Customer Reviews for

Out Stealing Horses

Average Rating 4
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Haunting and beautiful

Hats off to Anne Born for a exceptional translation. The beauty of the language and the familiar emotional content in "Out Stealing Horses" is best understood perhaps by those of us who are around the same age as the protagonist, Trond. "Time is important to me now, I t...
Hats off to Anne Born for a exceptional translation. The beauty of the language and the familiar emotional content in "Out Stealing Horses" is best understood perhaps by those of us who are around the same age as the protagonist, Trond. "Time is important to me now, I tell myself. Not that it pass quickly or slowly but be only Time, be something I live inside and fill with physical things and activities that I can divide it up by,so that it grows distinct to me and does not vanish when I'm not looking." I gasped when I read that because I would never have understood this as a young person and understand it so well now.I read the book through quickly to see what was going to happen and then went back to the beginning and read it all over again.

posted by TGrey on December 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I must have missed something...

The New York Times Book Review states that this is one of the 10 best books of the year. I wonder what year they're talking about.?.? I know that this book has a story in it somewhere, but I could only find glimpses of it. The book features Trond as the main character. ...
The New York Times Book Review states that this is one of the 10 best books of the year. I wonder what year they're talking about.?.? I know that this book has a story in it somewhere, but I could only find glimpses of it. The book features Trond as the main character. He is 67 years old and has decided to buy a dilapidated home in the north of Norway in the middle of no where. Here he just wants to be alone. The author then proceeds to incorporate flashbacks to the summer Trond was 15 in 1948. I know that this book is actually about the events that shaped Trond's life and turned him into a man that chose to be alone during his final years, but I didn't like the 67 year-old Trond. I liked the 15 year-old. The author blurred the story too much and there wasn't much closure. I will not read this author again, and I don't recommend it to anyone I know - however, if you're fond of books that waste your time - feel free to indulge.

posted by Annibebe on June 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    Haunting and beautiful

    Hats off to Anne Born for a exceptional translation. The beauty of the language and the familiar emotional content in "Out Stealing Horses" is best understood perhaps by those of us who are around the same age as the protagonist, Trond. "Time is important to me now, I tell myself. Not that it pass quickly or slowly but be only Time, be something I live inside and fill with physical things and activities that I can divide it up by,so that it grows distinct to me and does not vanish when I'm not looking." I gasped when I read that because I would never have understood this as a young person and understand it so well now.I read the book through quickly to see what was going to happen and then went back to the beginning and read it all over again.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    I just reread this book and rediscovered why I loved it the first time.

    Out stealing horses mesmerizes you from page one. With quiet, simple language, Trond T narrates and draws you into the solitude and quietude of the world he inhabits, moving back and forth through time from age 15 to age 67.
    He spends his fifteenth summer with his dad, Trond Sr., in a cabin located in the Norwegian woods in logging country. It was a summer of discovery, tragedy, familial bonding, friendship and coming of age. Now, in retirement, Trond T has bought his own cabin, in a remote area, and begins renovating his cabin and rediscovering his past.
    Throughout the book, the secrets of his father's life unfold, as memories are reawakened, quite naturally, with no underlying curiosity or expectation exposing them. They just seem to roll out effortlessly from a character as he/she is introduced, here and there, to enlighten the reader. It is as if you are expected to intuit them because they keep their lives so private and regimented and that when you learn of an incident, you somehow accept it with the same solemn fortitude of the character. The characters do not intrude on the lives of each other, but rather walk around each other lightly, allowing personal space and privacy. There is a calm determination which permeates the story coupled with a fierce stoicism. It was marvelously written and executed. I hated to read the last word. There are so many questions left unanswered to think about.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    Got me hooked on the first page.

    This was a book I could not put down. It is a book I had to talk over with others so I was thankful I was a member of a book club. The characters are complex. The theme wrestles with the way life can "happen" to a person. How life is what happens when one is making other plans........<BR/>I highly recommend the book to people who like introspection, psychology and examining the "human condition."

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    stunning

    This is one of the few books that I finished and started reading again. I thought it was beautifully written, the descriptive passages equalled only by Barbara Kingsolver in Poisonwood Bible. It was complex, and challenging to keep the time frame straight but well worth the effort. Don't consider it a 'quick read' it isn't.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    Loss and Love by the Arctic Circle

    Here are memorably sketched the reminiscences of Trond, an aging hermit, as he looks back on signal events of his childhood. From his cabin on the easterly Norwegian border he recalls seeing a man shot by a Nazi a neighbor boy who accidentally shot his own brother Trond's father's efforts to comfort the grieving mother, an intimacy that now, through the eyes of experience, went beyond simple kindness. Trond has returned to the place of his youth after his wife of many years was killed in a car accident. This extraordinary book is more than a reverie it is the narrator's attempt to link the losses of his life into a chain that might help decode their significance. Here too is prose that matches perfectly a poetic, spare telling, stark as the landscape, to its subject. The result is an emotional cleansing for the reader prepared to let the poetry of the book win him over.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I must have missed something...

    The New York Times Book Review states that this is one of the 10 best books of the year. I wonder what year they're talking about.?.? I know that this book has a story in it somewhere, but I could only find glimpses of it. The book features Trond as the main character. He is 67 years old and has decided to buy a dilapidated home in the north of Norway in the middle of no where. Here he just wants to be alone. The author then proceeds to incorporate flashbacks to the summer Trond was 15 in 1948. I know that this book is actually about the events that shaped Trond's life and turned him into a man that chose to be alone during his final years, but I didn't like the 67 year-old Trond. I liked the 15 year-old. The author blurred the story too much and there wasn't much closure. I will not read this author again, and I don't recommend it to anyone I know - however, if you're fond of books that waste your time - feel free to indulge.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    Don't Race through this one...

