Customer Reviews for

Out of the Dust

Average Rating 4
( 356 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(174)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

The Book out of the dust

Out of the Dust is about a young girl named Billie Jo. She lives on the dry flat lands of Oklahoma with her mother and father. Her mother dies giving birth to what would have been her first sibling. Unfortunatly her new born baby brother dies also. What is wost is that ...
Out of the Dust is about a young girl named Billie Jo. She lives on the dry flat lands of Oklahoma with her mother and father. Her mother dies giving birth to what would have been her first sibling. Unfortunatly her new born baby brother dies also. What is wost is that the only thing to calm her done is to play the piano which she can't do because her hands are burnt. Her father does not talk to her any more and she can't get over her mother dieing. so she leaves her dad in the middle of the night to catch a trian. But after a few days she calls he dad and tells him were she is and that she is coming home on the next train. After that they were like a family again and there wheat started growing. Billie Jo ends up going to the doctor and her gives her medicine so she can use her hands again.

I would give this book 5 stars. I like it because you can really tell what the charectors are saying doing and feeling. It isn't a fairy tale or somthing like that it tells what happens in real life today. I feel like I am in the blazzing sun of running away with Billie Jo. I loved this book but make sure you have4 a box of tissues by your side.

posted by 945923 on February 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Out of the Dust

Out of the Dust

This is a very touching story written in all poetry. It features a lot of metaphors, like comparing her piano to her mother. I think this book is appropriate for ages 10-13 because you can relate to the characters better at that age. My favorite p...
Out of the Dust

This is a very touching story written in all poetry. It features a lot of metaphors, like comparing her piano to her mother. I think this book is appropriate for ages 10-13 because you can relate to the characters better at that age. My favorite poem is "On Stage" on page 13 because I play piano and I know how it feels to be on stage. Some parts were boring, but overall I thought it was a good book.

posted by 5373376 on December 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    A Waste of Paper and Ink

    Aside from the horrible (it's a hard knock life) Clich'e, this book can do no more than make a bad day worse. To start out the entire story is written as a free verse poem...if that wasent bad enough! the story is ultimatly depressing in its own right. The mom dies, the brother dies, the friends die, the main characters hads get fried, the dad might have cancer, I think reliving the black plauge would be more joyful! Yes, this won the Newberry award but just because it won an award, does not mean in any sense that this is a good book. Some may dissagree but if you ask me a group of people deciding what is good and whats not does not seem to be very reliable, but thats just me! I hate this book and I can not express enough how much I feel about this. Like the title says it is a waste of ink and paper. If you are for some reason forced to read this, just kill yourself...You would be better off anyway!

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    meh not that great

    Out of the dust is a book about a girl named Billie Jo living in the dust bowl. My favorite chapter was "real snow" because its short simple and I like snow too. If I had to recommend this to one age group it would be ages 10 to 14, because if your beloow 10 it might be to hard to get and if your over 14 or 13 you might think its to easy. There was personification and I appreciate that in poetry books. Over all I did not like this book, because it was depressing and not enough action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2007

    well- written

    this book's unique free-verses poetic style has a bleak and depressing story plot, put me to sleep this book is slow moving . i wouldn't suggest it to anyone .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2006

    This book is really boring

    I really like reading, but this book did nothing for me. we had to read it in class, otherwise i wouldn't have ever read it. It is a sad story, but VERY boring. The poems are written well, its just not very interesting to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2006

    A wonderful book for young readers! Or is it?

    Honestly I did not enjoy out of the dust it was nothing like I thought it would be. I didnt expect so much pain to come from such a small girl. Out of the dust is a book that takes place in the dust bowl. A young girl by the name of Billie Jo looses her mother and unborn baby brother in a fire. Jo was burned very bad in the fire, and now she must learn to heal. Dad doent pay much attention to Jo can he and will he change to help the only thing he has left heal?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    GET OUT OF THE DUST!

    My opinion of out of the dust is, that he book is not bad but not good. The whole book was very slow , noithing intresting happened. The ending just kinda ended... no real climax. I think that the best part of the book was how it was written, it is easy to fallow and has no hard concepts. I would no recomend this book to anyone because it is a slow book and not enought happened in the story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    Clean Sweep For Out of the Dust

    My opinion of out of the dust is that is was very depressing. The book was good, but the end didn't give enough closure.The best part of this book was that it was an easy read book theres no chapters and its written in poem form. I would not recommend this book mainly because the storyline jumps around everywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2004

    If you like sadness and depression, here ya go.

    Boring. Like this verse? Read What My Mother Doesn't Know. 100 times better. Like I said, boring, but well-written. Sad. Death. More death. More death. Sadness. Despair. Boring. The end. Thank God I don't own it in hardcover - it was a school read and I notice a lot of schools enjoy assigning depressing downers instead of happy uplifters. This just proves my theory correct. Read it in the sixth grade and danced when I was through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2003

    dumb book

    This is one of the worst books I have read. It bored me to death! It's about a girl who sets her mother on fire and has an extremely depressing life. It is all written in poem-like form. If you like being bored to death, then this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2002

    A great book!

    Out of the Dust was a very good book. I thought it was sad how everything that the people own got dust all over it. It would also get into some of there throats and sufficate them. I thought it was a very smart idea to move to California because theres no dust there. When she got burned, that was kind of gross I thought. She was really tough to keep working on things even though her hands were burned. When her mother died giving birth was probably the most saddest thing that happened in the book. I would recommend this book I thought it was very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2002

    out of the dust

    this book is a story written in poetry, which gives it more feeling and emotion.I probably wouldn't reccomend it, It's very sad and sort of depresing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2000

    Out of the Dust

    Karen Hesse is a great author with her own unique writing style. I wish she could use her talents on a less depresing subject. I would recomend this book for students learning about the hardships of the dust bowl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1