Customer Reviews for

Out of Control (Kincaid Brides Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 361 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Good Christian read

This story was well written but seemed to drag on a bit. Clean read with a few kisses and lots of emotional pain all around. This is the first book of the series of the three Kincaid brothers searching for peace and love.

posted by my1perch on March 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Aggravating

I was very disappointed in this book. It had the makings of a really good story, but the heroine was an idiot. This woman wasnt strong, she was a selfish,self centered brat and i honestly have no idea why the hero would fall in love with her. Her obsession with fossils ...
I was very disappointed in this book. It had the makings of a really good story, but the heroine was an idiot. This woman wasnt strong, she was a selfish,self centered brat and i honestly have no idea why the hero would fall in love with her. Her obsession with fossils was ludicrous in the face of allthe other things going on in the story. And her lack of compassion for Rafes brother Seth did not show her to be much of a Christian. In fact i felt that the author simply threw in a few God references, to make the book qualify as Christian fiction, instead of because she had any real beliefs herself. I would not recommend this book. Glad it was free.

posted by 3062781 on March 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Mid-book rating

    I'm only halfway through, but the heroine is annoying. She's obsessed with the cavern and is coming across as very selfish. I hope by the end of the book she finds some balance.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Okay

    The overall story was cute. I did manage to finish it.There were a couple times the plot was a little difficult to follow. A couple times I wanted to strangle the hero and heroine...the communciation between them was confusing.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A little long...................................................

    A little long................................................................................................................................................................
    I think the story was a bit character heavy because in addition to telling the Rafe and Julia story the author was setting up her next two books. It was probably good marketing but not necessarily good story telling. Too much of a good thing is not good. This is where an editor should come in. Still it was an OK story.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Anonymous

    Had a hard time finishing.jas

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great supporting characters

    A self-admitted control freak like Rafe isn't really my favorite type of romance hero. However, he was written in an honest, sympathetic way which made him interesting to read about. At least he knew he had a problem with controlling others and was sorry that he'd run off his brothers because of it. It was interesting to see his flaws written about so openly.

    I was more of a fan of Rafe's brother, Ethan. Ethan was more happy-go-lucky and he grinned so much that it was irritating to the other characters. It was great to see his affection grow for Julia's stepmother, Audra. Seeing Audra's baby, Maggie, latch onto Ethan as a father was both sweet and funny.

    The romance between Rafe and Julia was slightly lackluster to me. Also, there was too much story about the cave when I wanted to know more about the characters instead. Thank goodness for Audra, Ethan, and Seth. The secondary characters really brightened up this story for me.

    Overall, a western romance where the secondary characters really shine.

    book sent by publisher in exchange for honest review

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Romantic Mystery

    Rafe Kincaid thinks he is in control. And he is, mostly. Then he meets Julia Gilliland. They are introduced when he rescues the fiery redhead from the dark recesses of a cave on his ranch.

    Sparks fly immediately, and Julia insists that Rafe take her back into the cave to investigate a fossil she discovered. But the cave holds memories from Rafe's tormented past, so he hesitates to make any promises to take her back in.

    Julia and Rafe's connection tangles further when Rafe returns Julia to her home. Julia's absentee father Wendell is ailing, and Audra, Julia's stepmother is due to have her baby any minute. To further complicate things, Rafe's brother Ethan appears after a long absence.

    A confirmed bachelor, Rafe isn't interested in making room on the ranch for a woman. Things run just fine the way they are, thank you very much. With her father gone most of the time, Julia is used to doing things by herself. When Wendell marries Audra, a woman young enough to be Julia's sister, everything changes. The women forge an unlikely friendship, though, and manage well when Wendell disappears each week.

    As if this isn't enough of a puzzle, Rafe and Ethan are tracking the man they think nearly killed Julia in the cave. Add the growing interest between Rafe and Julia and you have all the makings of a good old western romantic mystery.

    I had a little trouble getting into this book at first, as it had more than two points of view. For some reason, I am better with two or less. I guess it just takes me a while to keep everything straight. Once things got going though, I was drawn in, wondering what was going to happen next. I won't give anything away, but if you like a mystery with strong characters, you just might like this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Good read

    The story dragged on, the romamce was lacking but still a good story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2015

    Okay story

    This story is just okay. The charcters did not feel well developed. It was a nice, clean story though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    Fast read

    Was okay to a point. Not really true to life charactors which made them funny and pretty dumb at times. Was worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Light good read.

    Light good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    As I write the review I still have not decided the rating I¿ll g

    As I write the review I still have not decided the rating I’ll give Out of Control. While it is a great book for a book club I am so annoyed with Julia. Since I am only on page 144 I am wondering if her behavior is the hypothesis for the title.
    I probably will finish the story but I have had just about enough of her recklessness and craziness when her rescuer warns her not to talk because the culprit could be there. I hope I am wrong; but I’m pretty sure I can guess the rest of the story. After reading what I just wrote, I now know what the rating will be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    While this was an okay read, I found the heroine especially unbe

    While this was an okay read, I found the heroine especially unbelievable, and thought the entire story was boring and drawn out. Not a good way to begin a series, which I will not be reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Venus lol

    It wwas ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Oops, on difficult read.

    Meant this review I just made for OUT IN THE COUNTRY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Enjoyed it but...

    It would have been a lot better if it wasn't for Julia's stubborness

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Not

    Not quite whst i expectef

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Good plot

    Liked the story line. Wanted bettrr ending. Main heroine immarure and selfish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Entertainment

    An easy read for when you are lying at the beach. I am looking forward to the sequels.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Cute

    A strong-willed woman vs a domineering male...in the past. Okay, the plot has been done before, but I did like some of the twists in it. I am still wondering how & when & where they fell in love though...seemed to happen just too easily.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3