Customer Reviews for

Outcast (Chronicles of Ancient Darkness Series #4)

Average Rating 5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    This series just keeps getting better! Although I read a lot of

    This series just keeps getting better! Although I read a lot of series, I usually lose interest after just 2 or 3 books. Often the plot becomes predictable and the writing more haphazard. Not so with Michelle Paver's Chronicles of Ancient Darkness series. Outcast is the fourth in the series and my favorite so far. The story picks up right where book 3, Soul Eater, left off without any annoying recap. Torak is quickly outcast from the clans because he bears the mark of the Soul Eaters. Being an outcast is worse than it sounds, by law anyone who sees Torak is now obligated to kill him. On the run, Torak is pursued by the clans, but also by a Soul Eater who is desperate to use his spirit walker power.

    I found this installment to be intriguing and well-paced, with lots of Paver's incredible world building and character development. Each book reveals more and more about the clans and their belief systems. This time we meet a new clan, The Otters, who have a unique culture dictated by the lake upon which they live. The Stone-Age religion of the clans also plays a major role in the story and is beautifully developed by Paver. The concept of soul-sickness is especially interesting in this book since it causes Torak to forget everything he has ever known about survival in the forest, a major part of his identity.

    Character development has always been one of the strengths of this series. Although the characters are complete, their development is subtle and doesn't get in the way of the plot. The protagonists Torak, Renn, and Wolf have never become static, even after 4 books. This book does an especially wonderful job of exploring the developments of Renn and Wolf. I enjoyed the shocking revelations about Renn's past and seeing Wolf enter adulthood - caring for wolf pups and enjoying the company of a potential mate.

    Most important, though, was the plot. This series is dark and Outcast is no different. Although the darkness was less oppressive than in the previous title, Soul Eater, the villain of the book is still incredibly scary. The protagonists are genuinely struggling for survival and I found myself holding the book tightly, worrying over what would happen to these characters I've come to love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OUTCAST

    This is a great book. It is better than all of the other books in the series. I just started the next book OATH BREAKER today. These are all great books. EVERYONE SHOULD READ THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Suspense Builds.........

    This is another great book by Michelle Paver. Wolf Brother, Sprit Walker, Soul Eater and Outcast have a special spot in my room. I love them so much!
    With the revealing of Seshru being Renn's mom really adds to the story. I love how the series has sculpted out. I can't wait for Oath breaker to come out next week!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It Just Keeps Getting better and better!

    If you have been following the Chronicals of Ancient Darkness, like me, you will alsolutely LOVE this next book. Paver just keeps getting better as she continues. In this trilling tale, Torak will be in deep trouble and no one is allowed to help him. Along the way, he will find out a shocking secret that will change EVERYTHING.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE IT

    I have read the entire series and would die for these books. If you like adventure books and dark arts of ancient Americans these books might be for you. I can't even begin to describe this book. It has taught me a lot about myself and how to deal with life it is a book with deep meanings in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2009

    Nice xD

    Yes, I enjoy these books. They hit a bit close to me simply because I myself have a wolf thst is named Wolf. Funny, no? I know they are going to make more books because Michelle Paver did an interview about it and you can find it on youtube. It shows a few clips of Ian Mckellen recording the audio book for it, and she herself talks in the interview.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An extremely addictive series

    This is the best book in the series so far! I couldn't put it down, and now hope that there will be even more of Torak's story. For parents and educators who are not familiar with this series, I implore you to give it a try. It's a great prehistorical adventure story that won't disappoint your young reader (or your for that matter).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    Lover of the Chronicles of Ancient Darkness

    I started the series with Wolf Brother. My aunt gave it to me so I read it and I was hooked. I read Spitit Walker and Soul Eater. I give all of them 5 stars. Michelle Paver has yet to dissapoint so I believe that Outcast will be great. so read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2008

    SOUNDS AWSOME!!!!

    I needed something to read. and i saw Wolf Brother I had judged it by its cover, and it was a great book!! And I have read the other books and i wounder if this is the last one or not? And Soul Eater was an awsome book. i got so hooked on it!! i cant wait till I get OutCast.X]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2008

    SWEET!!!!

    i LOVE these books... i picked up Wolf Brother because i had to find a book fast and then... BAM!!! i was hoocked on he series!!! Im going to BUY Outcast Soon. i can wait to read it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2008

    A reviewer

    The Chroncicles of Ancient Darkness is awesome! I LOVE Wolf and it is so cool 'seeing' the world through his eyes. I am hooked! I first got Wolf Brother at a book fair and I haven't been able to put the series down! My favorite is probably Spirit Walker or Wolf Brother, but the latest ones are just as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    LOVE THESE BOOKS

    I LOVE THESE BOOKS!!!!! THEY ARE AWSOME!!!! i wish renn and torak would fall in love! i want torak to keep wolf 4-ever but i know that wouldnt happen. keep up the great work lauren!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    can't put these books down!!

    michelle paver-you are the absolute BEST!!! i started reading the chronicles of ancient darkness after i purchased them through my son's book sale at his school. we both LOVE LOVE LOVE this series so far and can't wait for each new one to be published!! if i could rate this with 10 stars, i would!! keep up the FANTASTIC work michelle-we'll be waiting to see what happens to torak and renn in the next one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    NEVER BORING, SERIOUSLY ENTERTAINING

    I LOVE this series and the next book (Oath Breaker) is going to be great! Outcast starts off immediately with Torak running loose like he usually does and then he's cast out by one of his most trusted peers. He is on his own to find and fix the task of banishing the Soul Eaters. He falls prey to an unforgiving illness and nothing is familiar to him anymore, not even his pack-brother Wolf. But Renn and another close friend set out even though they are forbidden to help the outcast. They find themselves in almost the same trouble as Torak as he gets twisted with one of the terrifying Soul Eaters. A sickening secret is found out after being kept for the same length as the friendship of Renn and Torak. Will he forgive her? Will he accomplish his goal of killing the Soul Eaters? Will he become one? I read the book, but I can't tell you what happens. It's great though! I honestly had to force myself to put it down. It feels so real when I read the Chronicles of Ancient Darkness and I can't wait for Oath Breaker to come out. I want to know the secrets!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2008

    I LOVE THESE BOOKS

    I can't believe that I love these books so much, wait, yes I can. I love the thrilling adventures Torak takes you on in these fantasic books by Michelle Paver. Wow, I need Outcast and I need it NOW!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    BIg Fan

    I love the series. I find myself waiting for each one to come out. My friend and I used to play RPG when we were little, based on the movie Princess Mononoke. This book reminds me so much of my childhood that it is like Michelle Paver is reading my mind and imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    I can't wait for this book!

    I love this series! I picked up the first book just last year, because it looked interesting, and it most definitely is. I've read the others over and over again, and I really can't wait for this 4th book. Michelle Paver is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    i can't wait

    The Series Chronicles of ancient darkness is one of my favorite series Michelle Paver is an excellant writer and i can't wait to read her next one i read all of the other ones four times.I hope that you write more books U R GREAT!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    Outcast is a outstanding book

    This book completes the next step of Soul eater and is a must read for any chronicles of ancient darkness fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2008

    I can't wait!

    Oh my goodness!! I thought Soul Eater would be the last book in this series. I am so excited to find out there will be a fourth book! I can't wait to read Outcast when it comes out and I'm sure it will be equally suspensful and epic to the previous three!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2