BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Out of the Deep I Cry (Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    This is an above-average novel on a number of levels: a complex

    This is an above-average novel on a number of levels: a complex but not mind-numbing mystery not fully explained until the very end, rich characterization and world-building, fine writing, original characters and setting. A really excellent read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Love this series!

    These books keep getting better and better. I really loved how this mystery kept going back and forth between the present and past and how it wasn't solved until the very end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2004

    Great who-done-it

    In Millers Kill, New York, Reverend Clare Fergusson does not have enough money to cover everything so the St. Alban's Episcopal Church roof takes precedence. However, that means somewhere else there is less cash to use and that is in the Jonathon Ketchem Free Clinic though much of that is funded by a family trust. Clinic head Dr. Allan Rouse is upset with the shortfall, but the pressure on him by Deborah Clow to make him stop using vaccines preserved with a dangerous drug seems to have sent him over the top. Rouse vanishes............................... Though married and not one to cheat, Police Chief Russ Van Alstyne, accompanied by his alleged lover Clare, investigates the disappearance of the doctor though he expects to find nothing criminal. They shockingly learn that Rouse¿s disappearance mirrors what happened seven decades ago to Jonathon Ketchem, whose widow funded the clinic in his name. Could foul play have occurred then and now?........................... Though the who-done-it lacks much suspense even when the culprit locks the dynamic duo in a frozen compartment, fans of the series will appreciate this intriguing look at duplicity and obsessed retribution. The story line cleverly uses flashbacks to provide the audience with key moments involving the Ketchem family and the clinic over the past seventy years. Clare and Russ are an interesting pairing as both have desires for the other but keep them in check because he is married though no one believes they control their deepest urges. The pairing makes the tale as they have in the previous two works (see A FOUNTAIN FILLED WITH BLOOD) they display honor and ethics..................................... Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    One of my favorite authors

    I love this series so much. Julie Spencer-Fleming is a master at characterization and scene setting. I feel like I am walking the streets of Millers Kill when I read her books. I adore Russ and Clare for their flawed humanity which makes them more like real people rather than characters in a book and all the secondary characters are engaging as well. I highly recommend the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was hoping that the further I got along in the series, the mor

    I was hoping that the further I got along in the series, the more that it would grow on me, but unfortunately that was not the case. This
    series is not horrible, but it's not worth it to me to continue on from this point. After reading this book (the 3rd in the series), I haven't rated
    any of the three books higher than 3 stars, so I think that there are too many other 5 star reads out there to continue on in the series. 

    I did think that this was the best book of the series thus far, but as with the other stories, I felt like it took way to long to get through the
    story. I felt like the first 75% of the story drug along, but the last 25% proved to be a great story. I only wish that the first half were as good,
    then it certainly would be at least a 4 star read.

    This story was more interested in the other three story lines. It did have a good element of mystery and certainly was not predictable it just
    didn't seem to hold my interest that well.

    I still find myself interested in finding out where the story of the characters go, but not enough to read the next book. The characters are
    certainly interesting and unique and have an unexplainable relationship. 

    I do really wish that I enjoyed this series more, but I just have such a hard time getting through the books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Clare Fergusson Russ Van Alstyne novels now number seven. T

    The Clare Fergusson Russ Van Alstyne novels now number seven. This, the third in the series, has been issued in a trade paperback edition, among others recently published by Minotaur Books. The mystery around which the tale revolves starts in 1930, when Jane Ketchem’s husband, Jonathan, disappears without a trace. Flashbacks to the 20’s and the history of the Ketchems over past decades are present throughout the entire book, its chapters delineated “Then” and “Now.”

