Customer Reviews for

Outcast of Redwall (Redwall Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

My absolute favorite redwall book!!!!!!!

This has to be my all time favorite redwall. It is entertaining that i have a hard time putting down even though i've read it about 10 times. But there seems to be more death than other books. Be very prepared to cries alot in the end if your really emotional like me!

posted by Anonymous on November 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great read!

This I would love to say is the BEST REDWALL BOOK so please check thisbook out. Expensiv as it may be please buy it

posted by 9780730 on December 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    ???

    Is this the first book in the series. If not which is?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Awsome!!!!

    A great book.I like the writing style. It keeps you engrossed for hours! Brian Jaques is an awsome writer. :) :) :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2008

    GREAT REDWALL BOOK!

    I thought it was very good, but i was dissapointed with the end. I really love ferrets and i really wished veil was a good guy. Also, the story more focused on Sunflash and Swartt Sixclaw and their ongoing fights. A good redwall book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2005

    One of the Better Ones (Not That Any of Them are Bad)

    I thought this was one of the better books of the series. It has one of the best heroes and one of the worst villains. The only thing I have to say is that, to me, the book seemed to be less about Veil and more about Swartt and Sunflash. I really enjoyed how much emotions were played up in this book. I also liked the idea of a creature who was brought up in the nurturing atmosphere of Redwall growing up and still being evil. It was something I didn't really think could be possible because the Abbey Dwelllers are so loving and kind. Once again the feasts made me drool (I can't wait for the cookbook to come out!). This is a very good book to read especially if you're just starting to read the Redwall novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2003

    Great BOOK! RATES UP WITH Others!

    This book was an intrguing read. The book keeps you hanging and waiting for more. THE BIG WAR!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2002

    bobs review

    This book is one of the best redwall books yet if you are starting out on redwall this book has some slow parts but is full of action if you only read one redwall book make this it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2000

    Not much action...

    This book was great. It had a good storyline and good characters, but it took it a while for the action to start. And if the main character was Viel, then why did he not appear until the middle of the book? Besides that, the book was very good. I would recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2000

    A great Redwall book, but not the best

    Of the Redwall series, this book is one of my favorites. Despite the title, the book's main focus is around a Badger named Sunflash the Mace and his enemy, a ferret called Sartt Sixclaw; the 'outcast' is Swartt' son Veil, who was abandoned and raised at Redwall Abbey, but thrown out for doing something bad I won't reveal. This book has really great characters, full of in depth personalities and life, even the secondary ones. Some of the characters in other Redwall books can be a bit one-dimesional, but these are probably the best set in any Redwall book. And while Brian Jaques usually bashes you over the head with the fact that a certain creature is good or evil, things are a bit more thought provoking with Veil. The first part of this book really drew me in, and started off as good as the best of the series; it led from event to event with a great flow. Unfortunately, once the 'outcast' stuff comes in the book gets a bit shabbby. Not that I don't like Veil, I think he adds a great twist and makes the book original, but with him thrown in the mix, various plots appear, which don't get juggled very well, and make the story very rushed. I wish the book was longer so that parts from the later plots weren't taken away from so much. Despite the fact that it could have been better, it is still, in my opinion one of the greatest books of Redwall and in general, a good read. I highly reccomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2000

    What's with the tile..........

    The Outcast of Redwall, a really bad title. I mean 2/3 of the book has Nothing about Veil, who is surpose to be the main character. He is also my favorite character. It was so disapointing that Veil died, it just was not right. I was enjoying him so much, and then he dies, you know, it just was not right. There was not enough about him at all, but overall it was OK. Sometimes it is so diaspointing that the bad gus always lose, the good always have to win! It be nice to have a book that is opposite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1