Customer Reviews for

Out of the Dark

Average Rating 3.5
( 240 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Faster than the speed of light or an Honor Harrington military science fiction

Having learned of the existence of hostile humans, The Galactic Hegemony Empire is coming to conquer and colonize Earth. An advanced scouting team witnessed the massacre at Agincourt when King Henry V and his English Army used the longbow to slaughter the French. The ...
Having learned of the existence of hostile humans, The Galactic Hegemony Empire is coming to conquer and colonize Earth. An advanced scouting team witnessed the massacre at Agincourt when King Henry V and his English Army used the longbow to slaughter the French. The Hegemony scout leadership concludes the bloody barbarians are a bunch of "lunatic local sentients". Earthlings are so bellicose they make the bloody Shongairi warriors look docile and thus deserve extinction.

The Hegemony sends their Shongairi warriors to conquer Earth. The military invaders are stunned by the resistance to their assaults. Even more shocking to those who have defeated forces throughout the galaxy is something out of horror novels rises from the grave to unite with the native humans in a counter insurgency.

Faster than the speed of light or an Honor Harrington military science fiction, Out of the Dark is an action-packed thriller that fans of David Weber will enjoy. Over the top of Olympus Mons and with a resistance theme that has been used in many books and movies (for instance, The Puppet Masters), the novel is refreshed with an element from the horror genre. Mr. Weber provides an entertaining tale that requires seat belts with the speed of acceleration from start to finish.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on September 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Rather unoriginal, all told.

I was rather excited about this book if for no other reason than it was stand-alone rather than yet another lengthy series.

The first 7/8ths were typical Weber. Cutting between a number of characters, lots of military hardware detail, etc. Nothing we haven't seen f...
I was rather excited about this book if for no other reason than it was stand-alone rather than yet another lengthy series.

The first 7/8ths were typical Weber. Cutting between a number of characters, lots of military hardware detail, etc. Nothing we haven't seen from him before, but well done.

(One bit of advice the author & the typesetter--if you're going to switch view points every paragraph or two for several pages, the heavy all-caps used to start each section gets distracting. Go third omniscient or reduce the typographical excess.)

But the more it went on, the more I realized it was going to have to pull out a very sudden ending--there simply wasn't space left for anything else.

Since I didn't read the whole book description ahead of time, I was honestly surprised by the vampire angle. And that's the biggest problem. If there was any foreshadowing of anything supernatural, I missed it. My reaction was: "Vampires? Really, Mr Weber? You too? Really?" He could have swapped in fairies or elves and barely changed anything.

Could have been worse, I guess. Could have been zombies. Or that might have been better.

Long review short: War of Worlds, but super-vampires instead of microbes for the deus ex machina. That is all.

posted by JimmXn on November 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    Rather unoriginal, all told.

    I was rather excited about this book if for no other reason than it was stand-alone rather than yet another lengthy series.

    The first 7/8ths were typical Weber. Cutting between a number of characters, lots of military hardware detail, etc. Nothing we haven't seen from him before, but well done.

    (One bit of advice the author & the typesetter--if you're going to switch view points every paragraph or two for several pages, the heavy all-caps used to start each section gets distracting. Go third omniscient or reduce the typographical excess.)

    But the more it went on, the more I realized it was going to have to pull out a very sudden ending--there simply wasn't space left for anything else.

    Since I didn't read the whole book description ahead of time, I was honestly surprised by the vampire angle. And that's the biggest problem. If there was any foreshadowing of anything supernatural, I missed it. My reaction was: "Vampires? Really, Mr Weber? You too? Really?" He could have swapped in fairies or elves and barely changed anything.

    Could have been worse, I guess. Could have been zombies. Or that might have been better.

    Long review short: War of Worlds, but super-vampires instead of microbes for the deus ex machina. That is all.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    A complete slog

    If this book had been about 125-150 pages, it would have been an awesome story. But weighing in at 400 pages, it was a disaster. The story hook was so late in coming (in the last 50 pages), that it completely missed the mark.

    On prime display were Weber's politics, which did nothing for the story but tint it as a redneck revenge fantasy. Combine that with flaws in the story and logic (seriously, how can you go on for whole sections about cyberwar and never mention either Seattle or Silicon Valley???).

    Also on display was Weber's encyclopedic knowledge of all things military. Unfortuneately, in an attempt to bulk out the page count, came off like reading the encyclopedia.

    I had to force myself to slog through to the end. Very, very disappointing.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    95% of the book is 5 star, the last 5% is -4 stars however.

    I actually read this quite a while ago (got it in hardcover when it first came out), but it made such an impact that when I noticed it while browsing around today I decided I needed to write a review. David Weber is a great author, I've read a bunch of his stuff and I'm currently anxiously awaiting the next book in the Safehold series, which is why I was so incredibly disappointed with this book. It had the makings of an excellent story, or even an excellent series, and all the way up till the last 4 or 5 chapters it certainly was. Unfortunately I can't help but feel like David Weber wrote himself into a corner, came up against a deadline, and decided to cash in on current fads with one of the worst deus ex machina endings I've ever seen. *spoilers from here on* The book sells itself as sci-fi of a particularly military bent. Aliens attack, and humanity fights back or a least what's left of humanity. Fine, sounds great, sign me up. But... at the very end, with things looking impossible and me anxiously awaiting to find out how the hero's are going to pull it off... vampires... freaking vampires... seriously. Not even vaguely sci-fi vampires like in underworld, no, these are full on Fantasy, turn to gas, immortal, vampires. When the first hint you get that there might be fantasy elements to a story is 4 or 5 chapters from the end, and the rest of the book is sci-fi, that's just not right. To make matters worse the recent vampire fad makes it seem even more like this was just a cheap cashout on the recent popularity. Final verdict, either skip this book, or buy it in paperback and cut the last 5 chapters out, burn them, and pretend it had a good ending.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    th ending was lame! Come on vampires? You can have done much be

    th ending was lame! Come on vampires? You can have done much better Mr Webber. Yuo would much better off working on the Honorverse series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    The majority of the book was actually quite good. Until the endi

