Customer Reviews for

Out of Order: Stories from the History of the Supreme Court

Average Rating 3.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I found this book easy to read and the author does a great job o

I found this book easy to read and the author does a great job of illuminating details of a court we seldom see the interior workings.
Counter to the above 1 star review, I wasn't able to descern a political bent to any of the chapters or stories - simply well-researche...
I found this book easy to read and the author does a great job of illuminating details of a court we seldom see the interior workings.
Counter to the above 1 star review, I wasn't able to descern a political bent to any of the chapters or stories - simply well-researched and excellent prose telling insightful chapters in our greatest courts history.
Well worth the time of any casual court buff.

posted by Lebo on March 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

Here is what was out of order

O'connor will forever be known as one of the justices who perverted elections and overthrew democracy in the repulsive Bush v Gore decision in 2000. That decision was so bad the stupid justices who voted for it said it could not be used as precedent. Yet she is complete...
O'connor will forever be known as one of the justices who perverted elections and overthrew democracy in the repulsive Bush v Gore decision in 2000. That decision was so bad the stupid justices who voted for it said it could not be used as precedent. Yet she is completely unapologetic for that terrible decision that almost destroyed this country. A shallow, awful book from a shallow, awful woman.

posted by Bijou1313 on March 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Here is what was out of order

    O'connor will forever be known as one of the justices who perverted elections and overthrew democracy in the repulsive Bush v Gore decision in 2000. That decision was so bad the stupid justices who voted for it said it could not be used as precedent. Yet she is completely unapologetic for that terrible decision that almost destroyed this country. A shallow, awful book from a shallow, awful woman.

    6 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    I found this book easy to read and the author does a great job o

    I found this book easy to read and the author does a great job of illuminating details of a court we seldom see the interior workings.
    Counter to the above 1 star review, I wasn't able to descern a political bent to any of the chapters or stories - simply well-researched and excellent prose telling insightful chapters in our greatest courts history.
    Well worth the time of any casual court buff.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Just wondering who if anyone proofread or edited this book.  She

    Just wondering who if anyone proofread or edited this book.  She has Franklin D. Roosevelt succeeding Calvin Coolidge and the last time I checked he succeeded Herbert Hoover.  Not good..

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Interesting but repetitive

    This book tells some very interesting stories about the Supreme Court and the men - and now women - who have sat on it, including the author. However, it is repetitive and could have benefitted from better editing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great for History Fans There¿s no argument that the Supreme Cou

    Great for History Fans

    There’s no argument that the Supreme Court is a vital American institution. It serves as the third branch of government and keeps the others in check. But for the most part, it is pretty boring. Most people don’t pay much attention to the goings-on of the Court unless they are hearing arguments about a major social policy, such as gay marriage or abortion. I admit, I’m one of these people. Even though I love the law and politics and public policy, I don’t follow the Supreme Court as diligently as I should. But that may change now that I’ve read Sandra Day O’Connor’s book about her experiences on the bench.




    The first female Supreme Court Justice, O’Connor served for 25 years. But unlike most ‘memoirs’ this one is less about O’Connor than about the history of the Supreme Court. When I first started reading, I was expecting her life story – her upbringing, the obstacles she overcame, and her thoughts about her life – so I was a caught off guard when it read more like a history book. But once I readjusted my frame of mind, I loved it.




    ¿¿From the early days to the current system we have in place, O’Connor gives the reader a broad overview of how the Supreme Court arrived at its current destination. She talks about some of the most important justices (beloved like Holmes and hated like McReynolds, whose funeral was not attended by any Justices because he was so horribly racist). She also discusses, at length, the early practice of circuit-riding, when Supreme Court Justices traveled the country to preside over the lower courts (something that maybe some of the current Justices should do in an effort to see all sides of society…)




    Filled with fun facts and personal anecdotes, Out of Order is a pleasant and informative read. I recommend it for anyone who has a slight interest in the courts or our government because, despite its history lessons, it’s written informally and is much more enjoyable. I will definitely be whipping out some of these fun facts over the next few years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Worth reading.

    This is a well written summary of the purpose, history, & changes to the supreme court since it's inception to it's current operation. Bonus inclusion of both The Declaration of Independence & The Constitution of the United States makes for a well rounded read of our country's history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Dry

    I bought this book as a gift and the recipient told me that he found it to be dry reading, not entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    highly recommended

    very interesting, well written and very authoritative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    A remarkable story that all should read.

    Sandra Day O'Connor has written one of the best books about the Supreme Court I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fan of Sandra

    Enjoyable but not very scholarly review of Supreme Court role in American history. Some interesting tidbits about what goes on behind the scenes at the court. A good book for young people interested in the court and the first woman justice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Interesting and entertaining

    This book is large on history, traditions and practices on the US Supreme Court. It is well written and fun. However, it does not reveal any truly juicy insider gossip, nor is it is a substantive treatise on the court or any of its decisions. It wasn't meant to be. It is at times a trifle repetitive, but still an entertaining read nonetheless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Recommended

    I personally have always like Judge O'Connor, so my praise for her book may be colored, but I thought it was just great, and would recommend to anyone who wants to know some of the background to the Supreme Court. I learned a great deal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Must read,highly recommended

    This book is a must read.The author is a highly respected jurist and a talented writer.She shows
    A great incite to the court and it's inter workings.I'm looking forward to her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    This was a nice read about the Supreme Court without going into

    This was a nice read about the Supreme Court without going into lots of dry detail. Justice O'Connor reveals lots of interesting insights into the early days of the Court, when it was essentially a traveling circuit court, to today's more formal setting. It was enjoyable, and a quick read. One small error, on the Justice's part, however: When discussing 20th century court appointees, she mentioned that "Roosevelt followed Coolidge." As bad as he was, as President, we did have Herbert Hoover inbetween Calvin and FDR. Good book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2