Customer Reviews for

Out of the Dark

Average Rating 3.5
( 244 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Faster than the speed of light or an Honor Harrington military science fiction

Having learned of the existence of hostile humans, The Galactic Hegemony Empire is coming to conquer and colonize Earth. An advanced scouting team witnessed the massacre at Agincourt when King Henry V and his English Army used the longbow to slaughter the French. The ...
Having learned of the existence of hostile humans, The Galactic Hegemony Empire is coming to conquer and colonize Earth. An advanced scouting team witnessed the massacre at Agincourt when King Henry V and his English Army used the longbow to slaughter the French. The Hegemony scout leadership concludes the bloody barbarians are a bunch of "lunatic local sentients". Earthlings are so bellicose they make the bloody Shongairi warriors look docile and thus deserve extinction.

The Hegemony sends their Shongairi warriors to conquer Earth. The military invaders are stunned by the resistance to their assaults. Even more shocking to those who have defeated forces throughout the galaxy is something out of horror novels rises from the grave to unite with the native humans in a counter insurgency.

Faster than the speed of light or an Honor Harrington military science fiction, Out of the Dark is an action-packed thriller that fans of David Weber will enjoy. Over the top of Olympus Mons and with a resistance theme that has been used in many books and movies (for instance, The Puppet Masters), the novel is refreshed with an element from the horror genre. Mr. Weber provides an entertaining tale that requires seat belts with the speed of acceleration from start to finish.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on September 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Rather unoriginal, all told.

I was rather excited about this book if for no other reason than it was stand-alone rather than yet another lengthy series.

The first 7/8ths were typical Weber. Cutting between a number of characters, lots of military hardware detail, etc. Nothing we haven't seen f...
I was rather excited about this book if for no other reason than it was stand-alone rather than yet another lengthy series.

The first 7/8ths were typical Weber. Cutting between a number of characters, lots of military hardware detail, etc. Nothing we haven't seen from him before, but well done.

(One bit of advice the author & the typesetter--if you're going to switch view points every paragraph or two for several pages, the heavy all-caps used to start each section gets distracting. Go third omniscient or reduce the typographical excess.)

But the more it went on, the more I realized it was going to have to pull out a very sudden ending--there simply wasn't space left for anything else.

Since I didn't read the whole book description ahead of time, I was honestly surprised by the vampire angle. And that's the biggest problem. If there was any foreshadowing of anything supernatural, I missed it. My reaction was: "Vampires? Really, Mr Weber? You too? Really?" He could have swapped in fairies or elves and barely changed anything.

Could have been worse, I guess. Could have been zombies. Or that might have been better.

Long review short: War of Worlds, but super-vampires instead of microbes for the deus ex machina. That is all.

posted by JimmXn on November 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Le f**k did I just read?

    This book makes little to no sense. The beginning and middle are strong, excellent descriptions of events and character's that the reader can bond with. Then Mr. Weber throws in freaking vampires and spoils the ending. Come on, the only thing worse would have been for one of the main characters to wake up and realise the whole thing was a dream. But ending aside, it is worth reading just for the beginning and middle sections.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2014

    Huh???

    Started out great, ran out of steam, and resorted to a halfway-hinted-at, yet almost totally unexpected, unrealistic solution... Switching genres in the middle of the stream??? Ehhh...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Action packed!!!

    Pros: carnage,mayhem,lots of fight scenes. Con: aliens about as scary as mans best friend. If this were a paper book i would have torn out the last few pages for my next bowel movement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    This book has an unusual premise (earth gets invaded by aggressi

    This book has an unusual premise (earth gets invaded by aggressive aliens. The aliens are winning. It's a good story, if the
    reader doesn't mind a lot of minutiae about model numbers, calibers, and such of nearly every weapon known to man. When I say, "good story", I should qualify that; it's a good, suspensful, action-filled story up to about the last 50 pages or so. Then, it gets just plain silly. Still worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    Great Read, except....

    This book is an excellent reading story by David Weber. The author has the ability to engage the reader quickly, and develops characters to the point that you care about them. After the hook, he changes up and moves on to another character, filling in a broad palate to work on the canvas of the work. Mr. Weber has a firm grasp of the important aspects of the military, and a excellent handle on what motivates people.
    The story premise was promising and had great potential. Unfortunately he let me down. In my opinion the author wrote himself into a corner using an alien empire that was vastly superior to our current technologies. Yes, he was able to show the "indomitable" Human spirit, and showed that we are clever, even sometimes potentially brilliant with our ability to wage war.
    Because of this the author had to use a "Deus Ex Machina".
    To say the least I was disappointed with this. I expected better from the author, who so many times before has shown his skill at weaving an intricate and at times provocative story. In essence I felt cheated and to be blunt felt that he phoned in the last part of his story so he could move on to other and hopefully better projects. Because of this I would not recommend the story if you were looking for something with depth. If you want a quick read for a trip on a plane or cruise, then this is what you want.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Good story with a nice twist

    Out of the Dark is a fast paced entertaining story. Full of action and interesting characters from both the human and alien side. Weber shows the problem of two different races trying to understand each other and applying their own racial traits to the other side with less than satisfactory results. While the aliens have superior tech when it comes to space ships the humans excel in "killing technologies". That is human weapons are generally better than what the Shongairi are using. The Shongairi are also used to subjugating rather primitive races and so have not developed battle techniques or weapon systems necessary to wage war with the humans who are on almost the same level of advancement. In spite of the human talent for war, the space technology edge proves to large for humans to overcome and they resort to guerrilla warfare with the Shongairi taking many more casualties that to what they are accustomed. Weber's twist in the story comes near the end of the book and I thought it was an imaginative change from the usual. Several other reviewers didn't like the blend of Fantasy and Sci Fi but why not? My only complaint is that he ended the story rather quickly. Almost like he got tired of writing it or had to go on to another project. Humanity is running out of supplies and weapons and things are looking grim. Then Weber does a, "this happened, then this happened, and then we won" which leaves you a little unsatisfied. Other than that I would readily buy the sequel if he writes one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    Good til the end

    The story was good, and I enjoyed the two sides of the story, but the ending was lame. It appeared that the author could not come up with a good ending so pulled out the weird.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An off day for Weber

    I am an avid David Weber fan. The only series of his I don't own is the Honor Harrington books, mostly because it's too long to easily purchase them all. But I digress. This book did have a lot of promise. He is an outstanding writer, and I had high expectations of this book. He did meet some of them, but not all. Some characters I wanted to survive didn't, others that I did not care too much for lived, but that the nature of his writing. The action scenes were well written, the overall plot was well done, but the ending was very abrupt, and the final ending angle kinda left me scratching my head going "WTH???" Wasn't his best work, but even the best writers sometimes have an off day. I can accept that. Maybe things will improve if there is a follow up. And for all of the non-fans out there, be not afraid, this is a bad example for him. All of his other titles are superb.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    Read something else...

    This was, unfortunately, the first novel I have read by Mr. Weber. Though maybe I'm starting off my review too negatively. What is unfortunate is that the author could have done a whole lot better with his idea. I think the idea of the idea of the novel and how great it COULD have been is what kept me reading in the first place. The biggest flaw of the novel to me was that the author spent too much time explaining bits and pieces (Such as equipment) that didn't need to be explained in that great a detail. He should have spent more time on plot and character development. Some situations I found in the novel to just be too "easy". Or should I say lazy? The ending was particularly bad, and only because it was like the ending (or beginning) of a total different novel. As if Mr. Weber thought of an idea near the end of his writing this book and used this novel only to catapult him into the sequel. They just didn't go together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3