Customer Reviews for

Out in Blue

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Worth the read - despite personal issues

    So I am at somewhat of an impasse with this book. There was a lot that I enjoyed, but a few things that I struggled with as well. First, I really liked the idea of the story. I haven't come across any romance/paranormal involving fallen archangels and demons as their elite protective body guards (Guardians). I was also hooked by the cover. When I am unfamiliar with an author, the cover plays a huge role in my decision to both purchase and buy. The cover wooed me immediately.

    The story itself is captivating and unpredictable. I was not able to predict what would happen next for most of the book. My attention was held until very near the end, when the story seemed to lose a bit of its hold on me.

    There are two major problems that I have that left a bad taste in my mouth. The first is that the characters were in-love faster than instantly. There was no attraction, no conflict over whether or not each was really in-love; it was just kind of BAM, right there. Now I am all for the instant attraction that inevitably turns to love, but this was so quick it bordered crazy. Wren's use of "Gin-love" for Ginger and both of them referring to each other as "mates", kind of put a damper on things for me. Not to mention the eternal bond created when mating. I would think any woman with common sense would step back a second and really evaluate such a monumental decision with everlasting effects. The other problem that kind of irked me was that the story fell flat toward the end. By that time it was predictable in the sense that you knew what choices would be made and what the outcome would be. I just had a problem with everything being wrapped up so quick and pretty in contrast to all of the drama that took place in the rest of the story.

    Personal negatives stated, these complaints are really quite trivial compared to some books I have read. Nor are they big enough to keep me from giving Gilman another shot. I liked that the epilogue gave a quick glimpse into how Wren and Ginger were doing while simultaneously setting up Jett's story for the next book in the series. Jett very obviously has a helluva past and a ton of issues to sort through. The book has a solid set-up, I just hope that it lives up to its potential. Gilman clearly has a terrific idea in the Return to Sanctuary series. She did her job I pulling me in with both description and cover. I choose to look favorable toward the future in assuming she will keep me interested in Jett's story and the multitude of unanswered questions about his life that the book will undoubtedly address. Overall, this book was entertaining. Despite my issues with the book, I feel that my time was well spent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Crystal Book provided by the publisher for review Re

    Reviewed by Crystal
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    I had forgotten that I had requested this book to read and when I got it I had to go back to see what it was about. I know that I loved the cover of the book and after I read the blurb it all came back to me.

    Don’t let the page numbers fool you. As soon as you start reading this book the page numbers goes away and I never even knew that I had read that many. I got so into the story that I was lost until it was over. I know that you read about books people have got into and they say they got lost. In this book I am being completely honest.

    This was the first time I have gotten the chance to read a book by this author. I enjoyed how the story started out and the characters were very life like. I had to remind myself that the people were just make believe. Their personalities were great. There was excitement and adventure. There is also a love story, one that you would love to have for yourself.

    Ginger was raised by a demon so she knows about the paranormal. When she over hears that some men are going to kill an angel she tries to go and save him. Little does she know that the decision she makes will change her life forever. She will find out secrets that she never knew about herself and to know she is greater than she ever knew.

    Wren couldn’t believe it when he sees a human woman and she is warning him that he is in danger. She saves his life many times. The reason that he goes back to Sanctuary is because he is trying to keep Ginger safe and get her back to the only father she has ever known. He hasn’t been there since the murder of his parents by the demon that had been a part of his family all of his life.

    When Wren learns his father is still alive and will do what he can to rescue him. He has to make a decision between doing what he can for his father and finding out all the secrets of his past and falling in love with the woman that is his life. He knows that she will be killed just for being with him. The feathers that are on his back is worth millions and everyone wants them.

    I can’t wait for the next book in this series. There are even more secrets that are left to uncover and even more people to meet. I feel lucky to have been able to read and review such a wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2013

    I received a few signed copies of ¿Out in Blue¿ to hand out to o

    I received a few signed copies of “Out in Blue” to hand out to others and Sarah allowed me to keep one for myself. In return, I thought I would write a review. This is my second time reading “Out in Blue”. Sarah has created a very unique angel and demon world that I’ve never read before. These archangels with their demon protectors live alongside humans who hunt them for their feathers (how many times have you read that plot, cause I’ve never). The story hooks readers from the very beginning. Wren and Ginger are constantly battling for their lives, which makes for nonstop excitement. Unlike many paranormal romances, this story is very light on the sexual content which allowed me feel the love between these characters even more. I really enjoyed the special talents some of the characters had and how their talents influenced the storyline. Ginger unexpected history makes her an even more perfect match for Wren. I hope I get to see some of the same characters in future books. I want to know how things work out for Wren and Ginger as well as Jett, whose character really caught my interest during the epilogue. I give “Out in Blue” 5/5 stars. It’s a well written and highly original story. Anyone who enjoys angels and demons should definitely check this out, you won’t be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    100% Recommend this book!!

