Customer Reviews for

Out

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Quite literally one of the best novels I've ever read

    Natsuo Kirino is a hero. That sounds overly dramatic, I'm sure, but it's true. She boldly goes where most authors shy away from (particularly female authors), and she spares us the sugar-coating and overly-done romance. She gets to the meat of the story and involves us with characters so much like people we ourselves are aquainted with that we start asking ourselves: "what if this was happening to me? What would I do?" I was hooked from the first page and literally sad when the last page ended. Her other works are amazing, but this is the crown jewel. Don't miss this book; not only is it a great thriller/edge of your seat, fast-paced story, it also takes you into the lower class of Japan - a real life look at something most Americans know nothing about. Kirino deserves all the respect in the world for this novel.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Never Again!

    This book was too long and too detailed...YES, too detailed. It did keep your attention once it finally got started, but wasn't good enough that I couldn't put it down. I only read this because it was a book club pick, but other than that, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone nor will I read it again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Crazy is the first word I think of when describing this book!

    I read this book a few months ago, and I said I was going to check out Natsuo's other novels (I just didn't get around to it.) I have never read anything like this before. Its about 4 women who work in a box lunch factory and one has a husband that is just horrible to her, so she kills him. The plot thickens when she involves the other three to dispose of his body by cutting it up and dropping bags full of his dismembered body all over the city. They then go as far as starting a side business doing this for a mob boss...That's all you get..buy the book and prepare to be grossed out, while continuing to turn the page because you can't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    4 stars for OUT

    Out by Natsuo Kirino was not on my list of books to read in this week or even in the near future, but while perusing my bookshelves it caught my eye and my attention for the next 2 days. I'm not even sure when I bought this (common condition among book-buying addicts) but I'm glad I did.
    Written by a popular Japanese crime fiction writer, Out is the story of 4 women who work night shifts together in a Tokyo factory. Yayoi kills her abusive husband then enlists the help of her 3 friends. Masako decides they need to dispose of the body with careful and gruesome planning. The only thing they have in common is their bleak lives and disposing of a body does not insure a life-long bond. What occurs next is a mix of conspiracy, blackmail, corruption, insurance fraud, loan-sharking, gambling, and more violence.
    I found Out to be gripping, but not just a plot based novel. Kirino takes the reader into the lives of these ordinary women and shows how they can become involved in events they never would have imagined. How far will someone go when pushed, what are we really capable of, and how well do we know ourselves, much less those around us? Out is a phenomenal but very dark, disturbing read. Not recommenced for those that only enjoy light mysteries. It is gritty and thought-provoking. I highly recommend to fans of suspense novels.
    http://bookmagic418.blogspot.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    Dark, gruesome and enormously engaging

    It's rare that a book engages you so completely. The originality of this book comes not only from the fact it is based in Japan, but more from the subject matter. If you are looking for uplifting, this is not for you, a happy ending, look elsewhere. You leave this book wanting to sympathise with one of the characters but they are all so flawed that not a single character is truely worth saving.

    The book is gruesome, is set in the squalor of Tokyo, the body count is high and the murder methods unusual. But it is the quality of the characters that is so interesting is this book and if you can cope with the squeemishness of bodies being cut up and processed for disposal, you will not be disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Sick, Disturbing

    The weak of stomach and heart should not read this book. It is certainly a different type of read and one that I would move towards with trepidation, particularly if you do not know what it is about to start out with.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The deepest and darkest of a human psyche.

    This book, with all its stark bareness, struck me deep. I've never read anything as psychologically striking as this novel -- it takes admirable ability and courage to delve as deep into the darkest corners of the human psyche as this author goes. Read between the lines and you find the grit hiding underneath the fingernails of the ordinary people you pass by on the streets. It's remarkably poignant, and very revealing.<BR/><BR/>The Japanese, from what I've seen with their movies (animated and live action both), their animes, and their literature, are very much into stripping away the straps that cover up what makes a human "human" -- psychological, and sometimes even spiritual, Kirino-sensei sets herself a very high standard. <BR/><BR/>Her characters are real, and yet at the same time surreal. Their lives are very ordinary, but she manages to make them seem special and worthy of attention. The complexity of their personalities -- especially their neuroses -- are startling, and nothing short of fascinating. The plot grips you and takes you for a jolting, variably-paced ride -- it will keep you reading until the very last page.<BR/><BR/>This book is very graphic, and definitely not for the faint of heart. The bareness and honesty of it, though, only enhances the charm. At least, that's what I think.<BR/><BR/>Pay special attention to the inner battle the main character goes through as she starts conflicting between her inherent humanity and the circumstances in her life that force her practical mind to make the choices she makes throughout the book. It's a gripping read, and it'll leave you turning the events over inside your head days -- even a week -- after you've finished reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2007

    A tour de force like no other

    Incredible. One of the best books I¿ve ever read in my entire life. Natsuo Kirino has mastered the art of digging into the deep and sometimes-scary recesses of a character¿s psyche, and much kudos to Stephen Snyder for bringing this amazing novel into the English language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    addictive!

