Customer Reviews for

Outerborough Blues: A Brooklyn Mystery

Average Rating 3.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I loved this book. The main character Ceasar has a stoic self as

I loved this book. The main character Ceasar has a stoic self assurance amidst his chaotic and dangerous life. Made me think of the movie Drive. The story itself is great and the writing is very visual in its describing various parts of Brookyln and New Orleans. Lots o...
I loved this book. The main character Ceasar has a stoic self assurance amidst his chaotic and dangerous life. Made me think of the movie Drive. The story itself is great and the writing is very visual in its describing various parts of Brookyln and New Orleans. Lots of great food scenes, in general.

posted by KevinM416 on May 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

J

Two plot spoilers ruined the reviews. Why cant these ppl stop with the reveals? Just state if they liked the book or not? Dont give a blow by blow reveal of the book. They arent the only ppl that can read. Most ppl can read and i bet 99.9% would rather read and be surpr...
Two plot spoilers ruined the reviews. Why cant these ppl stop with the reveals? Just state if they liked the book or not? Dont give a blow by blow reveal of the book. They arent the only ppl that can read. Most ppl can read and i bet 99.9% would rather read and be surprised by what happens than have these plot spoilers regurgitate the story for us.

posted by 8888649 on August 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    I loved this book. The main character Ceasar has a stoic self as

    I loved this book. The main character Ceasar has a stoic self assurance amidst his chaotic and dangerous life. Made me think of the movie Drive. The story itself is great and the writing is very visual in its describing various parts of Brookyln and New Orleans. Lots of great food scenes, in general.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Great book. A page turner full of beautiful language and ugly tr

    Great book. A page turner full of beautiful language and ugly truths about the human condition with just enough hope in the end.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    You Need to Buy This Book ASAP!

    Have you ever read a book that you know you will read again and again? ‘Outerborough Blues’ is now a book on my list. Andrew Cotto has a style of writing that is lyrical and commanding. He skilfully draws the reader’s attention with the voice of Caesar Stiles as he tells the history of his family’s lineage.

    Caesar Stiles is a man haunted by his past. A drifter recently come back to Brooklyn looking to set down roots and create a ‘normal’ life for himself. He takes a job in a local joint called The Notch as a bartender and cook minding his own business and doing a good job of it until an attractive French girl walks in to the bar, orders a drink and enlists him to find her missing brother. Stiles agrees and his quiet little world is thrown off kilter.

    In the course of his search for the artist Stiles finds himself rooting around in the seedy side of Brooklyn’s underground; a place of drug addicts, prostitution and organized crime. Stiles begins to notice a car tailing him and a growing pile of cigarette butts outside of his front gate. Someone is watching him leaving a crawling feeling down his spine wondering who it could be. Having crossed a nefarious individual who he calls The Orange Man, Stiles is worried the man may be looking to retaliate.

    Caesar’s past soon catches up with him in the form of his ex-convict brother who has a violent temper usually directed in Caesar’s direction and this time isn’t an exception. His brother is the one who has been watching Caesar’s house and begins making demands. With his brother on the warpath, the search for the missing man, and a beating from a group of local thugs, Stile’s life spirals out of control in the course of one week.

    With his second novel Andrew Cotto has firmly carved a niche for himself in the mystery genre. A teacher and seasoned writer with published works in many publications, Andrew has an MFA in Creative Writing from The New School and a BA in Literature from Lynchburg College. He presently spends his time teaching composition courses and creative writing workshops in New York City.


    This book was received graciously by the author for review.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2014

    Found out about this book after having read another book written

    Found out about this book after having read another book written by Cotto, The Domino Effect. Having just finished reading Outerborough Blues, I can attest to the fact that Cotto's ability to write in a descriptive manner allows the reader to be drawn into the book in a manner that makes the reader feel as if they're witnessing the events within the book first-hand. Cotto's writing style and gritty dialogue between the characters within this noir allows the reader to visualize the what Brooklyn once was. Personally, I felt as though I was touring Brooklyn in a past that I otherwise would never have known. The author manages to address issues such as gentrification and racial tension in a manner that captivates the reader's attention, raises awareness of what Brooklyn once was, and helps the reader genuinely appreciate Brooklyn's past (and present). The novel is complex in nature in that the reader must focus on details. However, the author manages to tie all details of the story by the conclusion of the novel. The characterization of Ceasar captivates the reader's attention from the very first page of the book. Despite a broken past, the character of Caesar exudes a level of confidence that attracts others (individuals that serve to help as well as hurt him). Themes of this book include family, redemption, and closure. The reader experiences the joy of actually experiencing the adventures Caesar endures. Highly recommended read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend

    I liked the characters and the naration. A great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    I recommend VERY highly!

    This book was great. It kept moving, never a slow or dead spot. Very descriptive and made you really like the lead character. Someone that everyone can relate too.

    I enjoyed that some things were explored in detail and others were left to the imagination.

    I would recommend this book to anyone that likes to read. It wasn't a book I would normally choose but I'm so happy I did!

    Take a chance it's worth the ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Outstanding novel by an artist with words

    Reading this book was a lot like listening to a Beethoven symphony. You immediately realize you are enjoying a rare piece of classic art. The book is well worth the time just for the lyrical language - a real pleasure to read. The story is fascinating, but, at times brutal, and the reality of Brooklyn colors everything. I may read it again soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    This book was ok

    THIS BOOK WAS ALRIEGHT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1