Customer Reviews for

Out of the Dark

Average Rating 3.5
( 240 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Faster than the speed of light or an Honor Harrington military science fiction

Having learned of the existence of hostile humans, The Galactic Hegemony Empire is coming to conquer and colonize Earth. An advanced scouting team witnessed the massacre at Agincourt when King Henry V and his English Army used the longbow to slaughter the French. The ...
Having learned of the existence of hostile humans, The Galactic Hegemony Empire is coming to conquer and colonize Earth. An advanced scouting team witnessed the massacre at Agincourt when King Henry V and his English Army used the longbow to slaughter the French. The Hegemony scout leadership concludes the bloody barbarians are a bunch of "lunatic local sentients". Earthlings are so bellicose they make the bloody Shongairi warriors look docile and thus deserve extinction.

The Hegemony sends their Shongairi warriors to conquer Earth. The military invaders are stunned by the resistance to their assaults. Even more shocking to those who have defeated forces throughout the galaxy is something out of horror novels rises from the grave to unite with the native humans in a counter insurgency.

Faster than the speed of light or an Honor Harrington military science fiction, Out of the Dark is an action-packed thriller that fans of David Weber will enjoy. Over the top of Olympus Mons and with a resistance theme that has been used in many books and movies (for instance, The Puppet Masters), the novel is refreshed with an element from the horror genre. Mr. Weber provides an entertaining tale that requires seat belts with the speed of acceleration from start to finish.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on September 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Rather unoriginal, all told.

I was rather excited about this book if for no other reason than it was stand-alone rather than yet another lengthy series.

The first 7/8ths were typical Weber. Cutting between a number of characters, lots of military hardware detail, etc. Nothing we haven't seen f...
I was rather excited about this book if for no other reason than it was stand-alone rather than yet another lengthy series.

The first 7/8ths were typical Weber. Cutting between a number of characters, lots of military hardware detail, etc. Nothing we haven't seen from him before, but well done.

(One bit of advice the author & the typesetter--if you're going to switch view points every paragraph or two for several pages, the heavy all-caps used to start each section gets distracting. Go third omniscient or reduce the typographical excess.)

But the more it went on, the more I realized it was going to have to pull out a very sudden ending--there simply wasn't space left for anything else.

Since I didn't read the whole book description ahead of time, I was honestly surprised by the vampire angle. And that's the biggest problem. If there was any foreshadowing of anything supernatural, I missed it. My reaction was: "Vampires? Really, Mr Weber? You too? Really?" He could have swapped in fairies or elves and barely changed anything.

Could have been worse, I guess. Could have been zombies. Or that might have been better.

Long review short: War of Worlds, but super-vampires instead of microbes for the deus ex machina. That is all.

posted by JimmXn on November 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 241 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    Rather unoriginal, all told.

    I was rather excited about this book if for no other reason than it was stand-alone rather than yet another lengthy series.

    The first 7/8ths were typical Weber. Cutting between a number of characters, lots of military hardware detail, etc. Nothing we haven't seen from him before, but well done.

    (One bit of advice the author & the typesetter--if you're going to switch view points every paragraph or two for several pages, the heavy all-caps used to start each section gets distracting. Go third omniscient or reduce the typographical excess.)

    But the more it went on, the more I realized it was going to have to pull out a very sudden ending--there simply wasn't space left for anything else.

    Since I didn't read the whole book description ahead of time, I was honestly surprised by the vampire angle. And that's the biggest problem. If there was any foreshadowing of anything supernatural, I missed it. My reaction was: "Vampires? Really, Mr Weber? You too? Really?" He could have swapped in fairies or elves and barely changed anything.

    Could have been worse, I guess. Could have been zombies. Or that might have been better.

    Long review short: War of Worlds, but super-vampires instead of microbes for the deus ex machina. That is all.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    Unless you're a die hard fan. . .

    Let me start out saying that I enjoy reading *most* of David Weber's material; especially in collaboration with Eric Flint, but this entire novel just felt off. Character development was rushed, and the plot just seemed weak. Throwing in the "twist" in the last bit of the book was horrible. No real development of the aliens outside of comparing them to dogs and illustrating the stagnant monopoly of their "hegemony", no real hint of what was going on etc., If this was marketed as a comedy I might have been less disappointed, but as it goes I'm inclined to believe what one of the other reviewers stated, that this was an old half finished manuscript that someone tried to make a buck on by tossing in the current hot topic. I expect better Mr. agent/publisher/author. You owe me my wasted time and effort that went into reading this; as well as my crushed expectations of "it must get better soon. . ."

