Customer Reviews for

Out of Control (Kincaid Brides Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 354 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(131)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Good Christian read

This story was well written but seemed to drag on a bit. Clean read with a few kisses and lots of emotional pain all around. This is the first book of the series of the three Kincaid brothers searching for peace and love.

posted by my1perch on March 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

38 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Aggravating

I was very disappointed in this book. It had the makings of a really good story, but the heroine was an idiot. This woman wasnt strong, she was a selfish,self centered brat and i honestly have no idea why the hero would fall in love with her. Her obsession with fossils ...
I was very disappointed in this book. It had the makings of a really good story, but the heroine was an idiot. This woman wasnt strong, she was a selfish,self centered brat and i honestly have no idea why the hero would fall in love with her. Her obsession with fossils was ludicrous in the face of allthe other things going on in the story. And her lack of compassion for Rafes brother Seth did not show her to be much of a Christian. In fact i felt that the author simply threw in a few God references, to make the book qualify as Christian fiction, instead of because she had any real beliefs herself. I would not recommend this book. Glad it was free.

posted by 3062781 on March 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 354 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Not great

    Very slow. Story line jumps all over and was confusing. Characters week.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2014

    Only a few chapters into the book. So far, I don't like any of t

    Only a few chapters into the book. So far, I don't like any of the characters.  Audra & Ethan are too weak; Rafe (who comes off much like a donkey's butt) & Julia (who can't seem to remember she's in danger, and darts about worried about fossils instead of the fact that there's a man trying to kill her...) are too strong willed, at least to be a couple anyway. I've never known two Type A personalities to make a good relationship ... not in real life, anyway.  From reading some of the reviews, it seems as though this could be a Christian fiction, but I can't tel that from the book.  The Christian element is vague & incomplete/inaccurate; more as if the writer was lazy & half a$$ed threw in a few references here & there, to meet a minimum of qualifications to be considered Christian fiction. Certainly none of the characters are Christ-like or Christian in any way that I know or can tell. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2014

    I finished this book but it wasn't easy. Sometimes the plot or t

    I finished this book but it wasn't easy. Sometimes the plot or the characters' actions made absolutely no sense. Other times, the author would pause in the middle of a dialog exchange and go off on a tangent so disjointed, by the time the dialog resumed I'd forgotten what the characters had been talking about and had to turn back several pages to remind myself. The characters' actions were so contrary to common sense that I literally shook my head over some of their behaviors. Example #1: one of the hero's brothers had been trapped in a cave for months (or was it years? I really couldn't tell.) with no explanation how he survived; and when he finally got out of the cave he kept asking the hero, "Can I go home now?" For page after page and chapter after chapter he kept asking the same question. For cryin' out loud, couldn't somebody just take the poor guy home?!?! I mean, he was trapped in a cave for pity sake! Example #2: The heroine's father is dying and she--as well as everybody else in the story--went on about her shallow, self-absorbed business as if nothing whatsoever were wrong. This level of behaviour occured thrughout the book. The lack of continuity or logical progression in the story and the characters' poor development was astonishing to me. If this book is an example of the author's skill and style, I will think hard and long before I read another book by her. Unfortunately, I can't recommend this book at all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    I don't recommend

    Barely made it thru this book. Heroine was horrible. She showed no common sense, was more concerned with her fossils than anything else, and was flat out mean to the heros brother. All the hero's lines just seemed to be orders thrown about. Overall, didn't like the characters, the Bible and religious references were so random they really didn't fit, and it was just a hard read. The plot had possibilities...it just wasn't developed well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Don't waste your time reading this one

    I felt this book was very amateurish. Much of the dialogue didn't fit the situation or was immature, for instance, a man who was abusing his daughter and wife was described as "cranky." There was very little romance and I didn't feel any emotional attachment to the characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Fossil Failure

    Very seldom do I just give up on a book, but it was too choppy, the female lead got on my nerves, and the constant references and obsession to the cavern and fossils was downright annoying. I started skipping forward during the really dull parts, and then just decided I didn't care enough about anyone in the story to finish it. Sorry...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Not that great

    I kept reading it to the end but it was not one of my favorites main heroin completely selfish and inmature cant seem to see whats important and whays not... main male character way too bossy and ethan he seems to have a smile in his face in the worst moments stupid way to autodefense

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Anyone for stupid?

