miss Wonderful (by her own assesment) has no problems, no stress, a nice house in a nice neighborhood, the money to do what she loves. She wonders why other people are envious of her good fortune. In 10 pages Schoemperlen develops a pompous, dislikable and unknowable character. Why should we care what she thinks about life's big questions. The visiting Mary plays a very small role here. She's overshadowed by stories of historical sightings and the author's own mussings. The central character has no real dialogue with her heavenly visitor. Instead, Mary tells us stories (not usually in the first person) based on historical events, in a dry unembellished manor, without color or explanation beyond what is available in existing research. The stories have tremendous potential but the author doesn't have enough imagination to exploit that potential. Even more unfortunate, about half-way through the book our protagonist declares that it's now time to tell Mary (and us) even more about herself. And so she drags the reader through her incredibly mundane - but tremendously well-examined - life, while leaving out any details that might provide a bit of true connection. Without such a connection, the character's thoughts on Mary, religion, love and faith are of no interest whatsoever. They are, in fact, annoying. The tiny bit of wit scattered here and there is just not enough to counter the book's overall tediousness.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2005

    Good book-club pick

    I could relate to the author, who was being challenged to face the world she has made and open up to an as yet untapped dimension. The historical Marian material itself is worthy of discussion. She challenges your internal awareness and awakening in a way that is surprisingly subtle, yet effective. Mary is seen in a whole new, approachable light!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2004

    Fig trees for everyone!

    This book is about a visit that you know will end, even though you don't want it to. I love the balance between the narrative, history and philosophy. It's a feel good book for the hungry soul that makes you want to put a fig tree in your living room.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2003

    Mary for beginers

    This novel is one of my favorites. It is not preachy but is honest. The quiet brilliance of the author and her houseguest has lead me to reread this delightful story. I would reccoemnd it for the religious and the non-religious alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2002

    Chocolate for the mind

    "Our Lady" invited more than simply thoughts of how to entertain the divine guest. The author's distinction between truth, reality, fiction, and what "we believe we know" was enlightening. No matter the religious denomination of the reader, "Our Lady" inspires him to examine faith: faith in himself, in the past, a hopeful future, and a higher being.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1