BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Bone #1: Out from Boneville

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended for ALL AGES

First, a note to parents: many of you have been saying that there is material in this book that is not appropriate for children. In many interviews the author has addressed this say that while he did not write Bone for a children's audience (the comic books were origina...
First, a note to parents: many of you have been saying that there is material in this book that is not appropriate for children. In many interviews the author has addressed this say that while he did not write Bone for a children's audience (the comic books were originally released in black and white starting in the 90's) he says that the comics do not promote smoking and drinking. Neither Thorn or Phone Bone, the main characters partake in either activity. Plus none of the characters are seen getting drunk. I find it hard to believe that a child does not see people smoking on the sidewalk or people having a beer or glass of wine with their dinner. If it makes you more comfortable I would encourage you to read the stories with your child and explain to them that like in the comic, these activities are only for adults. Anyway, moving on.

REVIEW:
Bone was the first graphic novel I ever read and I was floored. Expecting a light, funny story I found myself caught in what exploded into an epic fantasy. Well told, and though it is, like the author says, Tolkien crossed with Bugs Bunny, the story is very original. When the color editions came out I introduced them to my brother who was struggling with reading, and he was hooked. These graphic novels, comics, books, whatever you want to call them are definitely a great way to get kids to start reading, and are an intriguing adventure for readers of all ages.

posted by 6378903 on March 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not Appropriate for ages 9-12!!!

I took my 8 year old son to pick up some new books yesterday and he really wanted to get the Bone Series of books. He says 'all his friends have them'. My husband and I looked through the book and were shocked to see the graphic images that were in a book that is mark...
I took my 8 year old son to pick up some new books yesterday and he really wanted to get the Bone Series of books. He says 'all his friends have them'. My husband and I looked through the book and were shocked to see the graphic images that were in a book that is marketed for 9-12 yr olds. Two of the characters smoke and the female character is drawn with her shirt falling down and her cleavage busting out. I am surprised to hear that this book is "appropriate for 9-12". As a parent, I don't want my sons reading these books due to the images portrayed. The story may be about some ghostly cousins on some great adventures, but it is not illustrated appropriately.

posted by 378903 on November 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    Highly Recommended for ALL AGES

    First, a note to parents: many of you have been saying that there is material in this book that is not appropriate for children. In many interviews the author has addressed this say that while he did not write Bone for a children's audience (the comic books were originally released in black and white starting in the 90's) he says that the comics do not promote smoking and drinking. Neither Thorn or Phone Bone, the main characters partake in either activity. Plus none of the characters are seen getting drunk. I find it hard to believe that a child does not see people smoking on the sidewalk or people having a beer or glass of wine with their dinner. If it makes you more comfortable I would encourage you to read the stories with your child and explain to them that like in the comic, these activities are only for adults. Anyway, moving on.

    REVIEW:
    Bone was the first graphic novel I ever read and I was floored. Expecting a light, funny story I found myself caught in what exploded into an epic fantasy. Well told, and though it is, like the author says, Tolkien crossed with Bugs Bunny, the story is very original. When the color editions came out I introduced them to my brother who was struggling with reading, and he was hooked. These graphic novels, comics, books, whatever you want to call them are definitely a great way to get kids to start reading, and are an intriguing adventure for readers of all ages.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    This book is the greatest book I have ever read!

    It was very entertaining. Once I started reading I couldn't stop reading it. After I was done with the first one, I bought #2 the next day.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2014

    What seems like a book for younger population in the first three

    What seems like a book for younger population in the first three books, gets a lot darker after book four. So don't mistake it for a children's book. It's filled with so much humor, mystery, losses and surprises it's unbelievable. Characters are incredibly lovable. I first read it in 2006, and it was my favorite comic book since then. It still feels the same reading it now as it did back then. Recommended to people of every age group.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    NONSTOP ACTION + GREAT CHARACTERS + AN AWESOME VILLAIN = BONE!

    This is the first (and best!) graphic novel I have ever read! The beginning is grabbing and you are soon pulled right into the book! I have read Books 1 - 8 and Book 9 is due to come out soon! This is a perfect book for all reluctant readers and readers looking for something new and exciting!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    This was our "breakthrough" book for reading. Prior t

    This was our "breakthrough" book for reading. Prior to the Bone series, my son had virtually no interest in reading, nor the desire to further his reading abilities. After checking this book out from the school library the first time, my son didn't put it down until he'd read it from cover to cover, which was a first for him with any reading material. And yes, two of the characters smoke, but it isn't glamourized, just rather something they shady characters do. I would highly recommend this series of books to any parent who is looking to get their son hooked on reading; it did a whole world of wonder for ours!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Rilly good book

