Customer Reviews for

Out of My Mind (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 5
( 1208 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1044)

4 Star

(106)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

174 out of 186 people found this review helpful.

Emotionally gripping

I was emotionally overwhelmed by Out of My Mind, a middle grade novel by Sharon Draper. This is the story of Melody, a 10 year old girl with Cerebral Palsy so severe that she can neither speak nor move independently. Trapped inside Melody's uncooperative body is a brill...
I was emotionally overwhelmed by Out of My Mind, a middle grade novel by Sharon Draper. This is the story of Melody, a 10 year old girl with Cerebral Palsy so severe that she can neither speak nor move independently. Trapped inside Melody's uncooperative body is a brilliant mind with a cutting wit. Melody is relegated to a classroom of special needs kids because she can't communicate & her teachers assume that she is also mentally handicapped. Her world suddenly opens up when she gets a computer with a voice program that allows her to speak. Unfortunately, the rest of the school is not ready to accept Melody. I cheered for Melody while I read this book as I sat at my kitchen table. The conversations she has with her parents and caregivers about being different are gut-wrenching. Melody knows exactly how she is perceived by other kids and adults, including teachers. The conversations between Melody's parents as they comtemplate the birth of their 2nd child moved me to tears. This is more than a book about a girl with special needs. It holds up a mirror for all of us to see how we react to people with disabilities that make us uncomfortable. I encourage everyone to read this.

posted by smaikens on October 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

I Highly Recomend This Book

This girl named Melody has a disease. She remembers every word anyone has ever said to or around her. She has never spoken a word in her life and she is eleven years old. She wants to talk so bad because she has a lot to say. She just can't get anything to come out.
...
This girl named Melody has a disease. She remembers every word anyone has ever said to or around her. She has never spoken a word in her life and she is eleven years old. She wants to talk so bad because she has a lot to say. She just can't get anything to come out.
She was in 5th grade and nobody thought she was smart or important. Then one day the nurse that helps her while she's at school finds this program on the internet that helps people with the same kind of disease as Melody. So her mom got her one of those computer type things that Melody's nurse found for her. The first thing that she said when she got it was "I love you" to her mom and dad. So now, at school she tried out for the academic team. No one thought she was going to do well on the test to try to make it on the team, but she ended up making the best grade out of the whole class. Everyone was shocked.
This book achieves a goal by telling a story about a girl who some people think are stupid just because she has a disease and she's in a wheelchair. It achieves this goal by Melody being one of the smartest kids in her school. She's in a wheelchair and she has a disease but she's still very smart, so that's how the book achieved this goal. They are proving that people with diseases and people that are in wheelchairs can be smarter than you think.
She ended up being on the Academic type team. She helped them out tremendously. They ended up going to finals. The finals were in Washington D.C. On the day of the competition, Melody and her family got up that morning and went to the airport and when they got there, they found out that all the flights had been cancelled. Her team mates had left her behind. They got on the last flight before all of them were cancelled and didn't call her and tell her that they were leaving.
This book is a very good book. It is sad but it is also life changing because it makes you look at people with diseases like this in a totally different way. You will think of them as being even more like you then you did before.

posted by GVSreading on October 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1210 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 61
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Emotionally gripping

    I was emotionally overwhelmed by Out of My Mind, a middle grade novel by Sharon Draper. This is the story of Melody, a 10 year old girl with Cerebral Palsy so severe that she can neither speak nor move independently. Trapped inside Melody's uncooperative body is a brilliant mind with a cutting wit. Melody is relegated to a classroom of special needs kids because she can't communicate & her teachers assume that she is also mentally handicapped. Her world suddenly opens up when she gets a computer with a voice program that allows her to speak. Unfortunately, the rest of the school is not ready to accept Melody. I cheered for Melody while I read this book as I sat at my kitchen table. The conversations she has with her parents and caregivers about being different are gut-wrenching. Melody knows exactly how she is perceived by other kids and adults, including teachers. The conversations between Melody's parents as they comtemplate the birth of their 2nd child moved me to tears. This is more than a book about a girl with special needs. It holds up a mirror for all of us to see how we react to people with disabilities that make us uncomfortable. I encourage everyone to read this.

    174 out of 186 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Great book

    This is an amazing and inspiring story of a girl overcoming a desise. It tells us that even though people might be diffrent they can do great things.

