Customer Reviews for

The Out-of-Sync Child

Average Rating 3.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This book has become my roadmap to understanding my child!

This book opened the door to my understanding of Sensory Processing Disorder and has given me the tools to understand and advocate for my own sensory sensitive child. I have bought copies for other family members as well. I now understand the basic underlying reasons ...
This book opened the door to my understanding of Sensory Processing Disorder and has given me the tools to understand and advocate for my own sensory sensitive child. I have bought copies for other family members as well. I now understand the basic underlying reasons why my child reacts to certain situations the way that she does, and have gained tremmendous patience with this new understanding and have taught others to understand her triggers and needs better. It has made for better family dinners and play dates overall. We still have a way to go, but we are making progress.

posted by Anonymous on August 27, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Read 'Raising a Sensory Smart Child' instead

This book may be useful for families with older children with SPD but for those of us with infants, toddlers, or pre-schoolers with the disorder 'Raising a Sensory Smart Child' is a lot more meaningful and a much easier read.

posted by Anonymous on May 26, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2006

    This book has become my roadmap to understanding my child!

    This book opened the door to my understanding of Sensory Processing Disorder and has given me the tools to understand and advocate for my own sensory sensitive child. I have bought copies for other family members as well. I now understand the basic underlying reasons why my child reacts to certain situations the way that she does, and have gained tremmendous patience with this new understanding and have taught others to understand her triggers and needs better. It has made for better family dinners and play dates overall. We still have a way to go, but we are making progress.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    Good overall information

    If you are looking for a broad overview of sensory processing, this is a great book to start with.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2005

    It works!

    This book is very benificial and eye opening. I could see my child through out it. Not only does it show what is happening with your child and why but how to help your child with it. We have tried several techniques to help our son's sensory issues. The best has been the downward brushing with a soft brush. It calms my Aspergers Teen instantly. Our Autisim teacher also told us about this. We bought a soft brush at walgreens (.69 cents). I went back and bought one for all of the vehicles and my purse and for his own sensory kit. This book has helped our family a lot!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2001

    Excellent for confused parents and teachers!!

    I am so thankful for this book. It helped me realize I am not a terrible parent, and my son is not a terrible child. It answers questions simply, gives lots of examples and comparisons, and should be in the hands of every teacher of young children!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2001

    Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!!!

    What a wonderful resouce for parents of a child that they just don't really understand. It is very helpful to know that you are not alone and you are not crazy!! This has helped me become more prepared to help my daughter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2000

    Outstanding Book!!!!

    This book helped so much in understanding my son. He had frequent temper tantrums, avoided eye contact, and had speech and developmental delays.Every parent, teacher, and caregiver should read this, chances are you know a child that will fit this criteria.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Understanding

    The book gave me a chance to underdtand what was going on with my son. It allowed me think of questions to ask the OT and doctors. Love it and recommend highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2003

    outstanding resource

    This wonderful book provides a wealth of valuable information and guidance on a little-known, misunderstood disorder that can cause major difficulties in a child's life. I strongly recommend it to parents who know or suspect that their child might have SI Disorder, alone or with other disorder(s). --Sheryl Gurrentz, author of 'If Your Child is Bipolar'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2003

    Amazing Book

    This book was terrific! It was insightful, well write and a great help. As a parent of a child with SI Dysfunction I read this book when my daughter was first diagnosed. It brought things into perspective for me, answered many questions and gave me suggestions on things to do to help my child. I highly recommend this book for parents that have kids with any sensory issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2002

    Thank You

    I am so thankful for have found this book. My son has speech delay, avoids eye contact, bites, etc. This book has helped me understand him. It made me learn I am not a bad mother. All teachers should read this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2000

    Very Helpful To Parents and Teachers

    This wonderful book helps in seeing things from a different angle other than just ADD or ADHD. It has changed our life in helping us to get the much needed understanding of our child. Whom many say was ADHD. But he still didn't fit in the full ADHD area.. This was indeed a blessing. I am so thankful for this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2