    Great Book!!! I cannot wait until the next book comes out in the fall!! Gilman has a novella prequel out involving the same world, but not the same characters, that I already bought so I can at least read that in the mean time. She has created an amazing world. A world that is an add on to ours. Humans are the majority but most hate the Fallen Archangels and demons that want to coexist with them. The humans support poachers who are set on killing demons and archangels and selling their feathers. Flight wings from the archangels have been known to go for millions due to their rarity and softer then silk feel. Humans see them as devils, but really they just want a normal life as any of the humans. The archangels and demons live in sanctuaries deep in forests out of the way of humans.
    Ginger, a human, was adopted by a demon named Devin after he found her as a baby next to her dead parents in Alaska. After becoming an adult she moved to the East Coast to try out a normal human life, even though she keeps in that life a little by providing supplies along with her boss to the nearest sanctuary. When at a coffee shop she overhears a conversation between the barista and a poacher. The poacher is proudly announcing he has found an archangel in town without demons. With the way Ginger grew up she couldn’t let that happen, so she races to the place where the angel would be while calling her father for help. Devin tells her that it is most likely Wren, a half archangel half human with wings who no longer trusts demons. Since a demon was responsible for the death of his parents and the attempt on his life 18 years prior. Demons will not be able to arrive for 3 hours, so Ginger needs to warn Wren before it’s too late. Ginger arrives in time to warn Wren but by putting her own life in danger. After a couple turns back and forth saving each other Ginger and Wren escape together with Wren hurt severely. Due to his injuries and already his trust in Ginger, Wren agrees to get help from the demons mainly for Ginger’s sake. When Wren finds out that Lark (the demon who killed his parents) is behind the attempted kidnapping Wren and Ginger start on an adventure to stop Lark, and possibly save Raphael (Wren’s father) who might still be alive but imprisoned. Along the way they found out things about themselves and run into many different twists and turns.
    Within the first 10 pages I was hooked. If I had a full day off I would have sat and read this in one sitting. The connection between Wren and Ginger is immediate! The supporting characters are just as good as the main. One of the things I really appreciate about our heroes is that they are straight up with each other, when something is on their mind they voice it instead of it playing around and the subject being danced around for half of the book. Towards the end of the book I kept thinking it was ending but a new twist would come, in a totally great way, but man does it stress you out when it gets that close to the end. I do enjoy how it ends, even though you might tear up a bit. I can’t wait to read more about Wren, Ginger, Devin, and the rest of the group you get to know and love in this book. 100% recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love this series and I loved this book!  This is the first boo

    I love this series and I loved this book!  This is the first book in the series, following Wings of Redemption, a novella that introduces us to the world the author has created.  Archangels are hunted by humans for their feathers, and viewed as evil.  Demons and archangels are bonded together, living in colonies away from human society, struggling to survive in a world that abhors them.  Relationships with humans are generally tenuous at best; trusting them is difficult to do.  For Wren, trust itself is an issue, as the very demon who was sworn as Guardian to his family betrayed them by murdering his parents.  Ginger has her own history and secrets and all obstacles stand between them.




    Things to love about Out In Blue...




    ---Wren.  His story was so tragic that you just wanted to hug him and make everything all better!
    ---The twists and turns.  I loved that the entire story line was completely unpredictable.  I never knew where it was going and was surprised every time I found out.  
    ---Jett.  This is a character with some serious mystery and history.  He's a combination of badass and wounded soul.  We will learn more about him in the next book!




    My recommendation:  A definite must read!  You can read this without having read Wings of Redemption, but I would definitely recommend reading that one, too.  The next book, Deep in Crimson, comes out in September 2013.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    Sarah Gilman's take on fallen angels and demons is like no other

    Sarah Gilman's take on fallen angels and demons is like no other that I have ever read before - this story captured my attention within the first few pages...

    The author immediately throws us into Ginger's world where archangels exist - fallen angels, humans think that they are disgusting, evil and don't deserve to live. There aren't many left, but they do exist. Poachers hunt them down for their feathers - feathers softer than silk - and a box full can bring in millions of dollars.