    Take your time to really absorb this one! The writing style is minimal yet rich. If you're looking for a great plot you may be disappointed, but that is not why one reads this. It is about relationships and the imperfect lives we lead. If you're looking for a fairy-tale, I believe the author would have you read Dickens. There is no music in the background here, except maybe the beautifully described nature sounds of Norway. If you're on the "back 9" of life you will appreciate this even more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    Relationships equal lifelong Learning

    In this beautifully written book the author's compassion for a boy he knew when a youth is mobilized in service of gentling impossible-to-articulate feelings about his own life. Chapter by chapter, unfeeling is peeled away. The protagonist emerges accepting his experiences, emotions, and actions. Events and ideas are painted rather than inculcated so the reader is treated to poetry instead of lecture. Scandinavia beckons from every travel poster while reading this book. The paperback is on good quality paper and the cover art work does the book justice.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Wow, what a well-written book

    I picked this book because it had so many good reviews. It truly deserved them. The plot goes back and forth in time, but is smooth and seamless. As the story is slowly revealed, there are surprises. It is not the type of book where you can predict what is going to happen. And really, you don't want to. You just want to enjoy the marvelous writing as the story unfolds. It's a gem.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Very good view of life in Norway during WW2 amd after.

    I loved the descriptive nature of this novel. I was disappointed at the ending and still do not understand the purpose of it. If not for that, I would rate this book a 4****.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Out Stealing Horses by Per Petterson

    This coming of age story is from the perspective of a 67 year old man with flashbacks. It is sometimes difficult to follow because of the ramblings. It is interesting and a good book to read on vacation. My
    husband bought it when we were in Hawaii and we both read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    It's a book that goes no where but when you are done you are glad you read it

    I enjoyed the style of the authors writing and the mix of present and past as he tells of story of and mans life. The authors ability to keep
    you reading forward helps you get lost in time until you are finished reading. It is not a book you read for weeks - it is a book you read in a day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Small Country with a Big Heart

    I was taken back on how beautifully written,and detailed this account of WW11 in rural Norway.With the Germans thinking that the local folk are friendly,unassuming,the underground is working day and night smuggling Jews out of harms way.As seen through a boys eyes,and then as a grown man,I was reminded how we must not ever take for granted the Heroes ,whose names we will never know.When we are in the present time and again back in Norway with a grown man,looking back, his life has come full circle..Per Petterson and Anne Born have given life to an amazing story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    Must read this beautiful, profound novel!

    Norwegian novelist Per Petterson has crafted a magnificently-written, captivating novel that is filled with beauty and emotion. Set in the Norwegian countryside, a man tells his compelling story of how the events of one adolescent summer, in 1948, formed the rest of his life. The narrator, 67 year-old Trond Sander, has chosen to live in quiet solitude in a remote part of Norway. When he discovers his closest neighbor is one of the main participants of that pivotal summer, old memories surface causing him to examine his past. Flashbacks of growing up are interwoven with his tale of growing old. I absolutely loved this poignant book. Each page is overflowing with meaning and insight. The lush descriptions of the Norwegian landscape are vivid and breathtaking. Many enigmas were left unaddressed, leaving me to interpret them. This story left me pondering the influence of the past in my life. It is up to me to decide how circumstances will affect me and how I will react. In addition, it may be necessary to take some action if life starts to cause mental pain. I highly recommend this thought-provoking novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    Catchy title

    My daughter-in-law, who is a high school literature teacher, recommended this book to me. I enjoyed reading it, altho in some parts, I had to reread because the writer would go to an earlier time in the main character's life without much notice. There were some parts that could have been explained better for me but that was apparently not the writer's intent and I would have opted for a longer story to fit all the pieces together. Overall, I enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it if only to see if another reader got the same out of it as I.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Simple & Insightful

    Per Petterson has a way of putting thoughts & feelings everyone has probably experienced into a simple & relatable way through his characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    Nazi Invasion

    Per Petterson¿s Out Stealing Horses is a fictional account of fictional character Trond Sander¿s memoir of his and his father¿s life in Norway. Trond recounts his childhood during the Nazi¿s invasion.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2008

    Disappointing

    This book was one of our book club selections for the year. It has received so much hype that I was really looking forward to sitting down and reading it. Although I think it's well written, I was disappointed in the story line. There just wasn't enough and it didn't seem like he developed it enough. Fortunately, it's a quick read so I didn't waste too much time on it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    A cool, very well written novel that stayed with me

    Loved this book. There were a few parts that seemed it could have done without, but overall it was beautifully done and thoroughly engaging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Out Stealing Horses is a sparse, beautiful, and powerful novel.

    Out Stealing Horses is a sparse, beautiful, and powerful novel. Our protagonist, 67 year old Trond, has moved from Oslo to a small village in the country, where he plans to spend the rest of his life. As he sets about repairing his new home he begins to think back on the course of his life. In a kind of reverse coming-of-age story Trond takes us back to the summer of '48, a summer he spent with his father in another small village in the country. Petterson deftly weaves back and forth through time to slowly unravel this tale, and show us how our pasts inform our futures. The beautiful stream-of-consciousness prose injects a sense of urgency into the narrative, while somehow managing not to disrupt the slow, melancholy tone of the novel. In many ways Out Stealing Horses reminded me of John Banville's The Sea, except it is even more powerful, even more beautiful. I'm not sure I could give this novel higher praise than that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6