Customer Reviews for

Out of Time: A Time Travel Mystery (Out of Time #1)

Average Rating 4
( 138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Excellent story!

The description of Out of Time caught my attention, and so I downloaded the sample to my ereader. I knew within the first couple of "pages" that I'd have to read the entire book. The characters are likable and realistic, yet still "larger than life." The plot is captiva...
The description of Out of Time caught my attention, and so I downloaded the sample to my ereader. I knew within the first couple of "pages" that I'd have to read the entire book. The characters are likable and realistic, yet still "larger than life." The plot is captivating and unpredictable. But there's more to this book than romance; it has mystery and danger and vampires. And it has romance! I don't normally gush about books. Out of Time is gush-worthy! It's extraordinarily well-written in every way. I love this book and highly recommend it!

posted by KC_May on November 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Too romance-y

Couldnt get into it

posted by bookwormiest on November 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Avid Reader

    While this wasn't quite what I expected, I was pleased with what I got...a well-written, and engrossing, story. No discernable plot-line holes, and no pseudo-cliffhanger ending that leaves you with unanswered questions. A full length book for free - an excellent deal.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    I really enjoyed. Would have given it a 5 if not for wanting to

    I really enjoyed. Would have given it a 5 if not for wanting to slap Elizabeth every now and then. I love the writing and the plot and the last page left me wanting more, I am now a third of the way through book 3 in just over a week. Quick, easy reads.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Great story and worth the read - Enjoy!!

    This is a time travel romance, with several interesting twists and turns. Good plot, good premise, and very well-written. Anyone interested in the New York 1920s would enjoy the gritty, up close look at life back then. I would recommend this book for women more than for men, although some men might also enjoy it. I thoroughly enjoyed it and wished the story could have continued. It was well worth reading, and it kept this very picky reader quite entertained. I'll look for more from this author - I believe the series continues.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    699 pages, found the beginning a bit long

    Not really like the girl character

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Highly recommended - couldn't put it down!

    This was a perfect blend of paranormal romance and sci-fi. If you like either of those genres, you'll love this book. I absolutely loved the 3rd person POV writing style. It gives the reader quite a bit more information than they normally would have had. The plot is well thought out, intriguing and will keep you on your toes 'til the very end. I can say, in all honestly, that I lost some sleep from not being able to put this down. I loved the pseudo father figure that was Charlie. He was my favorite character. After purchasing 3 books since buying my Nook a week ago, this one was my favorite. My only complaint, is that the romance could have been a bit deeper. I found myself unable to 'feel' the love that the two main characters shared. But all in all, it was believable. If you like time travel and anything to do with the paranormal, you'll love this book and I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    Time Travel, Romance, and Vampires

    Overall I liked this book. I thought the premise was interesting and appreciated how the author used ideas of both science fiction and fantasy. The author also focused on the developing romantic relationship between the two main characters, which was okay. Personally I prefer very little romance in the books I read but in this novel, the romance served the story well and was not the only source of conflict.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Good read

    Would recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    interesting story. liked the time travel idea and characters

    interesting story. liked the time travel idea and characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    The subject matter is somewhat unusual, but if you like science fiction very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2014

    Good read

    Enjoyable story but a bit predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    I am not a fan of the vampire, zombie genre we are now living in

    I am not a fan of the vampire, zombie genre we are now living in, that said this book was an enjoyable read. Not my normal genre but was suggested this book by a relative for the time travel aspect. Was well written and did grab your attention early and kept it through out the story. Even though not the type of books I normally read will it did interest me enough to look for and read the second book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Good fun read

    Read this book in one sitting. Found it entertaining and fun. I am not much of a romance or mystery reader so the fact that I enjoyed a book outside my preferred genre speaks for itself. I Would recommend this book to friends who enjoy mystery and romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Intriguing, romantic, sexy, realism & fantasy well mixed.

    After reading this I couldn't wait to get to the sequel. I'm not a vampire fan but this wasn't overdone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Nice time travel story

    I liked the time travel twist to the romantic story line. A worthwhile entertaining read. Not sure about character development for motivation and it was easy to guess how it was going to go. King turned out to be the most interesting one though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    good book

    good characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Pretty good - unexpected

    Too much sex. unexpected twists in plot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Recommend this to anyone enjoying time travel stories.

    This book was interesting in that the author combined several elements of fiction to complete the story. It was an enjoyable read and had a few twists to keep you hooked. I especially liked how the ending wrapped around to information given earlier in the story and was neatly tied up. It was an easy read but one I looked forward to each day. I would recommend this book to anyone enjoying stories of time travel. Based on this book I would read other things by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    JVB

    Good book. Enjoyable story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    L

    Surprisingly good story. A little slow at first but captivating once the time travel started. Never knew what to expect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Entertaining & creative Decent storyline

    Engaging Visceral Great diversion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3