BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Our Little Secrets

Average Rating 4
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

***Warning: The sex scenes get a bit steamy so I wouldn't just h

***Warning: The sex scenes get a bit steamy so I wouldn't just hand it off to your child without flipping through it to be sure you are comfortable with them reading them.***


Have you ever sunk into a story that has you begging for more and has you searching for answe...
***Warning: The sex scenes get a bit steamy so I wouldn't just hand it off to your child without flipping through it to be sure you are comfortable with them reading them.***


Have you ever sunk into a story that has you begging for more and has you searching for answers from the first page? That is what I got with Our Little Secrets. The past haunts the present as two people try to move into the future. A quick marriage with no questions asked. A budding and growing love. And a past that refuses to stay under wraps. A great story that will keep you wanting to know more. With depth characters and a story line that is unique in its own but has all the strength to pull you in and not let you up for air. I'm not a fan of Western but this story may change that.

posted by T_Sinns on September 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Really Disappointing

This book started out really well. However, about 2/3 of the way through, it headed down hill! The hero turned out to be non-heroic and then heroic again. Did NOT like the almost incestuous tones. You mean she never met her step-brother and he never met his step-sister?...
This book started out really well. However, about 2/3 of the way through, it headed down hill! The hero turned out to be non-heroic and then heroic again. Did NOT like the almost incestuous tones. You mean she never met her step-brother and he never met his step-sister???? And their father owned a newspaper? They never heard of one another??

posted by JPetie10 on January 22, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    ***Warning: The sex scenes get a bit steamy so I wouldn't just h

    ***Warning: The sex scenes get a bit steamy so I wouldn't just hand it off to your child without flipping through it to be sure you are comfortable with them reading them.***


    Have you ever sunk into a story that has you begging for more and has you searching for answers from the first page? That is what I got with Our Little Secrets. The past haunts the present as two people try to move into the future. A quick marriage with no questions asked. A budding and growing love. And a past that refuses to stay under wraps. A great story that will keep you wanting to know more. With depth characters and a story line that is unique in its own but has all the strength to pull you in and not let you up for air. I'm not a fan of Western but this story may change that.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Well done

    I really enjoyed Charlie and Michael's story. The questions, attraction, and suspense keep you glued. Can't wait to read about Eric's story. 702 pages

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Too good to put down!

    This was a very captivating read! I felt as though I were right there with the characters living out their lives with them. Merry Farmer just became one of my favorite authors!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Great book

    Randomly chose this book for weekend read...loved it. Would recommend! Will look for other books by this author.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Loved it

    I loved this story. The characters were great and the story well written. I wanted to read more. Loved this author.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Finally!!! A great story about a man who is REAL!

    A very good story about a man who is like a true flesh and blood person - NOT A BILLIONAIRE - Yet still intriguing!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Title said it...

    I've recently decided to judge things ie; movies,books, television shows by their title. Initially I was skeptical, but tried this book anyway. :-( waste of my time.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Really Disappointing

    This book started out really well. However, about 2/3 of the way through, it headed down hill! The hero turned out to be non-heroic and then heroic again. Did NOT like the almost incestuous tones. You mean she never met her step-brother and he never met his step-sister???? And their father owned a newspaper? They never heard of one another??

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Recommend

    I enjoyed this author. There was a little bIt of everything, secrets, lies, romance and a nice ending. I will read this author again. I am not leaving a long enclosed review because I don't like having the plot and ending ruined before I read the book. There is not wild sex in this book but there is some sex, for those that need to know.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Recommend

    Fun story and was very much enjoyed.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Mystery to me

    Cannot fathom why so many glowing reviews for such a weak and boring book. As heroes go, Michael was spineless and dull. And did anyone ever get a sense of his physicality? Oh, yes. He was good in bed. Wonder why I feel the need to finish a book just because I paid for it. Save your money and most of all, your time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    These reviews are padded and fake I bet!

    This is a serious amount of anonymous reviews, most of which are magically positive. The few of us willing to lend our names, all say the book goes downhill. Keep that in my as you choose whether or not to read this book. I think Amazon just had a legal judgement against authors for this very thing. What a shame. P.S. I don't enjoy incest stories either even with step siblings. Yuck!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    not abad

    story. I'm not really into period pieces, but all in all, it was not bad.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    This was a very good book

    Loooove this book i wished it would never end lol

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    Lots of twists and turns. Good plot of marriage-of-convenience t

    Lots of twists and turns.
    Good plot of marriage-of-convenience that becomes a real marriage. The heroine is strong, if a bit naive, especially since she supposedly went to college. The hero is not rich, or in his eyes handsome, or even upstanding, but he is quote: real. He's made mistakes and is trying to rectify them. He's anything but a hero in the past and is trying to come to terms with that. While some of his actions are questionable, again this is a true-to-life person and is well written to actually define the word hero. And I loved he had glasses! Love scenes are tasteful and well done.
    However-- there are too many incidents that make little to no sense. They never met though their parents are married? They both lived and grew up in the same area, knew the same people, same places yet never knew each other? His family is prominent and she never recognized him? There is a huge scandal of a very public figure, yet the heroine who lived right in the middle of it is completely unaware of it? The life situations also weren't believable: He's a neat freak. What about hygiene? There's never a mention of a shower, bath, etc. There's a fire, but she never cleans up soot, smoke, etc.? She can't cook, yet they eat wonderful meals every day? There's little mention of the weather, so it's hard to get a sense of 'place'.
    Also, the actions at the end-- I don't want to give spoilers, but the hero and heroine were wrong, very, very wrong in what they did. Not at all moral or honorable behavior, regardless how they tried to justify it. This end almost made me rate this book lower, but the story overall is sound and characters well done.
    These inconsistencies are why I gave this a 3 and not a 5. There are a few typos, wrong and/or extra words (ex: Charlie walked around and table-- should be walked around the or a, whatever) and a bit of rambling that stops action mid scene. The town seems to be coming to life with other characters and could be any western town. Great set up for the series.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Not good

    Did not like incestuous overtones. Really turned me off the story. Will not read anything else by this author again. Do not recommend at all.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Great book

    The secrets made the book. Light reading and can keep up with what is happening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    Anonymous

    I have read this book before but enjoyed reading it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Hello

    A good read, couldn't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    Could have been better....

    Glad that I didnt pay for this book. Story had promise but main character was rather weak, male characters were lackluster and plot seemed rather lacking in most areas. It is not the worst I have read but sure is not the best either. I give a htad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5