Customer Reviews for

Outcast of Redwall (Redwall Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

My absolute favorite redwall book!!!!!!!

This has to be my all time favorite redwall. It is entertaining that i have a hard time putting down even though i've read it about 10 times. But there seems to be more death than other books. Be very prepared to cries alot in the end if your really emotional like me!

posted by Anonymous on November 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great read!

This I would love to say is the BEST REDWALL BOOK so please check thisbook out. Expensiv as it may be please buy it

posted by 9780730 on December 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    My absolute favorite redwall book!!!!!!!

    This has to be my all time favorite redwall. It is entertaining that i have a hard time putting down even though i've read it about 10 times. But there seems to be more death than other books. Be very prepared to cries alot in the end if your really emotional like me!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Rake Nightfur

    This is Mossflower. Relaxe in its cool shade or wade in the clear streams.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    My sixth favourute Rewall book

    I'v always taken a serten liking to The Outcast of Redwall. Like
    all the other Redwall books, it was hard to put it down. It is about a badger called Sunflash the mace and his kestral friend
    (can't remember his name), an evil ferret walord called Swartt Sixclaw, who has six claws on his left paw, hence his name, and his son, Veil Sixclaw, who was raised at Redwall abbey (how did he get there as a baby? Read the book and find out!).
    I will not go into anymore detail, or I might give the hole plot away! Let me just say that its a great book, one of the best in the Redwall series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    Huge Fan

    I have been hooked since I read the first in the Redwall series. I find Brian Jacques' books engaging and full of great detail. The characters are incredibly developed, and you really get to know them through his writing and story telling. Even though the books are in the Teen section, I find them just as enjoyable as any book in the adult section. I have been flying through this series almost as fast as I did the Harry Potter series. FUN! ENJOYABLE! REFRESHING! GREAT STORY TELLING!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2000

    THE BEST YET!!!!

    This book is awesome! I read it 3 times! Jodd the squirrelhare is the funniest charachter in the entire series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Redwall book order

    Redwall
    Mossflower
    Mattimeo
    Mariel of Redwall
    Salamandastron
    Martin the Warrior
    The Bellmaker
    The Outcast of Redwall
    The Pearls of Lutra
    The Long Patrol
    Marlfox
    The Legend of Luke
    Lord Brocktree
    Taggerung
    Triss

    Here are a few of the Redwall books in the correct order but i dont know how many there are
    I have read 3 of them and am reading "Mariel of Redwall" and its super good as are all of them
    Im thirteen and i love this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Cool

    No to bad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Which one is first???????

    How many are there? And is this the first one???????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Funny

    Jod and Fleetrun in the end of chapter 46. So funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    AWESOME!

    Swartt is smart and cool but evil. Sunflash is 2,567 timed 20stars. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Writing contest

    At write best results 1-3.deadline is tomarrow at midnight.please enter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    ???

    Is this the first book in the series. If not which is?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Adventure

    If you are looking for a bok with adventure and battje outcast of redwall is the book for you. I couldn't stop reading this high suspense book. This is one of the best books i have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Great but kinda sad book!

    Really good book but a little sad. Veil, go ahead and die. But SKARLATH? OH MY GLOBEEZ WHAT WERE YOU THINGING JACQUES!?? But other then that, great book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Awsome!!!!

    A great book.I like the writing style. It keeps you engrossed for hours! Brian Jaques is an awsome writer. :) :) :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2008

    GREAT REDWALL BOOK!

    I thought it was very good, but i was dissapointed with the end. I really love ferrets and i really wished veil was a good guy. Also, the story more focused on Sunflash and Swartt Sixclaw and their ongoing fights. A good redwall book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2006

    The best

    This is the best redwall book yet!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2006

    The Best Redwall Book

    This is my favorite redwall book of them all. It is filled qith excitment. Also the end is very good. Also i can relate with the main charectar Veil. HE is My Favorite. I Think every one should read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2005

    Beautiful, a book no one should miss

    I cannot believe I put off reading this book for such a long time!!! (four years to be exact!!!) I read nearly all the other redwall books first and was only really satisfied with some of them. This one is one of those. It tells the story of two different outcast and how they intervene. For the first part of the book you meet sunflash the mace and his friend Skarlath who seek revenge on Swartt Sixclaw, a villianous ferret who is rising to power across the land from his treacherous ways. Then in book two, Swartt's son, Veil is a resident at redwall abbey. Having a niche for trouble, Bryony, his adpoted mother sticks up for him, because she thinks he can be good. But he is vermin and it is that undeniable truth that is proven when he tries to poison a fellow abbey-dweller. He is casted aside as an outcast and journeys to find his father. It is a story of how good and evil are not much different, as they are both misunderstood. The message is powerful and the delivery is dead aimed. It has the trademark Redwall standards-great food, exciting battles, and funny characters. It certainly is one of the best Redwall books around and should be your next read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2005

    One of the Better Ones (Not That Any of Them are Bad)

    I thought this was one of the better books of the series. It has one of the best heroes and one of the worst villains. The only thing I have to say is that, to me, the book seemed to be less about Veil and more about Swartt and Sunflash. I really enjoyed how much emotions were played up in this book. I also liked the idea of a creature who was brought up in the nurturing atmosphere of Redwall growing up and still being evil. It was something I didn't really think could be possible because the Abbey Dwelllers are so loving and kind. Once again the feasts made me drool (I can't wait for the cookbook to come out!). This is a very good book to read especially if you're just starting to read the Redwall novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5