Customer Reviews for

Our Only May Amelia

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    I decided to read the book since my daughter's class was reading

    I decided to read the book since my daughter's class was reading it.   I thought it was a good book, but found some of the content to not be very appropriate for younger children.   The main character is  not liked by her grandmother who strikes her and draws blood with her cane.  There is a murder scene that is graphically described, and the murder victim is brought to the young girls home where the pregnant mother and another woman stitch the dead woman back together.   There is some swearing and the mother uses it towards the father.  There seems to be a lot of lying going on from the main character and her siblings.   There is talk of alcohol and smoking.   There is the death of a baby in the book and May runs away from home over it.   While it is a good book and interesting.....I think a parent should read it first before giving it to children under age 10 to read and see if they feel it's a book their child is ready for.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    Fun story about growing up in an earlier time.

    This was a required scholl reading assignment but the whole family read and enjoyed the story. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    anonymous

    DON'T GIVE AWAY THE ENDING!!! I'm getting it today for my Birthday!!! It's my 10th!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    Very cute story

    I really enjoyed this book so much and would like to buy the second very much! This would be a great read for any little girl to read! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was the best book i have ever read!! I would reccomaned this book for anyone wanting to no how it feels to have 7 brothers!! Im not a person you would find reading but i read this book in bout a day or so!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2007

    GRATING

    Normally you can't go wrong with a Newberry Award winner, this book is an exception. Characters are unrealistic, events are implausible, the 'heroine' is incredibly stupid (she knows bears are good at climbing trees but doesn't have the sense not to touch a cub), the entire story is awash in melodrama. This is not historical fiction, it is a tall tale without the humor.The author, try as she might, cannot make one funny sentence. The words 'sorry girl', 'no-good girl' are tiresomely repeated over and over. It is full of stale stereotypes, 'noble savage' Indians who have the cure for every ill, the girl who can cook for 20 and knows instinctively how to care for and infant while her older brothers are clueless. The terrible grammar is grating and doesn't add anything to the story. Supposedly this book was inspired by the author's grandaunt's diary, written between the ages of 12 and 18. You have to wonder why the author didn't just publish the original diary, what she thought she was adding by fictionalizing it. This book is an insult to a child's intelligence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2007

    One of Eight

    May Amelia was a girl was the only girl in her Washington farm. She had seven brothers and her mother and father with her. May Amelia was their one and only. She was no proper young lady. She wanted to be just like any of her other brothers. Fishing on the Nasel and getting messy with her brothers was what she treasured most. She had a very harsh life, and Jennifer Holm had a very superior way of expressing the calamity and pain of her life. May had her hardships and the twilights of her life. Being the lone girl on the Nasel was tough for May since she would do anything, and everything to be like one her own brothers. She had done so many outrageous and extreme things just to do the things a boy was allowed to do. May had an Uncle in Astoria, which was a city down along the end of the Nasel. When he would come to visit his Finnish family on the shore of the Nasel it was then a very extraordinary occasion. He was a sailor, just like one of May Amelia¿s brothers wanted to be. When he left, which wasn¿t exceptionally time-consuming after he had just arrived. While May does a great deal to be like one of her brothers, nothing seems to be actually effective. May was a wonderful girl, who everyone knew, even though there were not that many people that lived along the Nasel River. There especially were no other girls. After may has so many things to have the privileges and the honors of being a boy, some one comes into her home and life that no one wanted within a million years Grandmother Patience. Grandmother Patience was the meanest person that May¿s family had ever met. She had treated May with no respect, and had abused her as if she had no feelings and could feel no pain at all. Jennifer L. Holm had described May and her life with her father¿s mother with such a deep passion with all the things that had happened to her from the things that Grandmother Patience had done to her. May was tortured inside and out, with her having no control. Since she was just a girl, she had to be a proper young lady. She couldn¿t say anything that would disrespect her elder, no matter how much she wanted to. It was tearing her up inside. This book was such a spectacular thriller/drama that it kept me reading and always interested. Every time you have to stop reading, it is like having to read an ongoing cliffhanger. It would always keep you interested, and having very depressing feelings for May Amelia. It makes you wonder if you could handle what she was going through, and how much more of it you wanted to read it to see what her decision to do is next. I would recommend ¿Our Only May Amelia¿ to everyone to see how suspenseful someone¿s life could be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2006

    I love this book

    This book is great and i would reccomend it to anyone. I almost cried when baby Amy died.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    great!

    even though this book may look really boring or dorky its not. this is one of my favorite books aand i think it always will be!!! the best story ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    FANTASTIC NOVEL!

