Customer Reviews for

Outcast of Redwall (Redwall Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

My absolute favorite redwall book!!!!!!!

This has to be my all time favorite redwall. It is entertaining that i have a hard time putting down even though i've read it about 10 times. But there seems to be more death than other books. Be very prepared to cries alot in the end if your really emotional like me!

posted by Anonymous on November 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great read!

This I would love to say is the BEST REDWALL BOOK so please check thisbook out. Expensiv as it may be please buy it

posted by 9780730 on December 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2005

    Perfectly written!!!!

    This book has all the action,and fun laughs you'll ever need.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2005

    Wow!

    This is the best book I ever read. This book is extremely breathtaking this is one of the most interesting story you have to read if you want a book to shock you and impossible to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2005

    Beautiful Story

    Brian Jacques has written over 15 books by now (and I own most of them); but this one is still among my favorite books of all time - Redwall or non-Redwall. The book's principal storyline follows Sunflash and his faithful friend Skarlath through their lives as they seek vengeance on Swartt Sixclaw (who in turn is also hunting them). However, halfway through this storyline is joined by another one; for during a skirmish along the path near Redwall Abbey, Swartt's young son (who no one has bothered to name) is left behind. The kind Abbeybeasts bring him back with them and give him into the care of a young mousemaid named Bryony. Bella - the Badger Mother for this book - names him Veil, darkly hinting that she will reveal the meaning behind his name later. This is where the book's hidden philosophical question arises: is it possible for someone to be naturally born so evil that no amount of kindness done them can eradicate it? Brian Jacques, in this beautiful, moving story, delivers a bittersweet answer to the question: one that you will remember for years and years to come after having read this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2004

    Fans and readers would be blessed to get another one so good!

    I love this book! When I first read this book I was astounded. Never had Brian Jacques gone so deeply into the emotions ever his characters. Readers and fans of Brian Jacques would be blessed to get another book as good as this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2004

    IT WAS NOT THE BEST, BUT I'M STILL GLAD I READ IT.

    I REALLY LIKED IT IN THE BEGINNING BUT AFTER I WAS DONE..IT JUST WASN'T MY FAVORITE. SKARLATH AND SUNFLASH AND SWARTT AND VEIL WERE STILL AWSOME CHARACTERS THOUGH...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2004

    Just like the other Redwall stories. A real classic!

    I thought that 'The Outcast of Redwall' was a great book! What I liked about is how Redwall is always so peaceful but then it gets attacked by vermin and always puts up a great fight. I like the action and exploration as well. The Redwall feasts usually make me hungry. Partly because Jacques goes into much detail. It's just a great story all around and highly reccomended by me! Try the others as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2004

    Best in the series, Right Sunflash

    This book was great i thought it was the best in the series and the great battle is awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2004

    It had its ups and downs

    I thought it was a decent book, but I have read other ones of the series that were much much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2003

    Great BOOK! RATES UP WITH Others!

    This book was an intrguing read. The book keeps you hanging and waiting for more. THE BIG WAR!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2003

    THE WORST OF THE SERIES I'VE READ!

    This book was a disappointment. I didn't think some of the hares had the old witty humor they usually do. And the action isn't as fast-paced as the rest. The title is a flaw; I think it concentrated more on Sunflash the Mace than it did Veil. And the ferret doesn't become 'outcast' until about the last 100 pages.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2003

    This is a compelling read

    This is another exhilarating book in the Redwall trillogy. This book filled with lots of adventure and action and has a suspenseful story line. I personaly liked this book and would recommend it to any of my friends or family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2002

    A MUST READ

    This book is full of both action and suspence.Once you start to read it you can't put it down.The story is so full of detail that you can hear the roar of the waterfall as well as see all of the other setings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2002

    What age is this book for?

    This may seem sad to most people but as a sixteen year old I have read all of Brian Jacques books, his books are not only interesting but full of emotion and action. His very descrriptive writing also keeps the reader locked in on the book, as if addicted to his writing. For me, just reading this book has improved my sensory detail writing and my imagination. I think in this featured book was very interesting, a little rustier then his later books but still a good book. I recommend that all readers of all ages give this book a shot, I guarntee you'll learn something from it or be hooked to read more of his works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2002

    The Okay Outcast

    No offense to you all, ladies and gentlemen, but this book just was not that great. Veil makes me so mad . And why did SPOILER have to die? He was so cool! Anyway, this book was not really that bad. It was pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2002

    Great Book

    One of the best books I have ever read! My favorite in the Redwall series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2002

    A Great Book

    This was the best book I have ever read. It was very discriptive and dipicted Sunflash and Swartt among other characters very well. It was brilliant in its best parts. It was the first book of Redwall I have read and a good one to start with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2002

    outcast is good

    Outcast of redwall is a great book it is my favorite so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2002

    bobs review

    This book is one of the best redwall books yet if you are starting out on redwall this book has some slow parts but is full of action if you only read one redwall book make this it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2001

    Outcast of Redwall (Redwall #8)

    This book is just one of those books that keeps you wanting to read and wondering what is going to happen next. It also has a great climax of a war scene. I would definatly recomend this book to anybody that is looking for a good fiction book. Also, I have not read any other Redwall books, but friends say they are all just as good.Extraordinary book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2001

    Outcast of Redwall (Redwall #8)

    I would have to say this is one of the best books i have ever read. It is one of those books that just kept me wondering what is going to happen and it kept me reading. It has a really good climax war scene that was pretty cool. Though I have never read any other Redwall books, my friends say they are just as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5