Customer Reviews for

Out of the Dark

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of Sharon Sala's best novel!!! she will never dissapoint you of her work :)

    everything about this story makes me sad, specialy knowing what happen to Jade's and Raphael's childhood, it makes me mad also and wondered how deviled they're to do such things to a child. but then here's Raphael's character perfect image of MichaelAngelo's statue, how perfectly he was inside and out.he's always there for Jade. i admit that i admired him not only because Sharon Sala described him as handsome as one of MichaelAngelo's statue because he's a good person inside out. he's a perfect Guardian Angel. i can't accept what happened to him, he dont deserved it. but then there's a reason why it all happened. Sharon Sala prove it again!!! she's the best! you'll never get tired reading this and the suspence will make you still awake! and you'll never forget the romance between Luke and Jade,and how Jade became strong and healed and how they're lifes get through and when Amy Ann came to their lives. Good to know that Raphael never left. This book is so great,love the ending touches my heart makes me cry. it will make you sad,mad,laugh,smile,and fall inlove. and before i end my review just wanna tell you guys that it make me smile when i pictured what will happen to Johnny Newton and Frank Lawson. sure you'll do too after reading this novel!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2005

    an avid reader

    My first book by Ms. Sala, and boy did I choose right! Take my word for it, her insight into the adult mind of a victim of child abuse was dead on. Even the male characters rang true to me. A quick read. I had only one criticism, that of the speed at which the character, Jade, overcomes her inner demons. In reality, it takes much longer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    One of the best books ever!

    Ms. Sala out did herself with this one! Sweet,humble, sad and thoughtfulness with an abiding love. BEAUTIFUL!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Moved

    I have never written a review before but felt so compelled.to do so now. This book was an emotional rollercoaster. It has been a while.since I loved a book this much. The healing process was a bit rushed but understandable for the length of.the book. It is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    As always Sharon Sala┬┐ never disappoints me=) I don't know how I

    As always Sharon Sala¿ never disappoints me=) I don't know how I've not already read this one...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book.

    I loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    junele

    A very realistic book. It should be recomended for teen to adult that have been abused. She worked through her issues and 0ther people can too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Amazing!

    I read this book years ago and absolutely loved it! I cried like a baby and everytime i read it again, i still cry like a baby! This was the first sharon sala book i read and have since read several others. Im never disappointed!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    Must Read!!

    i absolutely lovee this book! i couldn't put it down. i ended up reading it until around 4 in the morning, and i was seriously crying almost the whole time. you will be able to connect with the characters. this is a book that truly touches the soul. =] sharon sala's books never disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    Warning!!

    Safe this book until you are ready for a good cry. I balled my way through this book. Although it was a very good read and turned out to be quite motivating and triumphant, the story of Jade and Raphael is extremely sad and really very terrifying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    Right to the heart

    You do not need to be a parent in order to feel this book. While reading this book there were times when I didn't want to turn the page. Sharon Sala makes the reader connect with the characters. When reading you get a true sense of what the characters are going through. You don't want to turn the page, knowing that something else will happen. You really have to take yourself places where no man/women/child should go. It took me one day and 4 boxes of tissues to get to the end of this book. I am not one to suggest books ... but this is a must read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    One of Sala's Best!

    I have read many of her books and this one in particular is a great one. When you read this story you end up right in the book and finding yourself sympathizing with Jade and what she has been through yet admiring her for her courage and strenght to survive. I would recommend this book to anyone who has read Sala's work or for those who have yet to read her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2008

    Heartbreaking...

    Sharon Sala isn't normally my favorite author, but this book really touched me. I didn't really like Jade all that much, but I LOVED Raphael for some reason. I just connected with him more than any other character in the book. This book left me absolutely devastated. I would reccommend this book to anyone.Just one piece of advice: BRING TISSUES. LOTS AND LOTS OF TISSUES. I cried. Three times. Especially yat the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2005

    Don't give it away!

    I really liked this book but it is very disappointing when I check out the reviews on a book and someone has given the whole story away! Save some mystery for the readers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2005

    Gripping and overwhelmingly sad

    This was my first Sharon Sala book and it was a spectacular read. I was a young women myself during the 70's and was very aware of the turmoil that surrounded everyone. Many took that road and now this book has given me insight as to what could possibly have gone on in those groups. Jade and Rafie were two lonely kids trying to survive and rise above their turmoil

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2005

    Grabs You From Page One!