    The only saving grace is that it's an eBook, so I don't have the guilt of a plant dying for it. I may check the second book in the trilogy just see if it finally does get better, but it'll be standing infront of the new fiction section at B&N or the sample for the nook.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Faster than the speed of light or an Honor Harrington military science fiction

    Having learned of the existence of hostile humans, The Galactic Hegemony Empire is coming to conquer and colonize Earth. An advanced scouting team witnessed the massacre at Agincourt when King Henry V and his English Army used the longbow to slaughter the French. The Hegemony scout leadership concludes the bloody barbarians are a bunch of "lunatic local sentients". Earthlings are so bellicose they make the bloody Shongairi warriors look docile and thus deserve extinction.

    The Hegemony sends their Shongairi warriors to conquer Earth. The military invaders are stunned by the resistance to their assaults. Even more shocking to those who have defeated forces throughout the galaxy is something out of horror novels rises from the grave to unite with the native humans in a counter insurgency.

    Faster than the speed of light or an Honor Harrington military science fiction, Out of the Dark is an action-packed thriller that fans of David Weber will enjoy. Over the top of Olympus Mons and with a resistance theme that has been used in many books and movies (for instance, The Puppet Masters), the novel is refreshed with an element from the horror genre. Mr. Weber provides an entertaining tale that requires seat belts with the speed of acceleration from start to finish.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    A complete slog

    If this book had been about 125-150 pages, it would have been an awesome story. But weighing in at 400 pages, it was a disaster. The story hook was so late in coming (in the last 50 pages), that it completely missed the mark.

    On prime display were Weber's politics, which did nothing for the story but tint it as a redneck revenge fantasy. Combine that with flaws in the story and logic (seriously, how can you go on for whole sections about cyberwar and never mention either Seattle or Silicon Valley???).

    Also on display was Weber's encyclopedic knowledge of all things military. Unfortuneately, in an attempt to bulk out the page count, came off like reading the encyclopedia.

    I had to force myself to slog through to the end. Very, very disappointing.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    REALLY!?

    Let me first say that I have always been a big fan of David Weber since I first read On Basilisk Station about fifteen years ago. However, this is quite simply the dumbest book he has ever written. All I can think is that someone from Tor told him he had to write something about vampires for thats the only way this should ever have been written. The plot is undeveloped, the characters are caricatures and the enemy is too studid to have made to earth in the first place. Mr Weber your fans expect better!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    DON'T BOTHER

    I picked up this book and based the flap thought this could be a good read. Fooled again!! Endless diaglogue with little substance, boring, not a page turner in the least. Premise seemed interesting, and ending was a pathetic attempt to salvage a worthless waste of paper. If you go to a restuarant and get a bad meal you can send it back, I can't send this one back so this is my answer. I know vampires are the rage, fantasy reigns supreme when imagination fails the writer, but to waste all the time spend reading this melange, shows the pathetic nature of the writer who cannot come up with a realistic ending. Send this back to the kitchen, and put in the disposal. BAD!!
    with a capital "B".

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    The ending ruined it

    I would have to say that i am a big david weber fan. I started with the Honor Harrington books and went on to the safehold series and i loved ever single one of them. Thats why i bought this book. I knew it would be a great read. That is until i got to the end, like many other reviewers have said it seems like the author just gave up. To be perfectly honest it seems like david weber wrote 95% of the book and some teen vampire novelist slapped a quick ending on the end. Do yourself a big favor and read any david weber book, just not this one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Betrayed!

    I should have read the reviews more carefully. It seemed like he got stuck in the plot and just slaped a poorly developed pop culture plot device to "resolve" the end. Not only was I disgusted with the way he fimished the book, I was disappponted that the plot was unfinished.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Gack!

    Deus ex machina is not a valid modern plot mechanism. It just annoys fans.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    Highly Recommended, but Avoid Spoilers at all costs!

    First, If you want to enjoy this book, do NOT read any of the other reviews as they all seem to give away the best parts. It WILL ruin the book for you. If you can avoid any spoilers, the ending will absolutely blow you away :) If you have ever enjoyed anything else Weber has written, then have a little faith in his ability as a author and Enjoy!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    Really David? Vampires? Really?

