Customer Reviews for

Out of Circulation (Cat in the Stacks Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    totally engrossing

    the cat in the stacks mysteries are the best i've read in a long time. this one is no exception. charlie harris is a middle-aged part time archivist for the library and his cat diesel is a maine coon cat, that goes every where with him. vera cassity is a caustic woman no one likes, and she is murdered. charlie is asked to help find the person responsible. he does, and many secrets are uncovered. he is very resourceful and smart about where to go to check records out. he finds a jouornal no one realizes is in the archives and the info in it is very surprising. this story will keep you reading to see what will happen next. what secret or discovery will turn up next. if you haven't read any of the cat in the stacks books, you owe it to yoursself to do so. they are thoroughally enjoyable. i love them!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    Love this series & I can't wait for the next installation. T

    Love this series & I can't wait for the next installation. The author does a wonderful job of character development and the writing flows in a warm, natural and easy-to-read style. Each book in the series includes plenty of juicy surprises. I hope to see more of the household members as future plots develop; and of ourse we're all waiting to learn more about lovable Diesel's antics. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    I could not put this book down once I started. I always get a s

    I could not put this book down once I started. I always get a sense of home coming every time I make a visit to Athena where I get to spend time with Charlie, Diesel and the rest of the gang, especially when there’s a murder mystery to solve. The author did a great job in keeping me glued to the pages as I had to know what was going to happen next. A lot of warm felt emotions were played out in this story, especially when the killer was revealed. This is the best book ever in this magnificent series and I can’t wait to see what adventures the Harris clan will have on our next visit.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Feel good read with a cat!

    Who doesn't like a feel good mystery with ghosts from the past to haunt you with a furry sidekick to help you unravel the clues? I just absolutely love these books, a quick read but I'm always drawn in immediately and my attentionn is kept to the very end. It definitely doesn't hurt that Diesel is the fantastic sidekick

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    James has written another wonderful book in the Cat in the Stack

    James has written another wonderful book in the Cat in the Stacks series. Actually the best one thus far. Not only is the writing exceptional, the mystery keeps you guessing. With each book his characters show growth and you gain more insight into each one. Pick up any of the books in the series and I guarantee it will refuse to be put down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This books goes back to Athena Mississippi where we catch up wit

    This books goes back to Athena Mississippi where we catch up with Charlie Harris, his Maine coon cat Diesel, his kids Sean and Laura and the various people in their lives.  In this book Charlie is joining the other members of the library board to get donations for the library with a fundraising Gala. 




    Not long into this Charlie finds everyone seems to have a passionate dislike for Vera Cassity, including his maid Azalea, what Charlie can't figure out is why?  That is until Vera goes head to head with Charlie about trying to access the Ducote files, which can't be accessed without permission being granted by the lawyer of the estate or surviving family members.




    The night of the Gala shows so many things going on like a heated argument between Vera and Azalea, Vera and her husband get into a heated fight over his having an affair.  Later in the night when everyone is packing up to go home Vera is found murdered the question is who had the most to gain by shutting down Mrs. Cassity and why?




    This book was great I love going back to Athena to see what everyone is up to, and this book didn't fail in this one we also saw more of Stewart which was nice seeing him interact with the family I enjoyed it a lot.  Cat in the Stacks won't disappoint anyone in the slightest!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    highly recommended

    I have read all the books in this series and loved them all would read any more books in this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    SandClans description

    Leader- Greystar. Deputy- Cinderbranch. Med cat- Jaggedthunder. Med cat app- None. At 'sandy home' : 1) main camp. 2) pointed rock. 3) leaders den. 4+5) warriors and apprentice den. 6) med cat den. 7) nursery. 8) elderys den. 9) sentury rock. 10) dirtplace :-\. --- At 'sandy day' : 1) training hollow. 2) the gorge. 3) the river/forest. At 'sandy shore' : 1) bios. At 'sandy wave' you can pm me! ••Greystar

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    ~|¿ NorthClan ~|~ Bio Update 1.3.0¿|~

    ~|• okay so i have all the information down and ready •|~
    <p>
    ~|~ LEADER : AuroraStar ~|~
    <p>
    ~|~ DEPUTY : JayFlame/Feather ~|~
    <p>
    ~|~ CO-DEPUTY : PetalStorm ~|~
    <p>
    |\/|ed cat : Cinder? Something ? Still not positive
    <p>
    ~|~•|~ CLAN LOCATION AND DENS ~|•~|~
    <p>
    Located at northclan second result
    <p>
    Dens in somewhat order : 1 high log. 2 maincamp. 3 leaders den. 4 another copy of main camps book. 5 med den. 6 app den. 7 warrior den. 8 nursery. 9 elders den
    <p>
    Back up clan locations at north star all results..........following the north all results
    <p>
    Most like shadowclan with a tinge of riverclan
    <p>
    Thanks now presss da prudy little x button