    This book easily transports you into the world of the main characters and once you start reading it, you just can't stop! It's amazing how the author gives each reader a different experience as the storyline flows from the simple to the bizarre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    Such a review title would imply a brusque reader and I am nothing of the sort. I want to pull a potential reader into a deeply psychological study of murder committed by a betrayed wife and covered up by her lunch box factory co-workers who previously had about as much expressed interest in her life as a 10 day old frozen dinner reheated. I found this book after taking my first cruise to the Caribbean -where else for a first cruise! I followed my cruise by reading some wonderful Latin American authors 'Rosario Ferre , Cristina Garcia' and decided to read other translations. It is the middle of January, daytime temperatures averaging 10 in Iowa and I picked the work of a chillingly writer. Granted Japanese culture is reserved. This author tells a story of people driven by life forces so quiet and powerful that there is no way out of an unconventional situation but 'Out.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2007

    Fantastic reading!!

    Was looking for some different authors of mysteries and found 'Out' and read the reviews. Sounded like it would be an attention getter and bought it. It was so well written that it was impossible for me to put it down. When doing other things, this book drew me back to it. One of the best if not the best book I've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2007

    Wow

    An excellent book. A dark labyrinth. It has all you can ask for in a crime/mystery book: a brutal murder, sometimes colorful and psychologically disturbed characters, a cat and mouse race, an obsession, misunderstood individuals and a bold gut-wrenching finale. Fast-paced and well written, a descriptive account of the darkest part of human nature. In short, a story about what really happens when people SNAP. CAUTION: THIS BOOK WILL SCAR YOU FOR LIFE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2007

    This book has opened my eyes

    When I read another book of natsuo kirino i was obsessed. On the back of the book i read of hers i noticed all these great reviews of ' out ' needless to say that day i went out and bought it. I'm telling you i couldn't put it down. It was full of Just every emotion you could feel. I loved it. Bravo!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2007

    Gripping and Amazing!

    I started reading this book and I could not put it down. I would...attempt to do something else, but I found myself gravitating back to the book just to find out what happens next. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time I read. Yes, it was graphic in some parts, but that only added to the suspense and the aura of awesomosity. I think anybody looking for a well-written thriller has found the perfect match in OUT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2007

    Don't miss this book!

    I am an avid reader and I can tell you that this book will keep you on the edge of your seat. There were times that I walked away from it so that it would last longer. This is a GREAT writer and I plan on reading the new one in hardback. It is very graphic in places so - take note if you have a weak stomach. I will continue to read this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2007

    Could Not Put the Book Down

    This is an amazingly written and translated book. 'Out' is a true page turner. At times graphic- but rounded out with a very interesting web of characters and glimpse into a slice of Tokyo. I have passed the book on to American and Japanese friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2006

    a book that finally realizes the real japan

    I loved this book because it explores this other world that is so different from america. gangs,prostitutes, and murder make this book enticing as its is engrossing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2006

    plunge the knife a little deeper...

    It was amazing! I've never read anything so utterly gripping before! The characterization is wonderful and the ideas, structure, composition of this story are so imaginative and impressive! I love, love, LOVE the protagonist Matsuko ~ he's such a strong, memorable character, even if she was a little on the scary side... I'm not even a big fan of 'mystery' novels, but this was such an exception! Go out and get this book right away if you like expansive, impressive, well-structured novels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2006

    Excellent! Gripping! Not Your Typical Book!!

    I picked up this book purely by accident. I was looking for a good mystery book and was checking out Dennis Lehane's titles. This book was in the row above it and for some reason I picked it up and checked out the back cover and flipped through a few pages. This is one of the BEST and WELL-WRITTEN books I've read in awhile. I hate reviews that give away the plotline so all I'll say is just when you think you've figured out the next step of one or another character, it veers off into an entirely new direction. Read this book. You won't be sorry. Don't read it and you'll have missed out on a great talent! I hope she writes more AND that they are translated just as quickly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2005

    Amazing

    I saw this book at my local bookstore and on a whim, read the cover. Putting it back, I put it on my birthday wish list. I shouldn't have hesitated. Kirino is an excellent storyteller and you will be pulled in faster than you think. The book is fast-paced, never dull, and you find yourself quickly immersed in the characters' lives. Though often graphic, it supplies great commentary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3