Customer Reviews for

The Outcasts of 19 Schuyler Place

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Looks good

A girl in my class read it and she made it sound really good. I really want to read it!

posted by Anonymous on March 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Interesting, but...

I got this book quite a while ago, and just recently got around to finishing it. It held my attention quite well at the beginning, but after that the interest level just... fizzed. The theme was great. The ending was a bit flat, but it was realistic. The writing style w...
I got this book quite a while ago, and just recently got around to finishing it. It held my attention quite well at the beginning, but after that the interest level just... fizzed. The theme was great. The ending was a bit flat, but it was realistic. The writing style was amusing.

posted by Honya on February 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Looks good

    A girl in my class read it and she made it sound really good. I really want to read it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Imma bout to read it .it looks like a good book

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Read a book about main characters half brother

    I bought it but I havent read it yet

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting, but...

    I got this book quite a while ago, and just recently got around to finishing it. It held my attention quite well at the beginning, but after that the interest level just... fizzed. The theme was great. The ending was a bit flat, but it was realistic. The writing style was amusing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2007

    Book Review

    ¿I prefer not to¿ those are the words of Margaret Rose Kane she says them every time she is asked to do a summer camp activity. Actually she doesn¿t really want to be at this summer camp at all but she is forced to while her parents are in Peru. The summer camp experience would not last for long though as her uncles come and rescue her from the apprehensive camp director and the cruel cabin mates. They bring her back to there exquisite house at 19 Schuyler Place. This story takes place in the year of 1983 when many things happen. For example Sally Ride becomes the first American woman in space but in the town of Epiphany something even more exciting is happening! As you know the main character in this book is Margaret Rose Kane also she is the one who is telling the story. Some other main characters are her uncles Alexander Rose and Morris Rose. Also there is the camp director the very strict Mrs. Kaplan and her son Jake Kaplan who isn¿t as bad as his mother and actually helps Margaret. Some final important characters are Margaret¿s cabin mates, Peter Vanderwaal, and Loretta Bevilaqua all of these people also help Margaret. When you read this book you will instantly get hooked. After Margaret gets home from her awful camp experience she learns why her uncles did really want here to stay with them. In the uncles back yard they have everything from peppers to roses but most of all 3 amazing towers that the uncles have been building for the past 45 years. The towers were made of steel and they were built like a network of ribs and they cast more light than shadow almost like a spider web. All of the towers also had rungs on them, from each rung hung thousands of chips of glass and shards from porcelain and the inner workings of old clocks. They were of all different colors and different sizes making each and every one of them unique. Margaret is appalled to find out that the city has demanded that the tower must come down because they are not safe and could fall in something like a wind storm and damage property. Margaret is astonished by this and tries to do everything it takes to save the towers even if she needs a little help. This book had many good scenes and in my personal opinion was one of the greatest books I have ever read. It could go into a little more detail though. Also in the very end of the book I think it should have explained a little more about what she was doing. This book could definitely have a sequel. All in all this is a must read book for any age. It¿s a great book that keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole time you¿re reading it. I would recommend this book to anybody because it is an all around book that anybody would enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2007

    Amazing outcasts

    The Outcasts of 19 Schuyler Place is about a girl named Margaret who goes to camp and all the girls a really mean, including Mrs. Kaplan the directer of the camp. Her great Uncles let her stay at their house and they have two towers read the book for more deatails.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Anonymous

    One word: beautiful.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2008

    A reviewer

    I read this book in 6th grade? Ha, 5 years ago. And I just now remembered the title + the author! Indeed, it was hard to follow but the ending was great and sweet. The ending used to reflect the cover 'pink rose'.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2007

    Hard

    This Book was hard to follow! I did not see a point to this book. Why read a book that has no point. Although some events were interesting, most of the book went around in circles.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2007

    omg this boook was good

    this book is so good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    Unexpectedly Incredible!

    I got this book for free over the summer, at Barnes & Noble, and I put it on the top of my TV and forgot about it. On my way out of the door one morning, I grabbed it at the last minute, because I knew I'd want to read in the car. The minute I opened the book, I was drawn in. I wanted to know what happened next. I wanted to pat Margaret Rose on the back. I wanted to squeeze the juice out of the mean girls at camp. I had so many reactions. I found myself wanting Margaret and Jake to get closer, even though I knew it was impossible. Read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    a reviewer

    This book is cool. If you are the artsy type, you'll enjoy it very much. It's nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    Extra Extra read all about it

    I think this book was one of the best books that i have every read. It is a funny appropriete book that is for good readers that are good at reading because it is very hard to read. This story could use alittle bit more action , but other than that is is a really good book to read if you are atleast 10 or over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2006

    Why Read this

    I think that I hated it just because it was summer reading, but I personally thought there was absolutely NO ACTION or ANYTHING EXCITING. Don't read this book unless you like stories about morons who try to take more power than physically possible. This story was also non-realistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2006

    EXTREMELY BORING

    this book did not keep me interested and left me disapointed. The story is too slow and goes on with little things that did not necceserly had to be included. I did not like this book at the least bit. It made no sense and i became frustrated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2005

    OMG

    this is the best book ive ever read. i must have read it at least 5 times, and i often find myself reading funny parts of it out loud to my friends and family. no more needs to be said.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2005

    Kept me entertained for the two hours it took me to read it!!!

    I loved this book so much that I just couldn't put it down and read it for two straight hours. Margaret reminds me of me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2005

    5 Stars MORE

    It's a year since I read this book, and I still consider THE OUTCASTS OF 19 SCHUYLER PLACE great! The history of the towers is wonderful. Margaret Rose Kane is one of my ideal kids. I enjoyed SILENT TO THE BONE so much more when I reread it after reading OUTCASTS. Then I read OUTCASTS again. Then I read SILENT again. Turn and turn, maybe forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2004

    Absolutely Wonderful! It Deserves 7 stars!

    This book is one of the best books that I have EVER read! Awesome charictors, A great plot and amazing descriptions, I highly recomend this to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2004

    Disappointing

    E. L. Konigsburg's follow-up to the critically-acclaimed (and young reader loved) Silent to the Bone tells us the story of Margaret Rose Kane, Connor's half-sister, both of whom were major characters in the first novel. The first book was very cutting-edge and, like most of Konigsburg's work, had a voice all its own. This offering has neither the bite nor the soul of the first book. The characters are flat and the novel seems to set up a lot of potential plots which are much more interesting than the actual plot in which Margaret attempts to save her uncles' work of art: towers of glass which they have been adding to for many years. Oddly, no reference is made to the Watts Towers in all of the research Margaret and her adult friends do to save the towers. My students and I have always marvelled at Konigsburg's ability to have a completely different 'voice' with each of her novels. This particular book, however, is doomed to sit alongside some of her less-popular titles and I don't think anyone will miss it if it goes out of print. If you're a Kongisburg fan, try it anyway. If not...skip this one. She has better offerings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2