    This is my first time reading Sharon Sala and was I glad the cover intrigued me! Sala grabs the reader from the very beginning and doesn¿t let go! Jade Cochrane is a street artist on the run. When she was 6 years old, her upper-middle-class mother kidnapped her. Her mother was looking for love in all the wrong places and joined a commune, The People of Joy. Yes, commune complete with pot smoking hippies and orgies! After her mother dies unexpectedly, Jade is prostituted to pedophiles, as are the other children in the commune. When an over-zealous man almost kills Jade, her friend, Raphael comes to her rescue and they begin life on the run. If The People of Joy catch them, they will surely die. Fifteen years later, Jade unknowingly sells one of her paintings to a friend of her father¿s who has never lost hope in finding his daughter. Sam Cochrane hires Luke Kelly, a security expert, to find Jade when he sees the painting. This is almost too easily accomplished to make it believable and left me wondering how anyone could believe finding a lost one was that easy. Hey, maybe we should all employ Luke Kelly and there would not be anyone missing. But the real fun begins when Luke brings Jade back to her father. It¿s a highly publicized reunion leaving the People of Joy and former customers beginning to worry that Jade will tell of their crimes and they will go to prison. It seems like a storyline that has been used many times before, and it is. But Sala puts a few new sub-plots into the mix and makes for a very enjoyable story. Raphael¿s death and subsequent ¿appearances¿ to Jade are pleasant even though far-fetched. And the irony of the ¿john¿s¿ true identity will leave the reader wondering who else in public office has skeletons like these in their closets! Character development is done with memory flashbacks of Jade¿s childhood and a few of her teenage years. We¿re given a glimpse of how horrible her life was in the commune, and although free as a street painter, she must always look over her shoulder to keep from being recaptured. Raphael is also developed this way but not in such detail. Luke Kelly is developed in the present and yes, the reader can predict the attraction between Kelly and Jade. This is a suspense book yet has all the makings of a romance, but also has a moral message. It¿s a feel good book at the end, but definitely not in the beginning when the abuse is described in vivid detail. It keeps the reader guessing as to what will come next for Jade. My suggestion is to have another Sharon Sala book handy. When you finish this one, you¿ll want to read another right away!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2004

    A Gut wrenching, sad and wonderful book

    Frequently, we tend to hide from the ugliness of a world that is cruel with the weakest and powerless such are our children. We tried to deny the pain and sorrow that evil adults can inflict to children, with no remorse and no regret, for the destruction of their lives. This book tends to bring the pain of abuse children in a very subtly way and it also, makes us aware of the enormous strength of the survivors. But, just as easily can show us the miracle that an unselfish, powerful, unyielding love of a father and a man can accomplish in their recovery. A must book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2004

    Beautiful book

    I usually never write reviews for books but this book made me want to write one. I never read a book that made me want to cry. There were times I had to put the book down and take a deep breath because it was so touching. You have to read this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2004

    Suspenseful and sweet...

    Disillusioned by life, Margaret Cochrane finds an illusion of joy with the People of Love. Drawn in by their snake charming leader, Solomon, she steals her baby and leaves her husband, Sam, behind, never dreaming that instead of Heaven, she was consigning herself and her little girl, Jade, to Hell. ........................ Twenty five years later, Jade and her friend, Raphael, have escaped the People and been on the run for longer than they can remember. The art that sustains them will be their salvation. One of Margaret's acquaintances sees a portrait Jade did of her mother, and that is enough for Sam's detective friend, Luke, to find Jade. The years have left scars on Jade's soul. After her mother died, she became a commodity, sold to the pedophile who would pay the most. Only when maturity made her unappealing to that brand of pervert could she and Rafe escape. Yet, unknown to Jade, Rafe is dying because of what was done to him. Being found by Luke and Sam is an answer to his own prayers; now he knows he can leave Earth with Jade cared for, he just doesn't know how soon. Those who hurt them the most have seen the pictures as well, and want to silence the two runaways. When they kill Rafe, Luke becomes determined they won't do the same to the woman he's come to love. ................................. ***** Light and dark contrast in this complex novel. Jade and Rafe will wrench your heart with the beauty of their souls. Somehow, both retain an innocence despite the hardness of their lives. A round of applause must go to Ms Sala for avoiding the overused angst that might be used in characterizing Jade and Luke's relationship. Overall, this novel is suspenseful, sweet, and hopeful all at once. *****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2004

    Suspense, Heartache, Tragedy, Love -

    A book that can't be put down. The story tells a side of life that is UNBELIEVABLE but unfortunately does exist - somewhere. It should be required reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3