    I read this book for A.R and fell in love with May and her family, all except for the evil grandmother of course!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2006

    Could be my favorit book ever!

    Wow! This is an amazing story about a girl growing up in Washington with her seven brothers. She has different relation ships with each brother and is just like a boy herself, not like a proper young lady. Jennifer L Holms does such a good job at wrighting this book that I felt I really new May Amelia and all of her brothers. It was like I had just lived her life and felt all of the emotions she felt. I knew all of her brothers like they were my own too. This book is definatly on my favorites list and I couldn't put it down. I read it in one day!.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2005

    Amazing

    Our Only May Amilia I thought book was great. The book really took you into the life of May Amilia. I could actually relate to May¿s life. Anyone with an older brother or sister could really find yourself in May¿s situation. The way the author told the story made you actually feel like you were there, you were in that situation. Ever situation that came up in the story made it feel like it was happening right in front of you. At times it even made me cry (which is a good thing). Better than the Notebook. If any guys are interested in it they would love it too. It had excitement and it is thrilling. It was a very unexpecting book it surprised me in many ways. Men and women around the country should be reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2005

    OUTSTANDING!!!!

    I read this book for a summer reading list and I thought it was great!!! It was probaly one of the best book I have ever read!! I am going to end up doing it for my school project!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2005

    Our only may amelia

    this book is about may amelia going on adventures with her 7 other brothers. being the only girl on the nasel is hard. her mother ends up having a baby girl and may is so happy. finally her baby sister dies in her sleep and may amelia is crushed and goes to her aunts house.this book is not very happy so if you want a cheery book dont read this one. this book is the truth and the truth is sad and it hurts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2005

    It is a very good bokks

    i think is a good book. its about a 12 year old girl who like to make trouble and go on adventures. She has 7 older brother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2004

    The Lone Girl

    Being the only girl of 8 brothers is tough not to mention being the only girl in Nasel, Washington. The story takes place in 1899. May Amelia Jackson is not what you would call the proper young lady. She constantly is getting in trouble, whether it is being chased up a tree by a bear or coming face to face with a cougar she always manages to get out of it. May Amelia has to learn to understand with her father, to get along with her brother, and bear the cane of Grandmother Patience. At times you could not put the book down because of the excitement and curiosity it gives you. I liked the adventure and how I the author made me feel as though i actually knew the character. I just did not like how sometimes it just dragged on in chapters when it did not need to. There was a point when you could put the book down when you did get a little bored. I think this book would not be reccomended for boys, just girls from the ages to 9-14. Once you read this book maybe you will not think that your life is all that bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2004

    About Our only May Amelia.....

    About reviews, this is a must read I must say. It is a wonderful book about the first girl born on the Nasel in something like 1899, May. And her 7 brothers. Jenifer Holm did a nice job describing May and her adventures along astoria and the Nasel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2004

    Our Only May Amelia

    I heard that I just HAD to read this book. It is good for the type who like books that make you cry and think, but I found it too depresing. It wasn't one of those books that just have a sad ending, or a sad part. It was like slogging through misery durring the entire thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2004

    Just be yourself

    This was a very good book. At times it got sad, and at times it made me want to read more. When I was reading the book the chapters had a lot of pages and I was getting frustrated about it. When I first started this book, I was wondering, 'What is this book about' but once I read more I began to see the picture. The picture was just to be yourself. The book taught me a lot of different things like you can be anything you want to be, it doesn't matter what other people think of you, and believe in yourself. I would recommend this book to anyone who is an independent girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2003

    I couln't put it down!!!

    it was a great book. May Amelia had a sad, hard, and happy life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2