    98 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    Courtesy of Flamingnet.com Teen Book Reviews, Flamingnet.com Top Choice Book-really enjoyed reading

    Imagine having a photographic memory, imagine being
    extremely smart..... Well that's exactly how eleven year old
    Melody is except there is one problem, she can't talk or
    walk. Every day she goes to school to a special class for
    kids that have problems and every day they go over the
    alphabet. For her, though, she is past just learning the
    alphabet. Melody belongs in advanced classes but she has no
    way of letting anyone know that. Doctors and experts
    diagnosed her with cerebral palsy and insisted that she
    wasn't capable of learning. Little did they know she is
    destined to prove them wrong. With a little help from a
    friend and a lot of hope, Melody finds what she's been
    looking for all her life. She will prove to the world what
    she can accomplish.

    I've never read any of Sharon
    Draper's books before, but what caught my eye on this book
    was the cover. It is very interesting how the fish is
    jumping out of its bowl and it goes very well with the
    title. The characters were written very well and sometimes I
    found myself getting frustrated with some of Melody's
    problems. I started worrying if it would end okay. Even
    though it had some sad parts I really enjoyed reading Out of
    My Mind. I would recommend this for kids 11 and
    up.

    Reviewed by a young adult student reviewer
    Flamingnet Book Reviews
    Teen books reviewed by teen reviewers

    87 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Awesome book

    I WOULD GIVE THIS BOOK A BILLION STARS!!!!!!!

    81 out of 124 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    A must read

    I read the free sample and I loved it.It is about this girl that is disabled. It is sad but itis still good.

    54 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    This book touches my heart

    I read this book and it was so sweet but so sad.
    Its a really really really great book and it also just so interesting. I recommend it for readers of all ages.

    44 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Inspiring

    The best book ever. This a truly inspiring story. It shows that help from people who care about can help you accomplish anything you try to do.

    34 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Drr.mio says.......

    This book will make you cry, laugh, and will never let you put it down. A great read for 10 - 13 year olds, espesially girls.

    32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2010

    highly recommended

    i recommend this book to kids whom looking for boosters in young diasabled kids lives a great book for sportmenship

    32 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Yes

    This book is great its a sunshine state book!

    31 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Beautiful Story, Well Done.

    I was a little hesitant at first when I bought this book. Now I am glad that I didn't back out! This story is very touching and moving. Instead of being a sappy, sad story, it was encouraging and I was cheering Melody onward. What I also love about this book is that the author really gave a voice for those with cerebral palsy. There is a unique perspective, and I admit that I have felt guilty while reading this book on acting as one of those people who are 'scared' of people with her condition. There's no reason to feel awkward anymore, and I think it is a book that all young readers must read (perhaps as a classroom book) so they are open to discuss it with others and remember this story when it comes to meeting other people with 'odd' conditions and characteristics.

    22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Omg

    In this book melody is disabled and has so much to say. She is almost 11 i think and has never spoken a single word.everyone at school thinks she is so dumb. She finds a add for a special device and uses it to talk! The first thing she saud to her parents was i love you! She is super smart and gets to be on a special team i think. They get to compete agansit each other and her team wins!!!!! They win a trip i think and...... they leave without her. Her heart was crushed if you wanna kniw qhat happens you got to finish the book!

    20 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Anonymous

    One of the best books I have ever read. It is very relatable, the characters are very well developed, the story is absolutley fantastic and it is incredibly well written.

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Amazing

    I havent even finished the book but it is already amazing. To be placed in the shoes of a disabled student really changes my view on them. It is an amazing book and i'm sure all ages would love it. I had always thought they had it pretty easy but now reading this i can see they have pretty much the same problems as normal people. It is amazing and if i could i would tell everyone in the galaxy to read it. Congratulations Sharon M Draper!!

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    This story is about an 11 year old girl named Melody. She has Sp

    This story is about an 11 year old girl named Melody. She has Spastic
    Bilateral Quadriplegia, also known as Cerebral Palsy. She can't walk,
    talk, feed herself, or take herself to the bathroom. My teacher
    recommended it to me and said it was a really good book. I totally agree
    with her. This story is heartwarming and makes you appreciate it more
    that you can do what Melody can't. An exceptional book!!!!!

    15 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Soooooo good!

    Im in 6th grade and doesnt have a lot oof good senceof picking books. But when I read this book I instatly fell in love! This is NOT A WASTE OF YOU TIME AND MONEY!!!!!

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Epcotlover99

    This book will truely touch your heart. If you know someone
    who is disabled this book is for you. The world would be a better place if everyone reads this book. Literally.

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Wonderful book. A must read for teenagers!

    I loved this book. It was well-written and enjoyable. The perspective of the main character kept me looking at things from a different point of view.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Awesume

    A heartwarming story

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    This is so cool

    I love this book it is one of the best books I've ever read!!!

    12 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1210 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 61