Customer Reviews for

Out of the Dark

Average Rating 3.5
( 244 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Faster than the speed of light or an Honor Harrington military science fiction

Having learned of the existence of hostile humans, The Galactic Hegemony Empire is coming to conquer and colonize Earth. An advanced scouting team witnessed the massacre at Agincourt when King Henry V and his English Army used the longbow to slaughter the French. The ...
Having learned of the existence of hostile humans, The Galactic Hegemony Empire is coming to conquer and colonize Earth. An advanced scouting team witnessed the massacre at Agincourt when King Henry V and his English Army used the longbow to slaughter the French. The Hegemony scout leadership concludes the bloody barbarians are a bunch of "lunatic local sentients". Earthlings are so bellicose they make the bloody Shongairi warriors look docile and thus deserve extinction.

The Hegemony sends their Shongairi warriors to conquer Earth. The military invaders are stunned by the resistance to their assaults. Even more shocking to those who have defeated forces throughout the galaxy is something out of horror novels rises from the grave to unite with the native humans in a counter insurgency.

Faster than the speed of light or an Honor Harrington military science fiction, Out of the Dark is an action-packed thriller that fans of David Weber will enjoy. Over the top of Olympus Mons and with a resistance theme that has been used in many books and movies (for instance, The Puppet Masters), the novel is refreshed with an element from the horror genre. Mr. Weber provides an entertaining tale that requires seat belts with the speed of acceleration from start to finish.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on September 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Rather unoriginal, all told.

I was rather excited about this book if for no other reason than it was stand-alone rather than yet another lengthy series.

The first 7/8ths were typical Weber. Cutting between a number of characters, lots of military hardware detail, etc. Nothing we haven't seen f...
I was rather excited about this book if for no other reason than it was stand-alone rather than yet another lengthy series.

The first 7/8ths were typical Weber. Cutting between a number of characters, lots of military hardware detail, etc. Nothing we haven't seen from him before, but well done.

(One bit of advice the author & the typesetter--if you're going to switch view points every paragraph or two for several pages, the heavy all-caps used to start each section gets distracting. Go third omniscient or reduce the typographical excess.)

But the more it went on, the more I realized it was going to have to pull out a very sudden ending--there simply wasn't space left for anything else.

Since I didn't read the whole book description ahead of time, I was honestly surprised by the vampire angle. And that's the biggest problem. If there was any foreshadowing of anything supernatural, I missed it. My reaction was: "Vampires? Really, Mr Weber? You too? Really?" He could have swapped in fairies or elves and barely changed anything.

Could have been worse, I guess. Could have been zombies. Or that might have been better.

Long review short: War of Worlds, but super-vampires instead of microbes for the deus ex machina. That is all.

posted by JimmXn on November 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 245 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Recommend!!! Surprise Ending

    I really enjoyed this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Good gravy...

    First review I have ever bothered to write. Mediocre as a free read. Downright theft as a purchased book. Ending must have been written in the back of a cab on the way to the airport probably on a cocktail napkin. Suspect the cab driver must have contributed significantly. Good god man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Action packed!!!

    Pros: carnage,mayhem,lots of fight scenes. Con: aliens about as scary as mans best friend. If this were a paper book i would have torn out the last few pages for my next bowel movement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    This book has an unusual premise (earth gets invaded by aggressi

    This book has an unusual premise (earth gets invaded by aggressive aliens. The aliens are winning. It's a good story, if the
    reader doesn't mind a lot of minutiae about model numbers, calibers, and such of nearly every weapon known to man. When I say, "good story", I should qualify that; it's a good, suspensful, action-filled story up to about the last 50 pages or so. Then, it gets just plain silly. Still worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Horrible

    If you enjoy long descriptions of ammunition and little to no story, plot, or character development, grab this turd ASAP. As a bonus, the author has kindly thrown in perhaps the silliest ending ever written for an alien apocalypse, all at no additional cost. It may be worth the 9 bucks just for the laugh the hokey,shark jumping ending will give you though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Spoilers below!

    If you are a fan of David weber you will enjoy this book. The reviews below are full of spoilers, and wannbe critics.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    Vampires should have played more of a role through out the book,

    Vampires should have played more of a role through out the book, their introduction towards the end as vanpires seemed a little hookie. Otherwise this was a fast paced enjoyable page turner. Hope there is a followup soon the will continue the saga where it left off with these characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Great book

    Great book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    Another good read by David Weber

    As with most other books by David Weber, the author gets you into the lives of his characters and makes you care about them. I was slightly taken aback by the unexpected twist at the end of the story, and I still haven't quite decided weather I like it or not, but I would definately buy the sequel, just to see where he goes with it. All in all, I enjoyed the story and would reccomend it to any fan of David Weber's stories.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    The majority of the book was actually quite good. Until the endi

    The majority of the book was actually quite good. Until the ending. I would like to give the author the benefit of the doubt and call it "disappointing", but really, it was PATHETIC. Its OK for a beach read, used. Don't waste money buying it new. Mr. Weber, you should be ashamed!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    good

    Enjoyable, but strange ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Can do better

    Vampires, really? He could have done so much more with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Terrible

    Was just awful

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Don't waste your money.

