BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Out of Captivity: Surviving 1,967 Days in the Colombian Jungle

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Must Read For Obama Administration, Senators and Congressmen

Gonsalves, Stansell and Howes have done a great service to the United States of America and the Democracy of Colombia. This book should cement the relationship between the two countries. It brings the personal level of the Colombian Civil War home to any US Citizen th...
Gonsalves, Stansell and Howes have done a great service to the United States of America and the Democracy of Colombia. This book should cement the relationship between the two countries. It brings the personal level of the Colombian Civil War home to any US Citizen that reads about the confilict. The book is more exciting than a novel and every word is from the true life experience of three americans.

My wife is a Colombian who spent the first 61 years of her life in Colombia. I have been a tourist in Colombia many times and have never felt thretened as long as I didn't venture into the country side where the thug, terroists reside. Mr. Brozek shows how beautiful the country is through the eyes of Marc, Keith and Tom.

It is very disheartening to me to know that the U.S. Congress voted down the Colombia Free Trade Agreement at the same time these three Patriotic Americans were in captivity. The book depicts the patriotism of the Colombian Army and shows their respct for Americans. Many of our distinguished senators said they voted against the Colombian Free Trade Agreement because of Human Rights Issues in Colombia. This book shows the fallacy of this belief. The whole world should now know that the Colombian Revoloutionary Armed Forces (FARC) are inhuman in there treatment of themselves and all their hostages. Every decent law abiding person should help support any effort to free the remaining 700 hostages from the tyrannical FARC. The FARC are nothing but low life thugs and make up a very small portion of the Colombian population. The book proves what many of us have known for a long time, Hugo Chavez supports the FARC.

The whole world needs to help the Colombian Government eradicate the FARC guerrillas.

posted by 1151541 on March 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Shocking, very real account of life in captivity!

To read of these mens' miserable lives and years of suffering in captivity brought chills to my being. Arriving in Columbia just weeks after their escape, and having worked there as an American, heavily watched and continuously guarded, it was to say the least revealing...
To read of these mens' miserable lives and years of suffering in captivity brought chills to my being. Arriving in Columbia just weeks after their escape, and having worked there as an American, heavily watched and continuously guarded, it was to say the least revealing. All I could imagine as i read the first hand accounts of their six years in captivity was how devastating the loss of time with my loved ones would be. How the fear, anger, despair, suffering, uncertainty all played terrible "games" with their minds and families. Thank God for their escape and pray that all those being held still, some going on ten years as captives may soon be released.

posted by Lucki1 on May 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2009

    A Must Read For Obama Administration, Senators and Congressmen

    Gonsalves, Stansell and Howes have done a great service to the United States of America and the Democracy of Colombia. This book should cement the relationship between the two countries. It brings the personal level of the Colombian Civil War home to any US Citizen that reads about the confilict. The book is more exciting than a novel and every word is from the true life experience of three americans.

    My wife is a Colombian who spent the first 61 years of her life in Colombia. I have been a tourist in Colombia many times and have never felt thretened as long as I didn't venture into the country side where the thug, terroists reside. Mr. Brozek shows how beautiful the country is through the eyes of Marc, Keith and Tom.

    It is very disheartening to me to know that the U.S. Congress voted down the Colombia Free Trade Agreement at the same time these three Patriotic Americans were in captivity. The book depicts the patriotism of the Colombian Army and shows their respct for Americans. Many of our distinguished senators said they voted against the Colombian Free Trade Agreement because of Human Rights Issues in Colombia. This book shows the fallacy of this belief. The whole world should now know that the Colombian Revoloutionary Armed Forces (FARC) are inhuman in there treatment of themselves and all their hostages. Every decent law abiding person should help support any effort to free the remaining 700 hostages from the tyrannical FARC. The FARC are nothing but low life thugs and make up a very small portion of the Colombian population. The book proves what many of us have known for a long time, Hugo Chavez supports the FARC.

    The whole world needs to help the Colombian Government eradicate the FARC guerrillas.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    This is a "must read"!