    Why did I force myself to read the whole book?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2013

    This story was just awful. The main charcters were a joke. The w

    This story was just awful. The main charcters were a joke. The way they were writtenthey would never be together. Everything seemed very forced. I usually read books like this in less then a day but it took me a week because it just didn't flow. Thank goodness it was free.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Burn it NOW!!

    I couldnt do it any more. It took me two days to read 137 pages which is worse than horrible for me. Julia is crazy, Rafe is annoying, the rest of the characters need work. If the book was longer and given time to develop the charaters and story line better the book may just work but the mark was truely missed on this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Too cheesey.

    Maybe this would be good for a teenager. I thought it was lousy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Do you really know what it is to be a true believer? All the pr

    Do you really know what it is to be a true believer? All the preaching Julia does and when Rafe's brother appears, she hateful, vicious and verbally cruel. What happened to the greatest commandment of all "Love one another" what happened to compassion. Not credible that two grown men would take such verbal abuse from a women they just met or that a women with absolutely nothing can treat them like dirt when they are feeding and guarding her. Finally making Rafe choose between her and his brother how selfish can you get. The book is good to promote christian duplicity. My first and last book from this author - just on principle

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    I could not get into the story

    From the first few pages I knew this was not a book for me. Both characters in the first chapter seem nuts and the story is odd from the get go.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Not impressive

    I don't like the main character, Julia. She is incredibly bossy and focused on one thing only: the caves. She does not even look at anything else going on around her except the need to go back into the caves. Nothing else. I am not happy with her character. She comes across as very selfish and not caring about anyone else, anything else but her caves. Not a book I would recommend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Boring

    Singleminded boring heroine. Would not suggest wasting your time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    Boring

    Would not recommend.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Not bad

    A little too long

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Good Read

    I truly enjoyed this up and down and all around story. I enjoyed the characters all around. This was an excellent read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    This book is set in Colorado and is a book many can relate to. It is a story set in the time period where many married for reasons other than love or at least initially without love.
    Both Rafe and Julia grew up without "traditional" parenting and can relate to one another.
    Rafe finds Julia trapped in a cavern on his property, he rescues her, but not only to rescue her, but to rescue himself of the feelings he has had about this cavern his whole life. His brother had an accident in the same cavern and barely escaped with his life. All three of the Kincaid brothers have emotional and physical scars from that accident years ago.
    The romance part of the story happens right from the start and is very quick and straight forward, but it is still nice to see it all the way through.
    Julia has loved studying Geology, the only thing her father ever granted her, and that is a big part of this book, not only her love of rocks, but how her father never had much to do with her, and she would raise herself, and was free to roam the country as she saw fit.
    You will see how these come into play.
    Her father is remarried to a young woman, that is more of a sister to Julia than a step mom, but she is fiercely protective of Audra
    They adore one another, take care of one another, and are glad that the dad/husband to Audra isn't home much due to his nature.
    There is an injury and Julia's dad becomes ill, during this time she and Audra learns things about Wendell they never knew.
    Now they are left with questions to try and get answers from him.
    Lots more action, twists, and turns happen in the book.
    A book about three brothers and their need to reconcile after that accident many years ago, Julia who needs to learn on someone other than herself for once in her life, and has to learn she can't make all the decisions, and Audra who now faces some life changing decisions, and seems to frail and "sickly" to make them, but is she?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Too confusing!

    I thought this book would get better after the first few chapters, but I was wrong. The characters aren't believable and the story line is too confusing! I was shaking my head after every chapter, wondering when it would come together. I finally stopped reading around page 200 because i just couldn't deal with the storyline anymore. Not enough going on to hold my interest- the characters stayed fixated on one thing and it really made no sense as to how they ended up togethet anyways. Very disappointing book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 354 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18