    This book was a ripoff. It was badly written and the ending
    was scientifically and intellectualy bankrupt.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    Great Read, except....

    This book is an excellent reading story by David Weber. The author has the ability to engage the reader quickly, and develops characters to the point that you care about them. After the hook, he changes up and moves on to another character, filling in a broad palate to work on the canvas of the work. Mr. Weber has a firm grasp of the important aspects of the military, and a excellent handle on what motivates people.
    The story premise was promising and had great potential. Unfortunately he let me down. In my opinion the author wrote himself into a corner using an alien empire that was vastly superior to our current technologies. Yes, he was able to show the "indomitable" Human spirit, and showed that we are clever, even sometimes potentially brilliant with our ability to wage war.
    Because of this the author had to use a "Deus Ex Machina".
    To say the least I was disappointed with this. I expected better from the author, who so many times before has shown his skill at weaving an intricate and at times provocative story. In essence I felt cheated and to be blunt felt that he phoned in the last part of his story so he could move on to other and hopefully better projects. Because of this I would not recommend the story if you were looking for something with depth. If you want a quick read for a trip on a plane or cruise, then this is what you want.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    OK Read 'not'One of David'Best

    Interesting premise but the ending felt much to contived for me to recommend highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Quite enjoyable

    I liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    what sample???

    For the sample all I got was the first 10 pages of the index & front pages, absolutely nothing about the story. still don't know what it is about.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Good story with a nice twist

    Out of the Dark is a fast paced entertaining story. Full of action and interesting characters from both the human and alien side. Weber shows the problem of two different races trying to understand each other and applying their own racial traits to the other side with less than satisfactory results. While the aliens have superior tech when it comes to space ships the humans excel in "killing technologies". That is human weapons are generally better than what the Shongairi are using. The Shongairi are also used to subjugating rather primitive races and so have not developed battle techniques or weapon systems necessary to wage war with the humans who are on almost the same level of advancement. In spite of the human talent for war, the space technology edge proves to large for humans to overcome and they resort to guerrilla warfare with the Shongairi taking many more casualties that to what they are accustomed. Weber's twist in the story comes near the end of the book and I thought it was an imaginative change from the usual. Several other reviewers didn't like the blend of Fantasy and Sci Fi but why not? My only complaint is that he ended the story rather quickly. Almost like he got tired of writing it or had to go on to another project. Humanity is running out of supplies and weapons and things are looking grim. Then Weber does a, "this happened, then this happened, and then we won" which leaves you a little unsatisfied. Other than that I would readily buy the sequel if he writes one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    An Open Letter to David Weber

    An Open Letter to David Weber Mr. Weber, I am, without question or reservation, one of your most loyal fans. I am a Sci-Fi junkie with a degree in English Literature. I've had the distinct pleasure to peruse and analyze the works of many a great author and playwright, from Chaucer and Shakespeare to Smith and Heinlein. After what is now approaching 50 years of reading for personal enjoyment, I am convinced that yours belongs amongst those historic names. I would go so far as to say that you may well be the Science-Fiction genre's greatest living author. I have soared across the Copper Hills, stood in wonder of Orions, Ophiuchi and Gorm, cheered the exploits of Captain Zilwicki and the Audubon Ballroom, cursed Clyntahn the Church of God Awaiting, and literally cried at the brutal beating of a treecat named Nimitz. You have introduced me to people and places that will remain a part of me for as long as I shall live. And, obviously, having read the reviews of other adoring fans over the years, there are a great many who feel as I do about your works. How terribly sad to find that we have all been so thoroughly, so horribly betrayed. I have given your Out of the Dark two stars because for most of its 384 pages I was enthralled, mesmerized as always by your creative characters and detailed accounts of not only their actions but also by the vivid back stories which spawned those actions. But really, Mr. Weber. Vampires, Mr. Weber? The genre is known as SCIENCE fiction, Mr. Weber. And, although the major booksellers seem to have a little problem discerning the difference between that venerable genre and mere schoolgirl fantasy, one would expect so very much more from one such as yourself. How cheap a dénouement. How pitiable an ending. Was it, as at least one online reviewer wondered, that one of your editors at Tor suggested that you "put a vampire in it"? Did they really feel so strongly that you should go after the teenage schoolgirl niche that they were able to walk you down that accursed road? If so, they are an unspeakably bad influence and I implore you to run as fast as your feet can carry you back to Baen. The possibility that you came up (or should I say "down") with that kind of trite ending all on your own is a tad more than my already wounded psyche could possibly bear. In any event, Mr. Weber, due in no small part to the greatness (and I write not merely of number) of your portfolio of work, I will be there at B&N when your next book hits the shelves. To be sure, it is with great anticipation that I am about to embark on a journey with young Stephanie Harrington. Still, I beg of you, sir: Please, never again go down that road which attempts to blend SCIENCE fiction with fantasy again. All it does is damage your own credibility and your stories' verisimilitude. Please do not again cheapen yourself like a portside trollop at 3:00 a.m. Your fans deserve better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 245 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13