    I heard about this book when I was on my way back to the US from Colombia. This book is about three contractors whose plane goes down in the Colombian jungle when they are immediately captured by the FARC. This is their story of 1,967 days in captivity. From the crash, to time spent in captivity to the reunion with their family. Since my unit played a significant part in their recovery, I HAD to read this. This is more than worth the cost of the book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    Fast Read for those wanting to learn more about the FARC Hostages

    Being that most of the books written by the hostages are in spanish, it was a huge relief to get hands on a book in English and written by Americans. Being Colombian-American myself, I could identify and was not surprised by the "accusations" as many in Colombia state that the 3 contractors are making regarding Ingrid Betancourt. Bottom line is that everyone that has since been liberated from the jungle will give their version and I'm happy that the Americans were of the first to give theirs. Congratulations on writing this book and to the Colombia/US govt' on Opertaion Jacque.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    Breathtaking read

    This is an amazing story told in a way that made it hard to put the book down. Even though I knew the outcome of their captivity, their story was captivating.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    Great read

    Amazing how the authors were able to squeeze 5 years worth of captivity, and the experiences therein, into 300 some-odd pages. I never felt like I was reading a crib-notes version of the story, but got a real sense of what it was like to be held captive for so long in such degrading conditions. Vivid descriptions and development of all involved in the book. Emotional and real. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    Very entertaining

    I really enjoyed reading this book about the three men's captivity and their bravery and stalwart way of dealing with life in the jungle. I really admire them. Humans can get used to just about anything. I felt like I had to finish reading it so they could get rescued!! So I did. and they did. I wonder if Tom is still single. I would like to meet him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    When I saw the title of the book, I was instantly interested. I remembered hearing about these men in the news and wanted to read their story.

    Excellent! I could hardly put the book down. My heart pours out to them and any others in captivity. Their strength, faith, and perseverance was amazing and humbling. If only we as Americans in our cozy little homes could appreciate life as much as they learned to. May God continue to bless them as He already has done.
    I have recommended this to others and will continue to do so.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    GOTO FIRST RES? FOR NEWS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Sunkiss

    Hey Snowfur. You want to mate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Hope

    A hot and pretty she cat pads in her fur as soft and shiny as silk. She sits down waiting. Her black leapord spotted fur gleamed as the slender she cat streched.~Hope

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Snowfur

    Sire she says to Snowkiss

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Shadowpines

    Anyone ready? I can only do two at a time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Free+at+last

    GREAT+BOOK.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    A must read

    My daughter recommended this book. I got it and read it in a short time. It was so well written and kept you on the edge of your seat. I knew how it ended but how they made it throught five plus years living in that hell hole is beyond human.

    My wish was all the families could have stayed together that would have been the best outcome. This is real life not fiction so in real life things happen.

    I am so glad they made it. I wish everyone would read this book it shows what the human spirt can overcome and what is important. Best of luck to all and I hope others will be free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2010

    Loved this book

    Great reading, I couldn't put is down. An amazing story of adventure, courage, drama and survival. I strongly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    Good book!

    If you have not read this book, you should! It will have you on your seat. It should one of the best sellers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Out of Captivity

    It has to be one of the best books I've ever read. I couldn't put it down, I was so amazed with the story and the men. I bought two others for gifts and they thought the same thing. Just enough politics about the Columbian Jungle to make it very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    Great Read

    A very thrilling read. I would recommend this to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    Great reading!

    This is a great book. These guys went through so much. Much more than
    they could tell in a book about their 1,967 days of captivity. This book
    was very interesting to read and very informative. We are so glad these
    guys survived and were able to get back to normal living. I am sure they
    will have some ups and downs but I know they are survivors. They have so
    many stories to tell. Welcome back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    Great Reality check on life with FARC as a captive.

    This was a very inspiring book. These three men tell, in great detail, about their time with FARC terrorists in Colombia. They were treated very harshly, and at times, with strange compassion. Their rescue was the results of very hard work from men of many counries, yet the French woman, when confronted by them, gave two very diverse responses. I really enjoyed this book as it gave me insight into what is really going on in Colombia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3