Customer Reviews for

Out of My Mind

Average Rating 5
( 1219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1054)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

180 out of 193 people found this review helpful.

Emotionally gripping

I was emotionally overwhelmed by Out of My Mind, a middle grade novel by Sharon Draper. This is the story of Melody, a 10 year old girl with Cerebral Palsy so severe that she can neither speak nor move independently. Trapped inside Melody's uncooperative body is a brill...
I was emotionally overwhelmed by Out of My Mind, a middle grade novel by Sharon Draper. This is the story of Melody, a 10 year old girl with Cerebral Palsy so severe that she can neither speak nor move independently. Trapped inside Melody's uncooperative body is a brilliant mind with a cutting wit. Melody is relegated to a classroom of special needs kids because she can't communicate & her teachers assume that she is also mentally handicapped. Her world suddenly opens up when she gets a computer with a voice program that allows her to speak. Unfortunately, the rest of the school is not ready to accept Melody. I cheered for Melody while I read this book as I sat at my kitchen table. The conversations she has with her parents and caregivers about being different are gut-wrenching. Melody knows exactly how she is perceived by other kids and adults, including teachers. The conversations between Melody's parents as they comtemplate the birth of their 2nd child moved me to tears. This is more than a book about a girl with special needs. It holds up a mirror for all of us to see how we react to people with disabilities that make us uncomfortable. I encourage everyone to read this.

posted by smaikens on October 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

I Highly Recomend This Book

This girl named Melody has a disease. She remembers every word anyone has ever said to or around her. She has never spoken a word in her life and she is eleven years old. She wants to talk so bad because she has a lot to say. She just can't get anything to come out.
...
This girl named Melody has a disease. She remembers every word anyone has ever said to or around her. She has never spoken a word in her life and she is eleven years old. She wants to talk so bad because she has a lot to say. She just can't get anything to come out.
She was in 5th grade and nobody thought she was smart or important. Then one day the nurse that helps her while she's at school finds this program on the internet that helps people with the same kind of disease as Melody. So her mom got her one of those computer type things that Melody's nurse found for her. The first thing that she said when she got it was "I love you" to her mom and dad. So now, at school she tried out for the academic team. No one thought she was going to do well on the test to try to make it on the team, but she ended up making the best grade out of the whole class. Everyone was shocked.
This book achieves a goal by telling a story about a girl who some people think are stupid just because she has a disease and she's in a wheelchair. It achieves this goal by Melody being one of the smartest kids in her school. She's in a wheelchair and she has a disease but she's still very smart, so that's how the book achieved this goal. They are proving that people with diseases and people that are in wheelchairs can be smarter than you think.
She ended up being on the Academic type team. She helped them out tremendously. They ended up going to finals. The finals were in Washington D.C. On the day of the competition, Melody and her family got up that morning and went to the airport and when they got there, they found out that all the flights had been cancelled. Her team mates had left her behind. They got on the last flight before all of them were cancelled and didn't call her and tell her that they were leaving.
This book is a very good book. It is sad but it is also life changing because it makes you look at people with diseases like this in a totally different way. You will think of them as being even more like you then you did before.

posted by GVSreading on October 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Epcotlover99

    This book will truely touch your heart. If you know someone
    who is disabled this book is for you. The world would be a better place if everyone reads this book. Literally.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    A quick read that will not quickly leave your thoughts

    This book will touch your heart and mind deeply and forever make you pause when judging "a book by it's cover". For young adults and children alike it is food for thought and self inquiry.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Awesome

    Very good book, loved it, always will.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Helps Understand Situation of Less Fourtunate

    This book was an amazing expierience for me and all who have read it. You can find no better way than to read this book to learn how to symithise with others. Unfortunatly it has a sad part, but don't all books have one? The story of how Melody gains the respect as another human being despite her physical apperience makes Draper on the top of my list in the writers category. Amazingly written and beautifuly laid out.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Begdt Best Best book ever

    Its a very touching story and it has a nice flow to it and if you liked wonder than this is the book for you

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    READ THIS!!!! maybe spoiler alert

    Okay so, this book is amazing, don't get me wrong. But unless you can handle disappointment and people getting hurt, don't read this. The part that traumatized me most was when little sister Polly gets run over by a car. Thats the only spoiler.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    The book Out Of My MInd is a story of a 10 year old girl named M

    The book Out Of My MInd is a story of a 10 year old girl named Melody.  She goes through every day struggles just like us except on top of that she has Cerebral Palsy.  She can neither speak or walk.  Her teachers assume she is dumb and can't understand much but it turns out Melody is very smart but she just can't express it to others since she can not talk.  This Book send out an awesome message and I think all Middle schoolers should read it because it honestly did change my mind on how great I should be.  Will Melody overcome her disease or will she be stuck in her body with no one understanding her, her whole life?  Read this book to find out!! It is amazing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Before reading this story, I knew kids with cerebral palsy get w

    Before reading this story, I knew
    kids with cerebral palsy get worse and worse as they get older, but you can't do anything about it. This
    story is about
    Melody a girl with cerebral palsy who knows she is smart, but no one else knows. After reading this story, I thought that I liked how Melody acted and stood up for her self. I would recommend this book to people who don't know much about kids with cerebral palsy should read this book, because you will learn about their life style. (Avery)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Really cool book

    It was really cool the only thing is that's it's a lot of money

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Good

    This book is pretty good but not the best - my friend cried when she read it

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Awesome

    This story was so heart warming and you just want to keep reading it. The ending was not what i expected, but still very good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Book

    Great book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Breathtaking

    This book is amazing. One of my favorite books so far. Make sure you get this book. You won't believe what happens...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Mmmmeeeeee

    I am read it last chapter soo goood so far

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    This is what i think about the book

    I think this book was amazing it was so good i couldnt put iy down this book will inspier soo many people i recomend this book to 8-18 years old

    This book will touch your heart forever

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Brooke

    This book has a very strong ending, and it is just good. It is my favorite book, Melody's little sis, Penny is soooo cute!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Moving!

    This book brought me to tears. I am an educator, and work with kids with disabilities all the time. I tried to put this book down for tonight to go to sleep at a decent hour, but am just now finishing at 12:45 am. I just had to finish it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Awesome

    I read this book last year durning fifth grade it was a great read. The only thing i didnt like about it is that it has some medical word it that you may no know so i had to ask my mother what the words mean becuse she works in the medical field. But other than that it was a good read i recemend it. Sorry about my spelling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Out of my mind

    OMG!!!!!!! It's sad and funny at the same time!!!!! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    I read this book in 6th grade and loved it. I loved the fact tha

    I read this book in 6th grade and loved it. I loved the fact that you could understand the way she felt when ever you couldn't do something that someone else could do. Over all it was good but dragged at times

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6