Customer Reviews for

Out of My League

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    I discovered the genius writing of Dirk Hayhurst last summer whi

    I discovered the genius writing of Dirk Hayhurst last summer while I was slaving away for an independent baseball team. I had always enjoyed baseball but had never read a book about it, despite being in sports management. I picked up "The Bullpen Gospels" from my library and read it in two days. I was hooked. When I heard "Out of My League" was coming out, I didn't think he'd be able to top his first book. He did.

    Hayhurst is incredibly open and honest throughout the book; it’s a breath of fresh air. As fans, we rarely get to hear about this side of professional athletes; we generally only hear about the success they have, not the day-to-day physical and mental struggles. He shares all of his experiences, all the ups and downs not just of trying to make it to the big leagues, but the ups and downs of his life. I laughed uncontrollably during his girlfriend Bonnie’s first encounter with Hayhurst’s senile grandma in one chapter, only to have my emotions do a complete 180-degree turn a couple chapters later when he took her to his parents’ house to meet with them for the first time as well, a visit that ended in disaster.

    The entire book is an emotional rollercoaster. You mentally cheer for Hayhurst when he succeeds and want to encourage him when he’s going through tough times. It’s so well-written, entertaining, and impossible to put down. When I finished the book, I was happy for Hayhurst’s success both professionally and personally, but I immediately wanted another book. Until the next one is released, I’ll just follow his journey on Twitter and his blog.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Great look into pro baseball

    Dirk Hayhurst follows up The Bullpen Gospels with an outstanding continuation in OOML. In this book, DH continues his rough ride thru the Padres system, but also has to deal with his family AND maintain his relationship with his new girlfriend Bonnie. He tells his story in a brutally honest way & we see him mature as both player and man as the season progresses. The awe he feels at finally being called up jumps out at you; i could see myself acting just like he does. As a baseball fan, I enjoyed reading about what MLB life is really like, including the Candy Bag and other forms of rookie hazing. I had many laughs reading the book & I look forward to a potential 3rd book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book could not put it down!

    Out of My League is hilarious, happy, sad and at most of all brutally honest. The job of a pitcher can't be easy. The pressure is constant as each time you take the mound you, your teammates, coaches and fans expect near perfection.
    Dirk Hayhurst provides a great description of the pressures of the job and the many ways to distract yourself while waiting to work. Having been a professional drummer most of my life I often heard the statement, "but you PLAY drums." I imagine most people don't understand the pressures, the hard work and the time put in to develop your skill to a top level. I can relate to the pressure and the silliness to relieve the pressure.
    All the while you work, life goes on around you and sometimes it's hard to remember what's important. Enjoy life and read this book!
    I can't wait for the next one to be published.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    There's more to life than a career

    An excellent read. Full of anecdotes from the club house to life off the field. Out of My League is a highly relatable memoir of a life spent pursuing one thing only to realize it might not be the dream the author thought it was. While the focus is on baseball, it's easy to see your life and career in similar circumstances. Why do I work so hard and what do I work for? What really matters when my career is over? You'll laugh, you'll cry and you'll wonder what the hell a garfoose is.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Bought this book immediately after reading Hayhursts first book

    Bought this book immediately after reading Hayhursts first book "The Bullpen Gospels", and found it to be even better than the first. This book continues on from where "Gospels" ends, following Hayhursts journey from the minor league system to (finally) the majors. As an avid baseball fan, and longtime minor league season ticket holder, I was somewhat aware of the competitive difficulty a player has in his trek to the major leagues...or I thought I was aware. After reading this book, I am now more acutely aware of how tough things are and what players go through. With the start of the baseball season only a couple of weeks away, I will go into the season with a new perspective on the game, and more respect for the players, especially at the AAA level.
    The book is at times touching and funny, and occasionally a little uncomfortable to read, especially when it focuses on Hayhursts family. It is a"must read" for all baseball fans. I hope Hayhurst has a third book on the way to start from where this one ends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Another great read

    After reading and enjoying Mr. Hayhurt's columns and his first book I was very anxious to read this one also. As always, blatantly honest, telling his story warts and all, it was a very fast read for me. I laughed out loud at a few parts, and really felt for his family at others. This book continues to show that the Baseball players that we tend to put on so high are flawed just like the rest of us. If you love Baseball or just love reading about people pressing on for success you will love this book. Go Garfoose!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Ffhf

    Gghfh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Funny

    A hillarious book a great read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    As a student of the human condition, I was delighted in my tee



    As a student of the human condition, I was delighted in my teens when I realized that my passion for baseball was nicely served by reading good baseball books. I have now read my favorite baseball story of the past ten or fifteen years. Perhaps, as time goes by, Out of My League may even own the top spot. What baseball pitcher/writer Dirk Hayhurst has produced hits you in the gut, tickles your funny bone, perhaps makes you cry, and causes you to wonder how mere human beings could have produced such a perfect game of inches as embodied by baseball.

    Oh… Some say football has eclipsed the diamond sport, but that is only true in the sense of mankind’s constant war on the enemies of life; football being a microcosm of any kind of life and death struggle.

    But baseball… That’s the hope of mankind. The embodiment of our better angels. A perfect stand-in for the hopes and dreams of any boy. In a lot cases, any girl--marry a ballplayer; play softball, be a devoted Little League mom. There is this special grip that baseball has on the American psyche.

    In Hayhurst’s book, against all odds, he finds his soulmate, Bonnie, on an Internet dating site. This could mean escaping the air mattress on the floor of his loony grandmother’s basement. This could help him to find a way to stabilize his dysfunctional parents’ life—if Bonnie, who soon becomes his fiancée has her way, Dirk will come to grips with that issue. But all of this hinges on finding a way to make “The Show.” The relentless pursuit of a lifelong dream! The burning drive to make it to the Bigs! This is the power of Dirk Hayhurst’s Out of My League. This book will stay with me until I’m delivered to the undertaker!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1