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Horseclan's Descrption and Pact Clan Description

    HORSECLAN'S DESCRIPTION: <br>
    Leader - Velvetstar <br>
    Deputy - Goldenstripe <br>
    Medicine Cat - Sparrowsun <br>
    Territory - "Horse Cats" all results <br>
    Border - "Discover Cats" 7th result <br>
    Camp - "Magical Cat" all results <br>
    Dens (in order) - Clearing, High Log, Leaders Den, Medicine Cats Den, Nursery, Apprentices Den, Warriors Den, Elders Den, Freshkill Pile, Dirtplace, Training Meadow, Beautiful Stream, Lone Tree <br>
    Bios - "Meet My Cat" <br>
    Additional Info (important to read before joining) - "Clare Bell" results 1-5 <br>
    Most Like - Windclan <br>
    PACT CLAN DESCRIPTION: <br>
    "Discover Cats" results (in order): <br>
    1. Gathering Clearing <br>
    2. Great Oak <br>
    3. Moonpool <br>
    4. Starclan <br>
    5. Dark Forest <br>
    6. Blank Result <br>
    7. Horseclan Border <br>
    8. Sandclan Border <br>
    9. Ashclan Border <br>
    10. Northclan Border <br>
    11. Rainclan Border <br>
    12. Rogue Border <br>
    13. Tribe Border <br>
    14. Tribe of Endless Hunting <br>
    15. Writing Nook <br>
    "Cat in the Stacks" (in order) <br>
    1. Weekly Report <br>
    2. Weather Report <br>
    3. Original Pact Clan Introduction <br>
    4. Clan Descriptions <br>
    5. Original Pact Code <br>
    ~ Lilywolf, Pact Clan Organizer

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    Another great mystery with Charlie & Diesel!  As a guy I lik

    Another great mystery with Charlie &amp; Diesel!  As a guy I like these stories better than some of the &quot;cozies&quot; which have more chick-lit kinds of plots -cookie shops, women talking about feelings all the time, etc.  While Diesel is not a &quot;magical&quot; cat like in some series, he certainly holds his own as companion &amp; best buddy.Have now read all 4 books &amp; can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Very good series

    I really like this series. Literate and well written. Well rounded, believeable characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Love this series!

    Highly recommend for anyone who loves mysteries and cats; great characters; eagerly looking forward to the next installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    Review: Charlie Harris learns quickly there is no love loss bet

    Review:
    Charlie Harris learns quickly there is no love loss between Vera Cassity and nearly every person who has come into contact with her. She causes a problem with the other members of the Friends of the Library Board, She lashes out at the other members as she attempts to wrestle control of the board from the Ducote sisters. The next morning, he learns of his housekeeper, Azalea Berry, has her own history with the much despised Vera, and is not shy in expressing her animosity of the woman. Nor is she shy in telling her employer to mind his own business when he inquires as to why she dislikes the woman so much.
    To make his day worse Vera threatens Charlie by telling him she wll get him fired, have his cat reported to animal control, and to resend Justin's, his border, scholarship all because he refused to allow her to peruse the Dulcolt family papers held in the library's private archives. After standing up to Vera she storms out of his office. Later in the week he finds Vera has attack the reputation of Helen Louise, his girlfriend, by announcing quite loudly that she is cancelling a large order, because she has heard that it was known that customers had come away with food poisoning after eating her food. Helen, also stands up to her and states just as loudly that Vera is spouting nonsense and that Vera can expect a phone call from her lawyer as she will be filing slander charges against her. Vera leaves pale and shaken. Could it be she has gone too far this time?
    Sunday night, prior to the guests arrival at the Gala there is an altercation between Vera and Sissy. After a dressing down by An'gel Ducote they two women are permitted to stay. Azalea arrives with her daughter, Kanesha, as a guest. The the Ducote sisters effectively serve Vera her comeuppance. With no recourse but to accept defeat Vera backs down. It is towards the end of the Gala that Vera is found dead with Azalea close to the body. The sheriff zeros in on Azalea as the prime suspect even though there are plenty of possible suspects, nearly the whole town in fact.
    With her mother a suspect, chief deputy Kanesha is forced to ask Charlie for help in proving her mother innocent. The Ducote sisters also request his help in finding the true culprit. Charlie and Diesel set out to sift through the many suspects and to investigate the mystery Vera left for Charlie in an envelope before her death that he was delayed in receiving until after her murder. Miranda James will keep you asking yourself, &quot;Who done it? This fourth installment of The Cat In The Stacks series keeps you involved until the last page. Where you will be turning the page looking for more and then asking yourself a new questions, &quot;How long until the next book comes out.&quot;

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1