Customer Reviews for

Out of Oz (Wicked Years Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

great

I am a fan of this series and wasn't disappointed with the fourth book. Great read!

posted by vickytren on November 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good, but dense.

A nice way to end the series after a horrible 3rd book. Text is dense and sometimes hard to follow, but gives the fans what they've been wanting.

posted by HexiJosh on December 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I am a fan of this series and wasn't disappointed with the fourth book. Great read!

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a great finish to a strong saga

    Oz Emperor Shell Thropp, brother to the late Wicked Witch of the West Elphaba, sends his Oz army to put down the rebellious break away in Munchkinland. To insure no bewitching interference, General Cherrystone arrests former Throne Minister Glinda. However, while he keeps Glinda incarcerated in her house, the General finds the good witch's broom girl Rain fascinating and begins to teach the child to read. He fails to recognize that his student is the granddaughter of Elphaba and the only person breathing who can comprehend the Grimmerie magical lore tome.

    A performing troupe gives the Grimmerie to Glinda for safekeeping. She has her friend Brrr the Cowardly Lion escort Rain on an identity quest. However, Glinda remains concerned over the well-being of the people of Oz as Dorothy of Kansas is back and everyone knows the singing and dancing Cornhusker irritant is a trouble magnet.

    The final "Wicked Years" Oz fantasy (see Wicked, Son of a Witch and A Lion Among Men) is a great finish to a strong saga as spin maestro Gregory Maguire deftly twists L. Frank Baum's classic novels in brilliant unexpected but logical extrapolations. The story line is fast-paced, but it is the deep look at the cast that makes the tale work; for instance everyone knows ultra optimist Dorothy is a plague with every rosy colored step she takes disaster walks with her. Readers will relish this saga as Mr. Maguire exposes the rest of the story.

    Harriet Klausner

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Very excited for this to come out!

    I have read Wicked & Son of a Witch recently and I absolutely loves them! A few days ago I got Lion Among Men, which I am very excited to start reading. I am sure that I will thoroughly enjoy the 3rd book, and this one.

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Fitting end to the series but...

    I enjoyed this installment but the ending of this book felt a little rushed. I recommend the series to everyone, though.

    I hope the teaser in this book means that this reallty isn't the end of our journey through Oz. C'mon, Gregory! Surely there are some Oz character backstories in you. How about a set of prequels taking place before the Wizard's reign?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Always lovely to go over the rainbow to Maguire's Oz

    Maguire has written his best book since Wicked! Reading Out of Oz is like revisiting old friends and catching up on all the news. Glinda, Liir, Brrr, Candle, the maunts, dragons and soldiers--all are here and as wonderful and distinct as we remember them. It was sheer pleasure travelling with these characters through Oz, even though Oz is changed--in the middle of a civil war and near-martial law. If you loved Wicked, Out of Oz will not disappoint.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    I Can't Wait!!!

    I LOVED Wicked. Son of a Witch and A Lion Among Men were both good, but in some parts it dragged a little.

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    LOVE THIS SERIES

    I have read all three books so far and cant wait for this one to come out. I was so dissapointed that i have to wait. I love how the author has taken a story you thought you knew and given it more life. Cant wait!

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Good, but dense.

    A nice way to end the series after a horrible 3rd book. Text is dense and sometimes hard to follow, but gives the fans what they've been wanting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    LOVED, LOVED Wicked!! I read all of the series and was excited

    LOVED, LOVED Wicked!! I read all of the series and was excited to read the end. Very disappointing. Story dragged, and the new characters didn't come to life as in the other books. Good ending, but the book really could have been written about 150 pages rather than 500. In my opinion, it was a waste of my money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Not for Nook

    Unless you have a more sophisticated Nook, you should get this as a book that has at least one map so that you can mark the journey. I love this series, but I had a hard time keeping straight where they were.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    2.5 Stars

    I read this because of the first of Maguire's, Wicked series. The first novel of the series was outstanding. This was due to the many strong characters as reimagined by Gregory Maguire.
    None of them, only Glinda and Brr, are in this novel. I was unable to care about the newer characters or to be interested in the plot. This is despite having read L Frank Baum's original Oz book.

    This book is not a stand alone. It helps to read the first three books before this one.

    As for the ending, it was more of a ...meh.

    Gregory Maguird's Wicked, Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister, and Mirror Mirror are his top 3 works imho.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Hope there is another!

    Loved the mix of characters I just hope Rain has a story that continues!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2014

    This book took me on a ride, that's for sure. The reason for th

    This book took me on a ride, that's for sure. The reason for the 3 star rating (which is low for me) is the fact that the book itself seemed to drag through long stretches of it. I would find myself enthralled with a part of the book, only to be disappointed with a sense of too much detail, or a storyline that didn't seem to make sense. I do have to say that more made sense when I finally reached the end and I'm not entirely sure if it could have been told better or not. I also felt a sense of disappointment at the end, of questions left unanswered and a sort of let down at the paths the characters chose to take. I wish we'd learned more of what transpired with Rain and Tip after it all. I wish we'd learned who visited Glinda though I think we can call make a pretty good guess, it would have been nice to have confirmation. I'd like to have known if Ozma ever took over the ruling of Oz and if Dorothy made it home alright. All that being said, I did end up enjoying the book far more than I thought I would at the onset.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Perfect Final book

    I love this book it really finishes out the WICKED YEARS series perfectly. Maguire ties up many loose ends and fills in the blanks from the the previous books masterfully. Finally we know what became of Liir, Candle, the Loin, Nanny, Nor, even Miss Gale herself makes a grand appearance. I highly recommend this book, but only after you have invested the time in the other three previous to it otherwise you will be very lost. I am sad the story is over to tell you the truth..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Fantastic Series!!!

    When I finished Out of Oz, I was disappointed that the fantasy had ended. I have so much admiration for Gregory Maguire's keen mind and imagination! I loved the detail in development, whether it be character, situational or environment. This is a series that I will read more than once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Good ending

    Enjoyed reading this and vlosing the story out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    A little disappointed...

    Can't say that I loved this book as much as I ADORED the original, but it was acceptable. Without giving away too much, I was disappointed with the ending, it WENT NOWHERE. I finished the book quickly, anticipating so much more. A re-read may be in order.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2013

    More than highly recommended!

    I love this series--this book--the stage production of "Wicked"--the characters, the story(ies), Gregory Maguire's brilliance...I haven't finished Out of Oz yet (book #4/final in series), so I remain optimistic about what is to come. I love that Lion, (Ilia)Nor, and Rain develop a family connection...READ THE BOOK. READ THE SERIES, and be sure to understand beforehand that the story gets "darker" as you move deeper into the bigger story (much like the Hunger Games series and the Harry Potter series). Altogether, these collections could teach as well as entertain, if only we would let them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    Great conclusion to the series

    This was a great conclusion to the Wicked series. Wrapped up a lot of loose ends from the other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    not as good as the first 2 in the sires but better than the 3rd

    not as good as the first 2 in the sires but better than the 3rd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6