Customer Reviews for

Out of Control

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS BOOK. OUT OF CONTROL WAS STEAMY HOT AND EXCITING ALL THE WAY THROUGH. EXCELLENT READ!!!!!

    Davy McCloud is an uptight older brother that is both mom and dad to his younger brothers and has had a tough life, and the only thing he has is his self control. Until he meets Margot, who is a fiesty red head who is trying to outrun her past without much luck, and Davy can't seem to stay away even though he knows she's trouble. Margot/Margaret is out of money and luck and at the end of her rope when she is introduced to Davy, and he wants to have sex with her from the get go, and he wants her to trust him to help her sort out her past. Little does he know her past could very well get him killed. This book was an excellent read. I absolutely loved it, and I recomend the whole series. Davy is an intense character who had a hard life, and Margot is the one woman/panther woman who can tame him. The sex scenes in this book were freakin hot. Loved it will read it again many times. Shannon McKenna's writing is a favorite of mine in that she uses all ranges of emotion, and humor, and of course great erotic writing. What's not to love. My favorite book of hers is still Hot Night, but this one is right up there. Also Standing In The Shaddows. So enjoy these books and lose yourself in a great erotic/thriller.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2005

    Great Book

    I love this Author Shannon McKenna. I agree with the review below that she writes the best romance/sex but not kinky. She writes the suspense/romance evenly which I like. So far I cannot find another author that does that. This book was great - I totally enjoyed it and was not bored for one minute. I cannot wait to read Sean's story. I love the McCloud men.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Nightbird

    *winces* ouch....that mustve hurt. Awesome story! Keep it up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Chapter 11: Coming Out of Hiding

    I awoke to yelling. I groaned making my half onlined body to where the yelling came from. I opened the training room to see Sideswipe and Vengence attacking each other. They stopped and stared at me. My optics slowly opened fully." Do you have any fragging idea what time it is? Its 4 in the morning. Do l have to send you both to the medical bay? Quite down." I grumbled making my way outside the base. I transformed into my sleek black Mustang. I reved my engine before speeding off. I sent a quick message to Vengence. ~Taking a drive. Dont get in trouble. Silentecho out.~ l sighed as l let my tense wires loosen up. My mph went higher as l drove for the speed. I almost skidded off the road when a blast hit the right side of where l was. I looked behind me to see two cons. Barricade and Long Haul were on my tail and were coming up pretty fast. I took a sharp right transforming and leaping off to where no coming traffic would be hurt. They followed me threw the clearing before l was tackled. I winced throwing off Barricade. I stood watching them as my canon whirled to life. They came at me at the same time. Long Haul shot me in the side as l dodged the punch from Barricade. I flintched slightly before letting my canon lose on Barricade. I was kicked forward by Long Haul. ~Help. Cons attacking. Need back up.~ l sent out to my team back at base. I remember that l knocked Long Haul back and started to pound in his face. Then a sharp kik to my back sent me flying. I winced slightly getting back up. Long Haul went into statis lock with the direct blows l would make to the sensitive wiring. Barricade shot me in the side again making me hiss in pain. He tackled me to the ground shoving his hand into the wound and ripping out wiring. I screamed in agony. He smirked with his red optics watching as l tryed to throw him off. I finally got him off. I held my now gushing energon side. Barricade seamed to grin as we both heard the sound of a jet coming. Starscream landed armed with missles. I backed away a few steps. I made a dash for Starscream while shooting at Barricade. I slid under Starscream holding in a cry of pain as l kicked him in the back. I took his arm in my hand yanking him forward and punching him in his jaw. Barricade shot me in the back making me spit energon in Starscreames face. I wanted to giggle at his expression of horror. I yelped when he brought his fist back connecting with my chamber was. I gasped in pain as l felt my chest break apart a little due to the amount of force. I saw things like "Need Medical Treatment." Pop across my vision. I heard the sound of cars coming. I gave them a grin. Starscream stiffened and began to fire rapidly at me. I grimced in pain stumbling back. I scearmed when Barricade seemed to come behind me and shove his clawed hand threw my torso just under my chamber for my spark. I fell forward on my hands and knee8s trying to not chock on my own energon." Retreat" Starscream screetched. I saw the blue and red of someone and a loud voice telling me to rest and keep strong. My optics offlined to keep me from dieing.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Love!!!