    Ginger is minding her own business and having a cup of coffee when she overhears a conversation - a group of poachers have found where an archangel has been hiding and they are planning on waiting for his return to capture him, take his feathers and then kill him.
    But Ginger is not your ordinary human, she grew up with the Guardians - Demons whose job is to protect the archangels. And she would be dishonoring her father if she didn't do something to stop these poachers. Her plan gets askew a bit, but in the end, she does end up saving the archangel, known as Wren.

    There is an instant connection and attraction between these two, but it was written so well and convincingly, I barely noticed it, and actually liked what was going on between them.
    Ginger never showed any weakness, yes there are moments when she worries and was frightened, but she never backed down and always became better and stronger when she stood her ground.
    Wren, there are no words to best describe him. His pride was strong and heartening, but even so, he never took shame in his weakest moments and never held back when it came to showing his love.
    What I really loved about both Ginger and Wren was their strong bond of family and loyalty. It is rare to find a story where the bonds of family and friends, no matter how they came about, are so strong and heartfelt.

    Out In Blue is brilliantly told from two different point-of-views. Both main characters, Ginger and Wren, have such refreshing voices where they spoke their mind and were honest with everyone, especially with each other. Nothing was ever a game to them.
    Sarah Gilman's writing is fluent and capturing - she gives us just enough to picture the story in our minds, but not too much, which is something that I love when an author can accomplish this. It gives the reader the freedom to add in the extra small details that they would like to and make it their own.

    Even if you're not a fan of angel-type stories, I would still highly recommend this book to you! It is so unique and believable, it will definitely have you looking up to the sky, searching for a fallen star... an archangel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A page turner

    This book drops you into a world where demons and angels roam, but are hunted by humans. A great page turner. If you are a fan of angel themed stories, give this one a try. While this story has romance, it is done tastefully and doesn't feel forced. Sarah Gilman's writing style hooks you quickly within the first chapter and will keep you turning the pages. You will fall for the characters and all of their bonds. Out In Blue is a story about protecting the ones you love at any cost. Looking forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Alluring, Mesmerizing Fantasy

    This is a uniquely imaginative novel that I think is exceptional. I was hooked almost immediately and became caught up in the lives and adventures of Wren and Ginger. The chemistry between the pair sizzled. The tension escalated throughout until, finally, ignited by a fiery inferno, Wren found his destiny.

    I love the way in which the author describes the beautiful, snowy-white wings, and deals with the handicap they can be when Wren is not in flight. The characters are likable, interesting, and complex. The society in which they dwell is harsh and unforgiving. Almost magical writing captures the essence of the magnificent landscape, and the stunning scenery was vividly painted on the canvas of my imagination.

    The author delicately weaves a mesmerizing fantasy that is as alluring as it is unusual. I had no difficulty suspending disbelief; embracing this dark, dangerous, secret society of archangels and protective demons that are stalked mercilessly by greedy poachers.

    Then, there lives the malignant force that hides itself among the brainwashed masses, coveting what can never be theirs. The evil, unseen enemy wrecks havoc, destroys harmony, leaving only discord and disillusionment in its mysterious wake. This captivating, fast-paced story is a brilliant start to what will be an astounding series.

    Thanks to Netgalley and Entangled Publishing for providing a digital copy in return for my unbiased review.


    Reviewed by Laurie-J
    Laurie's Thoughts & Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Alluring, Mesmerizing Fantasy

    This is a uniquely imaginative novel that I think is exceptional. I was hooked almost immediately and became caught up in the lives and adventures of Wren and Ginger. The chemistry between the pair sizzled. The tension escalated throughout until, finally, ignited by a fiery inferno, Wren found his destiny. I love the way in which the author describes the beautiful, snowy-white wings, and deals with the handicap they can be when Wren is not in flight. The characters are likable, interesting, and complex. The society in which they dwell is harsh and unforgiving. Almost magical writing captures the essence of the magnificent landscape, and the stunning scenery was vividly painted on the canvas of my imagination. The author delicately weaves a mesmerizing fantasy that is as alluring as it is unusual. I had no difficulty suspending disbelief; embracing this dark, dangerous, secret society of archangels and protective demons that are stalked mercilessly by greedy poachers. Then, there lives the malignant force that hides itself among the brainwashed masses, coveting what can never be theirs. The evil, unseen enemy wrecks havoc, destroys harmony, leaving only discord and disillusionment in its mysterious wake. This captivating, fast-paced story is a brilliant start to what will be an astounding series. Thanks to Netgalley and Entangled Publishing for providing a digital copy in return for my unbiased review. Reviewed by Laurie-J

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This book hit the ground running

    The book starts off running. On page one, Ginger is in a coffee shop when a poacher comes in and starts talking about a new angel that he is about to take down. Ginger, being raised in the paranormal world by her adopted father who just happens to be a demon, cannot just sit by when she knows that an angel is in danger. So she rushes out to warn the archangel that there are poachers after him.