    Small and white and thoroughly clueless, the bone brothers strike out from Boneville to seek their fortune. Well actually they get kicked out but are determined to make the best of it in a large unknown world. That is the beginning of the book Bone written by Jeff smith. What comes next is an epic tale of adventure and Tom foolery as the Bone cousins get lost, meet new friends, find a Dragon and find, not so nice, rat creatures.
    The three Bone cousins, Smiley Bone, Phon Bone, and Phoney Bone are happy residence of Boneville. Life is going according to plan until Phoney Bone, the con artist of the three, gets booted for running a scam on the other towns people. They find themselves lost in a desert where they get separated by a swarm of locusts. Phon Bone heads off into the Valley, meets Thorn, a mysterious girl who he becomes friends with. Phon is very helpful and tends to do the right thing or the nice thing in most situations. His cousins Phoney Bone and Smiley Bone have a different approach to most situations. Phoney tends to take advantage of other people and run scams as often as possible. Smiley is not too bright and tends to follow other people's example. This puts them in trouble a lot, especially when it is their time to meet Thorn and her Grandma.
    The author is trying to teach his audience that there is more than one way to handle a situation. The three Bone cousins show you three different approaches. Phon Bone is smart and tries to be nice to everyone and also tries to do the right thing. Usually everything turns out alright. Phoney Bone, on the other hand, is also smart but tries to take advantage of other people he meets and it tends to get him into trouble. Smiley Bone follows either Phon or Phoney and it usually goes well with Phon but not so well with Phoney. Phon actually spends more time getting his cousins out of trouble than anything else.
    Bone is a fun and entertaining book with a good message and an even better ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    Must read it!

    I have read all of the books but the first one is very good becausr you are just getting to know all the charactres and don't know what the bone creatures are! When the 3 bones get kicked out of Bonesvill they end up getting lost and breck up with each other.Bone just meets Thorn and cunferts her and tells her about the rat creatures that tryed to ..... him. He even sees a dragon but no-one will believe him untill Thorn sees it too and dosen't know what to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2009

    awesome book

    The name of the story is called Bone I read the fist one in it seiners. The author name was Jeff smith. It was about a person named bone his and his friends got kick out of Bonneville and then they gat lost so now there are try to get back to there. Went they got lost they got they got attect by some thing bone fall off the cliff .and he woke up in a frosty were he almost step on a bug name tad witch help him to see a person name torn .I save the rest to you to read ,

    It was a page -turner because you nave know what would happens on the next page .It is not a very hard book to concentrate. I myself I do not have connect what so ever with bone. Yes I do like this kind of genre. I like this book because it he lots stuff. There is one part of the book that surprises me that the old lady has a fist name. The whole book was a cliff hanger. At the end of the book it said" to be continue" it makes me mad when it said that. It was not boring because you can nave guess what was going to happen next. I would have to say that my mind wonder a lot in this book. I would stop in the middle of the page and just wonder what would happen if I turned the page or kept reading on. I would also wonder about if I was bone what I would do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    ITS AN AUSOME BOOK!

    This review is for the book Bone Escape from Boneville by Jeff Smith
    Fone bone and his two cousins are run out of town thanks to phoney bone and his bad ideas. The three cousins are split up in the middle of the desert by a swarm of insects.Fone bone makes it into a valley and it doesn't take long for him to find thorn and her grandmother. Soon the rat creatures find him and phoney thorns grandmother buy them some time they were ambushed. Then the dragon comes and saves them. And with the rat creatures out of the way the set out to find there cousin.
    I recommend this book because the plot was unbelievable from when the story started and ended. It had a really good setting and the characters were easy to connect with the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Great Series

    My 8 yr old doesn't really like to read but he loves the Bone series. He would take it everywhere with him. All his spare time was spent reading. The story is fun and engaging. He now has all the boys in his class reading Bone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    Kool Komic

    Great comic! I got into reading it when my school had a bookfair, I really like comics and I liked the look of it and the review. Now I really love this series of comic. It's a can't put down kind of book and the drawings are really good to. If you like suspenseful fictional comics you'll love this series! :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Really Good Book

    Phoney Bone tries one of his money scams, but it back fires on him. Him and his two cosins get ran out of town to a really wierd place.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Amazing book (s)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Bones are little creaturers always surching for adventure. In the bone series it talks about three bones inpaticular. There's smiley bone who's always happy and ecited. There's Phoney bone who is the scam artist and is always getting into trouble. And probably my favorite bone Fone bone. Fone bones the nice sensitive bone that always trys to stay out of trouble and help but he constantley has to keep his cousins out of trouble. Ther are 9 action packed Bone books in the series. Bone books are super enjoyable and keep you want to reading. But all in all bone books are a quick, awesome really good short read!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2008

    This book was really interesting

    This book was a really interesting kind of comic book because of the weird looking characters and the way each character acts.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2007

    I really liked this book!

    I couldn't stop reading this, it was a great book! When I finished I went right into the store and bought myself vol. 2. You have to read this!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2007

    Bone is fantabulous!

    Do you like graphic novels? If you do, you have to read Bone by Jeff Smith. This book is about three cousins named Fone Bone, Phoney Bone, and Smiley Bone. They get thrown out of Boneville and they get separated and lost. They enter a new world and Fone Bone is being harassed by a character who looks like the grim reaper. He falls in love with a girl named thorn and tries to return to Boneville. But will he make it? In my opinion this book is a funny book and the dialogue was great too. I love the color of the characters and the setting. I give this book a ten and it is one of the best books I¿ve ever read. I recommend this book to a person that likes books that are funny and it has good dialogue and to someone that likes to read for the fun of it. So that completes my book review, so long I have to finish reading Bone part 2.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    It is the best comic book. Right after i read the number 1, i went to buy the number 2 to find what happened next

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2007

    Greatast Bone Book Ever!!!

    I love all 'Bone' books. The original books were good too.This book has a great plot,a good cast of characters,and other main elements of a story.Im going to buy Rock Jaw on Friday!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2006

    Best book!

    I think this book was awsome! I really can't wait when I get the second one!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2006

    Great Book!

    I enjoyed this book %100 Right now I'm going to buy the 2nd one but the First one was great!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2