BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Out: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2005

    absolutely wonderful

    this book was just great, A MUST BUY! Kirino as well as Snyder made this book truly thrilling and suspenseful. i seriously couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2005

    BRILLIANT!

    I could not put this book down! To say that the writing was excellent is an understatement. I just wish Natsuo had a bigger collection of books as I would go out and buy every single one of them! Thanks for the journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    Can't Put Down

    Having lived in Japan for four years, I felt especially drawn in by the characterizations of the women. And the names of the towns all struck a familiar bell. I really, really liked this novel and can hardly wait for 'Soft Cheeks' to come out in English.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2005

    BEST BOOK EVER

    It just keep me craving for more..... Never once did i feel bored reading it, it just draws me, once i started reading the first page. I read it almost daily. OKOK, enough of my views, here's the review: The story is about four women working in a luch boxed factory in the night shift. ALthough, Yayoi was often abuse by her husband, the feeling of extreme hatred arose only when her husband took out their savings and spured it in the gambling den and a girl in the night club. One day, the hatred within her erupted and she strangled her husband. Nervous but satisfied, she quickly phoned Masako, her co-worker in the factory. Surprisingly, Masako agreed to help ( this has a bit to do with her personal life ). Then, unable to dispose the body by herself, Masako seeked help from the skipper, another co-worker in the factory. Having owned her a favour, the skipper was forced to return the favour by helping them. Unfortunately, a fat co-worker ( pardon me for forgetting her name ) turned up when they are busy and saw what happened. Overwhemling debts and money from Yayoi, pushed the fat woman into the operation. However, she bungled it. This is what linked four different woman form different background to a similar fate. A dispute, between the deceased and the night club owner the night when the murder occur, caused the police to pinpointed the murder suspect to the owner, an ex-murderer. So, with the law enforcers against him, he could rely on no one esle but himself. He is out to uncover the truth and will use the most brutal methods to achieve this aim. I found the author's style of writing especially interesting. The author placed herself in the different roles and emphasise their feelings, thoughts and analyse their circumstances in the various events. The chareacters really came to life under her. The thing that amazed me was that although the same event was described over and over again, using different characters involved, i never got tired of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2005

    japanese version of Edgar Allen Poe

    I picked this book up on whim at the local bookstore and could not put it down. The description of the main and minor characters was fantastic -- both male and female. The ending though I felt was a little pat. When the main protagonist falls in love with the murderer and decided to go to brazil./

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2004

    The Best Mystery I've read in a long, long time

    This dark, delicious mystery kept me up late at night taking me on one plot twist after another until the final shocking pages. Amazing. I haven't read a book this good since Mystic River or The Black Echo. Don't pick it up unless you're prepared to lose sleep and let the housework go. Excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2003

    Masterpiece of Psychological Suspense

    Natsuo Kirino just became one of my favorite authors with her riveting look at women on the edge in 'Out'. The atmosphere in this novel is oppressive and dark, and perfectly appointed to the bleak situations of her characters. The protagonist, Masako Katori, is a splendid blend of laconic realist and savior, and more than once I found myself admiring her strength. I kept hoping for the ultimate redemption of her character, and though the ending is intensely eerie, I feel she definitely got OUT. All of the characters in this book are sharply drawn and well executed, and even if you dislike some of them you will ultimately understand them. The plot is fantastic--utterly original and extremely suspenseful...the question that continually crossed my mind was 'Will they get away with it or won't they?'. Alas, you will have to read it to find out! Kudos to Stephen Snyder for his very fine translation work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3