    There is a contemporary and somewhat analogous mystery as well, when another man goes missing, and the police force in the Adirondack Mountain region of Miller’s Kill, New York (population 8,000), headed up by Police Chief Van Alstyne, attempts to track him, or his body, down. Russ had been a cop, military and civilian, for 25 years, but as usual, he and parish priest Fergusson end up doing dual investigations, despite his reminder “Me cop, you priest.” But that never stopped Clare before, much to the dismay of the church elders. The growing attraction between the two is, as always, a major plot point, and becoming harder for the small town gossips to ignore the weekly lunches they enjoy, mindful of the fact that Clare is thirty-five and that Russ, a recovering alcoholic, is forty-nine and, more importantly, a married man.

    Let it be said that I am a huge fan of this series, but had somehow missed this and the subsequent entry, which is next up for this reader. I have to add that I felt a bit let down on reading this one, unsure of exactly why, other than that some of the flashback scenes seemed to slow down the novel, as did some of the historical aspects, which were at the same time interesting.- - contradictory, I know. There is much discussion of the effects on the town when the old mills, “ornate brick mausoleums for the town’s prosperity,” closed down, and the valley was flooded when the dam was constructed. Over all it was a good read, and one which is recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    A MUST READ!!!!

    I Highly recommend this book in the Claire Fergusson Series!!!! Can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    I love this series!

    I really enjoy the Clare Fergusson Series and this one did not let me down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    Hookrd on this series

    I like the combo of police work, murder and friendship developed here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful book series!

    Everything that this lady writes is wonderful. I bought the nook version of this title because I wanted to make sure that I always had a copy. I have read all her books and am waiting with excitement for the next one to arrive - hopefully in the near future. Please give her a try - you will be happy you did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I am so happy I "discovered" Julia Spencer-Fleming and the Clare Fergusson Series. I started with the first book and look forward to the rest. The characters are faced with real life situations and engage the reader in how their lives enfold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    It's all about the secrets

    While Clare and Russ try to come to terms with their own secret feelings, some very old secrets elsewhere in Miller's Kill are coming to light. Buried tragedies reverberate down through the generations and bring new pain with them-- including some very real physical pain for Russ. I'm trying to savor this series slowly because I don't want to come to the end of it! Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    Awesome read

    For those that have started this series with Clare and Russ, it is something you have to do...read and see where its going to lead and get a good mystery out of it also.

    Julia Spencer Fleming writes to catch your attention and keep it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    Great author

    Very good, lots of turns and questions up to the very end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    Difficult to stop reading once I started!

    Julia Spencer-Fleming is a master of mystery. She engages you from the start and you just hang on for the ride. I read this entire series (1-7)in 14 days because I just couldn't put the books down once I started. I probably would have finished sooner if I hadn't had to stop for work and sleep. The plots are intricate and the characters engaging. Can't say enough good things about this author. So glad I discovered the series. Can't wait for number eight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    Wonderful series. Julia Spencer-Fleming knows how to keep you guessing. Highly recommend.

    Being an Episcopalian I relate to everything she does at the church.... and adding her 'amateur gum-shoe personna' just adds to the enjoyment. Anyone wanting an easy read series should consider the "Clare Fergusson Series' books. Hope #4 is as good as #'s 1, 2 and 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    Another great Clare Fergusson mystery

    The Clare Fergusson novels are a wonderful mixture of mystery, moral conflict, and adventure. I have enjoyed reading the others in the series, as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable Mystery

    An enjoyable entry in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Excellent Mystery Series

    Really enjoyed the third book of the "Clare Fergusson Series" Spencer-Fleming gently deals with hard social issues without pushing a particular point of view while at the same time keeping the story exciting and real. Love the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Continuing A Great Must-Read Series

    This is without a doubt one of the greatest series I have ever read. Lots of mystery, suspense, and action occurring around characters that are so wonderfully developed you almost expect them to walk in the door any moment. A word of caution, though . . . this is a HIGHLY addictive series --- once you get started, you may find it difficult to stop until you've read all the books! Out Of The Deep I Cry will keep you guessing right to the very end. This is a great series for book clubs and discussion groups.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4