    The majority of the book was actually quite good. Until the ending. I would like to give the author the benefit of the doubt and call it "disappointing", but really, it was PATHETIC. Its OK for a beach read, used. Don't waste money buying it new. Mr. Weber, you should be ashamed!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Can do better

    Vampires, really? He could have done so much more with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    OK Read 'not'One of David'Best

    Interesting premise but the ending felt much to contived for me to recommend highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    An Open Letter to David Weber

    An Open Letter to David Weber Mr. Weber, I am, without question or reservation, one of your most loyal fans. I am a Sci-Fi junkie with a degree in English Literature. I've had the distinct pleasure to peruse and analyze the works of many a great author and playwright, from Chaucer and Shakespeare to Smith and Heinlein. After what is now approaching 50 years of reading for personal enjoyment, I am convinced that yours belongs amongst those historic names. I would go so far as to say that you may well be the Science-Fiction genre's greatest living author. I have soared across the Copper Hills, stood in wonder of Orions, Ophiuchi and Gorm, cheered the exploits of Captain Zilwicki and the Audubon Ballroom, cursed Clyntahn the Church of God Awaiting, and literally cried at the brutal beating of a treecat named Nimitz. You have introduced me to people and places that will remain a part of me for as long as I shall live. And, obviously, having read the reviews of other adoring fans over the years, there are a great many who feel as I do about your works. How terribly sad to find that we have all been so thoroughly, so horribly betrayed. I have given your Out of the Dark two stars because for most of its 384 pages I was enthralled, mesmerized as always by your creative characters and detailed accounts of not only their actions but also by the vivid back stories which spawned those actions. But really, Mr. Weber. Vampires, Mr. Weber? The genre is known as SCIENCE fiction, Mr. Weber. And, although the major booksellers seem to have a little problem discerning the difference between that venerable genre and mere schoolgirl fantasy, one would expect so very much more from one such as yourself. How cheap a dénouement. How pitiable an ending. Was it, as at least one online reviewer wondered, that one of your editors at Tor suggested that you "put a vampire in it"? Did they really feel so strongly that you should go after the teenage schoolgirl niche that they were able to walk you down that accursed road? If so, they are an unspeakably bad influence and I implore you to run as fast as your feet can carry you back to Baen. The possibility that you came up (or should I say "down") with that kind of trite ending all on your own is a tad more than my already wounded psyche could possibly bear. In any event, Mr. Weber, due in no small part to the greatness (and I write not merely of number) of your portfolio of work, I will be there at B&N when your next book hits the shelves. To be sure, it is with great anticipation that I am about to embark on a journey with young Stephanie Harrington. Still, I beg of you, sir: Please, never again go down that road which attempts to blend SCIENCE fiction with fantasy again. All it does is damage your own credibility and your stories' verisimilitude. Please do not again cheapen yourself like a portside trollop at 3:00 a.m. Your fans deserve better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Pretty boring and wordy novella padded out to book length

    Meh. I don't recommend this book. This is started out as a novella that got padded out to book length. Most of the characters are standard Weber humans. The vampires don't come in until near the end of the book, and just show up as a Deus Ex Machina. The aliens are standard and unoriginal. The humans aren't much better. The plot is extremely derivative - bad aliens arrive, kill off most of the humans, then the humans win. Mainly because in the last 20 pages vampires suddenly attack and kill off all the aliens. Done.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    This is the best ending Weber can come up with?

    Don't get me wrong, I'm a huge David Weber fan. And I completely enjoyed the book until near the end. I kind of saw the end coming (he's not that subtle about where he's going) but had managed to convince myself that Weber couldn't possibly be going with the lowest common denominator and including ******** in the story.

    I was wrong.

    All that's left is to ask, "Are ******** seriously the last hope of humanity? Seriously?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Really great buildup but horrfic ending

    The sudden switch of genras at the end wrecked the whole book. I was literally screaming Noooo! as it was wrapping up. Never a good sign. :-(

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    Book is OK, but not typical David Weber

    I have read a lot of David Weber Books, this is the first one I have really found lacking. It skips all over the place and in many ways some characters were never fully developed. The vampire issue I can live with, but perhaps a secret Nuclear sub saving the world might have been better or a strike from a undersea secret base, or any of a number of other ideas. I just do not believe this book as a whole was well developed and it seemed sort of slapped together without a lot of thought. This book just is not typical David Weber.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I'm being generous giving it 2 stars

    The book was OK until the very end. Suddenly, within 20 pages the whole book changed. It was almost as if Weber couldn't figure out how to end the book and was tired of writing anyway so he just made up an easy solution so he could go golfing or something. I think the premise has some merit and was basically within the realm of possibility, but the ending took that notion all away. Considering how many books he's written, I assumed he would have been a better writer. At this point, I doubt I'll rush to buy any of his other books. I also seriously wonder where the editors were to let such an asinine ending like that get by.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2