    Very graffic and detailed. But the characters are wonderful and deep and real; detail is great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    AMAZING!!

    wow! shannon mckenna is absolutely AMAZING! she writes really good romance suspense stories. its also a hot steamy read. it balances between romance and mystery/suspense and it makes you keep reading and reading. i was sad when it was over...lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    melting

    oh my, great read! i just love that davy mccloud. this book makes you feel like you are right there in the scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    new to Shannons books, now a HUGE FAN

    Just finished both Standing and OUT OF CONTROL. I've read several romantic suspense authors in the last year...Lori Foster, Lucy Monroe etc. But there is something a bit more juicy and unique about Ms. Monroes writing. She has such a great sense of humor which is so evident in the her style of writing. One minute you are on the edge of your seat and the next you are laughing out loud! I like that about her. And yes....there is alot of erotism...steamy lustfulness. But there is also a story here...and if you are open enough, even some lessons in the oh-so-wonderful relationships, the tug of wars men and women do go through in real life as well. I am now collecting more books from Ms. McKenna and hope she is the kind of author that doesn't shy away from movie scripts and writing...as I think OUT OF CONTROL would make an excellant hot, sexy, thriller! And Josh Holloway of American tv's LOST fame probably wouldn't mind a shot at the big screen about now!!!! HintHint Hollywood agents!!!! WE are getting tired of remakes--we need some new exciting writiers--and Shannon McKenna is one of the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2005

    No one writes a better sex scene...

    than Shannon McKenna. With Out of Control she continues her interesting, extremely well written & highly erotic (but never kinky) storytelling. It's highly unusual to find an author that writes erotica this well and still have an interesting, gripping story - you usually get one or the other. In my opinion, she's even better than Christine Feehan (whom I really enjoy) and leaves Linda Howard (who's been disappointing lately) in the dust.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    torrid investigative romantic thriller

    Cynical private investigator Davy McCloud was hurt by a woman he counted on so once burned he mistrusts all females who complicate life. That is until Margo Vetter begins instruction at the gym next door to his office. He wants her with his soul and is willing to ignore his brain telling him not to dive in. He even goes so far to do a background check and realizes she has mysterious secrets. --- When Margot fled the police targeting her as the prime suspect for a murder she has been framed for but didn¿t commit, she thought she hit rock bottom and her life could only look up. However, she quickly realizes that bottom is endless as now someone is stalking her leaving bloody body parts as presents. She needs help and Davy seems the right person at the right time, but she fears how she feels for him. Margot knows that first the stalker must be stopped; then she must clear her name; and finally she can pursue how her heart beats when Davy is near. Davy has his own list when it comes to Margot who has gotten inside his heart. --- Shannon McKenna¿s third torrid investigative romantic thriller is a fantastic suspense tale due to a wonderful lead couple and a vile villain who makes the story line work from the shadows. Davy is a reluctant champion who knows that if he intercedes to keep Margot safe he is a goner just like his two sleuthing pals before him (see BEHIND CLOSED DOORS AND STANDING IN THE SHADOWS). Margot wants her hero, but fears the troubles she brings to a relationship as her life is totally OUT OF CONTROL to the joy of Ms. McKenna¿s fans. --- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2005

    FABULOUS!!!

    This book is great. It has all the hot and steamy sex scenes you can come to expect from Shannon and all the suspense as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2005

    Love Those McCloud Men

    Shannon McKenna has written another heart thumbing, spine tingling story in Out Of Control. ___ PI. Davy McCloud has kept his life fairly simple and uncluttered. But Margo Vetter, the new exercise instructor, is distracting him. Davy realizes something is not right with Margot she is hiding something. ___ Margot has run away from a bad situation and is starting over. Now it appears she has a stalker. She turns to Davy for help. But Davy poses a danger all on his own. He could well capture her heart. ___ Davy and Margot join forces to ferret out the stalker. As the danger picks up its pace, so does the passion that develops. ___ Out Of Control hits you from page one and doesn¿t let go. Its griping story of suspense and pure evil will have you enthralled. Ms. McKenna writes sexual tension and passion like no other. It rocks your world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2