    The story was jam packed with action from start to finish. There wasn't a chapter where the characters just sat around drinking a cup of tea and discussing politics. This book had more twist and turns than a ride at Disney World but it worked in this story. Ginger and Wren are on the run and their attacker seems to always know where they are and how to find them. Typically, I can call what is going to happen at the beginning if not middle of the story but the whole villain really did surprise me.

    Aside from the action that takes place there is also romance. The connection between Ginger and Wren is pretty much instantaneous. What starts out as trust, quickly turns into lust and then love. Yes, their relationship blossomed really fast but they also went through a lot together. I thought that their relationship was sweet considering that he never thought he would find someone to love him due to his ability to kill with just a touch. However, Ginger isn't even phased by this and instead asks is she can stay with him.

    Mixing the romance with the action kept the pages turning at a fast rate

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Beautiful love story!

    Out in Blue is a beautiful love story about a young woman falling in love with an archangel. Having been raised by a demon that she loves like a father, Ginger is unable to "fit in" with the human world she tries to live in after becoming an adult. When she hears that an archangel is in danger, she feels compelled to help. Many poachers are after archangels to get rich off of their feathers. Ginger grew up in a world where demons guard archangels to keep this from happening, so it's natural instinct for her to want to help.

    After Ginger saves Wren's life, she takes him somewhere safe where she can tend to him and keep him protected. Wren is an archangel that has been living on his own for several years, because a demon betrayed his family and killed his parents. He hasn't been able to trust anyone since. He hasn't been around anyone for a very long time, but feels oddly comfortable with Ginger.

    This is definitely an original story. How many times have you read about demons protecting angels? I thought it was wonderfully written and you could feel the various emotions all the way through - from various characters, not just the main character. These characters are wonderful, they are deep and have stories you want to know more about. Ginger and Wren have amazing chemistry. There are all these swoon-worthy and heart-melting moments. The relationship between Ginger and Wren happens quite quickly, but it just seems right. There are a couple of love-making scenes but they are beautifully and tastefully done. I would still recommend this book to young adult readers as well as adult readers. It looks like this is book #1 in a series, so I will be anxiously awaiting the next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    An intriguing new world of angel and demon mythology.

    An intriguing new world of angel and demon mythology.

    Ginger's life changes the day she overhears a poacher boast of pursing an archangel in Vermont. She's the adopted daughter of a demon, the guardians of archangels, and she knows how rare and pure they are. She rushes to warn him, placing herself in great danger. Her actions make her and the archangel, Wren, runaways, and they seek shelter in a place called the Sanctuary.

    Wren has lived a cursed life. His parents were murdered by a guardian betrayer, and he's fled from safe houses to barns, to abandoned buildings his whole life. Lark, the guardian that killed his parents is after him, and has sworn to kill any family Wren produces. For this reason, Wren can never fall in love. But he's drawn to Ginger, the woman who's risked everything to save him. He knows being with her could lead to her death.

    Out in Blue is a fantastic paranormal romance, and much more. This book puts a face to the harm caused by poachers, and it hits home when the slaughtered innocents resemble humans. The people who buy the archangels feathers are enablers, giving the poachers reason to murder. The same is going on today with elephants, and as a society we must stop it.

    The romance between Wren and Ginger simmers nicely into a fiery flame, and I love the way Wren is described: so masculine and exotic. Their pasts explain so much of the reasons why they are drawn to one another, and their romance delves deeper than mere attraction, although the physical magnetism is definitely there. They are truly made for one another, and that fact makes the romance delicious. I ate it up.

    Continuous action kept me on the edge of my seat, making it hard to put down with the end of each chapter. The world that Gilman creates is a well thought out and fully realized mythology, complex and enthralling with twist and turns throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Good read!

    Being raised by a demon has given Ginger a view on life that differs from most. So when she overhears a conversation threatening the life of an archangel Ginger goes into protective mode and so begins the unlikely adventure and love story between Ginger and Wren.

    Sarah Gilman's paranormal romance Out In Blue is a story filled with a perfect balance of mystery, adventure and steamy romance. I really enjoyed the characters and I look forward to reading more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1