    Really David? Vampires? Really?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Le f**k did I just read?

    This book makes little to no sense. The beginning and middle are strong, excellent descriptions of events and character's that the reader can bond with. Then Mr. Weber throws in freaking vampires and spoils the ending. Come on, the only thing worse would have been for one of the main characters to wake up and realise the whole thing was a dream. But ending aside, it is worth reading just for the beginning and middle sections.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    95% of the book is 5 star, the last 5% is -4 stars however.

    I actually read this quite a while ago (got it in hardcover when it first came out), but it made such an impact that when I noticed it while browsing around today I decided I needed to write a review. David Weber is a great author, I've read a bunch of his stuff and I'm currently anxiously awaiting the next book in the Safehold series, which is why I was so incredibly disappointed with this book. It had the makings of an excellent story, or even an excellent series, and all the way up till the last 4 or 5 chapters it certainly was. Unfortunately I can't help but feel like David Weber wrote himself into a corner, came up against a deadline, and decided to cash in on current fads with one of the worst deus ex machina endings I've ever seen. *spoilers from here on* The book sells itself as sci-fi of a particularly military bent. Aliens attack, and humanity fights back or a least what's left of humanity. Fine, sounds great, sign me up. But... at the very end, with things looking impossible and me anxiously awaiting to find out how the hero's are going to pull it off... vampires... freaking vampires... seriously. Not even vaguely sci-fi vampires like in underworld, no, these are full on Fantasy, turn to gas, immortal, vampires. When the first hint you get that there might be fantasy elements to a story is 4 or 5 chapters from the end, and the rest of the book is sci-fi, that's just not right. To make matters worse the recent vampire fad makes it seem even more like this was just a cheap cashout on the recent popularity. Final verdict, either skip this book, or buy it in paperback and cut the last 5 chapters out, burn them, and pretend it had a good ending.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Your people know nothing about predators, but they will.   I¿ve

    Your people know nothing about predators, but they will.  
    I’ve been a fan of David Weber’s since I started reading the Safehold series, so I was excited to read a book by him in a different universe (Fans of Safehold: keep your eyes peeled for the names of the two dogs as a tribute to those books). This book wins the award for having the most crazy-bonkers plot twist of all time, which I absolutely LOVED. I don’t know if this book is the beginning of a new series or not but I would be interested to see where this story could go after that. I also like how Weber told this story from both human and alien perspectives concurrently. If you like a story to surprise you, this is a good one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Hilariously awful

    Starts out serious, then mutates into so-bad-its-good genre. Like Rocky Horror with aliens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Terrible ending

    The book started out nicely but rest assure the ending will almost certainly dissapoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Hot worth the time

    I am a fairly avid fan of David Weber, at least in his Honor Harrington books but not so much his Safehold series. So when I was offered this selection, I grabbed at the chance to read yet another volume from a writer I consider to be the modern master of the time-honored "space opera" genre, though from the promo I read for this book I wasn't really expecting a space opera. I was expecting something interesting, though, something worth reading. Alas, my expectations weren't even partially realized. The story line is nothing like the promo led me to believe it would be. In fact, the story line is weak beyond anything I would have believed could come from the mind of a tale-spinning master like David Weber. Without giving away any of the plot to spoil things for other readers with tastes that differ from my own, I'll ask just one question: Why Dracula? I would have thought that Mr. Weber had enough of an imagination to create his own characters (his hundreds of named characters in each of his Honor Harrington books are ample proof of said ability, or so I imagined) without borrowing from classical fiction literature. To be fair to Mr. Weber, I plodded through all 400+ pages of this tome, hoping to find a justification for my time. I shouldn't have bothered. I understand that this was meant to be the opening salvo for yet another continuing saga by Mr. Weber. If such is the case, I will most definitely not be reading future instalments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    th ending was lame! Come on vampires? You can have done much be

    th ending was lame! Come on vampires? You can have done much better Mr Webber. Yuo would much better off working on the Honorverse series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Recommend!!! Surprise Ending

    I really enjoyed this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Good gravy...

    First review I have ever bothered to write. Mediocre as a free read. Downright theft as a purchased book. Ending must have been written in the back of a cab on the way to the airport probably on a cocktail napkin. Suspect the cab driver must have contributed significantly. Good god man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 241 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13