Customer Reviews for

Outlander (Outlander Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4007 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2843)

4 Star

(563)

3 Star

(282)

2 Star

(151)

1 Star

(168)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

105 out of 112 people found this review helpful.

I want more!!!

The Outlander series is really good and now I am hooked on them just like all my freinds. Well, before I read any book series I HAVE to get most of them before I start to read any of them and I hate to read novels out of sequence.
Outlander was a delight! My friends...
The Outlander series is really good and now I am hooked on them just like all my freinds. Well, before I read any book series I HAVE to get most of them before I start to read any of them and I hate to read novels out of sequence.
Outlander was a delight! My friends were RIGHT! It WAS good and I did like it! I too fell in love with Jamie. In fact I felt sorry for the bloke! What he went through!! I cried for him, hurt for him, was enraged with everything he went through, right along with the heroine. I wanted to pummel Captain Randell so many times, even wanted to smack Jamie a couple of times for being so stubborn!
Gabaldon not only brought the characters to life but the time period as well. I really felt I was in Jacobite Scotland. She is an extraordinary storyteller. The book was suspenseful and filled with intrique as well as with romance. I'd still like to know who hit Jamie on the back of the head. She never really explained that. Several characters where suspected, but none admitted to it.
While slow in places, especially when the heroine was talking about the historical aspects of the time period or something that had to do with healing, the book had a nice pace and did keep me interested until the end. In fact when I reached the end I wanted MORE! Thank goodness there IS a second book! I have begun Dragonfly in Amber and already it has me intrigued and in tears!

posted by 148617 on October 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

73 out of 244 people found this review helpful.

Soft porn

I was disappointed. It was a subject I was interested in with likable characters but it was soft porn that got worse the deeper you got in to the book.

posted by ShrewishWench on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 4047 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 203
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    Favorite series of all time!

    I cannot believe this ebook is free! Get it now, you won't be sorry. Jamie and Claire are the ultimate couple in what can only be described as an epic adventure series with romance, sci-fi, history, and scientific detail mixed in. I have all of the books in the series in hardback, and I reread them often. Lugging around the hardbacks is a pain, but I love that this is on my nook now. I am starting it again tomorrow!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    Be careful

    Pretty disturbing book as it contains vivid descriptions on domestic violence, tortures, and rape.

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    Love it, and the whole series.

    The only reason I got this book is because as I was prowling the book aisle in Costco, I came across this young woman standing in the aisle, caressing this book! Yes, standing there, in public, in an open public display of affection, CARESSING the book. Well, as you may imagine, I felt compelled to ask her what exactly her thoughts were regarding this little unassuming paperback titled "Outlander". As if she was awakening from a trance, with some effort she pulled her attention away from the book to answer me. Her explanation about the storyline was matter of fact. To me, it seemed unremarkable. In fact, I did not purchase the book from the storyline at all. It was her body language that influenced my decision (isn't it always body language in the end?) We spoke for a while about the series, standing in the aisle, as if we were old friends. She said "Trust me, you'll love the series". I believed her words, but it was her unconscious actions that compelled me to buy the book, and everyone in the series after it. Now, I only hope I can avoid caressing this book in public, just as my unknown friend did, if I happen to come across it in my travels...

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    Mildly Entertaining

    Heartened by the overall high rating and positive reviews, I thought I would give this book a try. As a frequent reader and lover of historical fiction, the premise of the book truly interested me.

    In summary, a happily married 20th century nurse finds herself mysteriously transported to 18th century Scotland, where (through predictable plot conventions), she finds herself married to another man. They encounter hiccups along the way.and then the book ends.

    My biggest gripe with this book is the bumbling pace. Perhaps writer's block can explain the sporadic jumps and lack of cohesive, climax building plot. Imagine how disappointed I was (SPOILER) to read that the arch antagonist of the book is disposed of neatly and without the emotional payoff we expect.

    The author, more often than not, seems to be showing off her intensive research of the period rather than making a cohesive, sensible plot. To make matters worse, the reader receives a heavy dose of her masochistic leanings throughout the book. It becomes tiresome.

    I'm all up for a good love story, but this one was wooden. We are given no indication that our protagonist is unhappy in her 20th century marriage. (SPOILER) Yet she struggles very little throughout the course of the book in her decision to abandon it. I don't buy it.

    I feel no sense of closure or catharsis upon finishing this. Nor do I feel particularly inspired to purchase the sequel.

    6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    MY FAVORITE BOOK OF ALL TIME!!!!

    This is the best book (and series of books) I have ever read. Diana Gabaldon has an amazing gift for story telling. She makes the characters come alive and I could not get enough of their story. Every new book that comes out in this series is a wonderful treat!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 1999

    Diana is Amazing

    This series of books has the most captavating story line I have ever read. The intimacy, adventure and geography is so detailed that I feel my self in the middle of it, as the story progresses. I have read hundreds of books in my life time and have never read anything even close to this. Diana Gabaldon is a true genius. Spudville Idaho.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Spectacular!

    What was I thinking? Really what WAS I thinking all these years? Why has it taken me so long just to pick up this book?!

    The 20th anniversary edition of Outlander is gorgeous. Upon it's arrival I was mesmerized by it's blood red and summer gold cover. Not to mention the detail on it is phenomenal. Additionally, the 20th anniversary edition comes equipped with a new map, a new essay, an attached ribbon bookmark, and a bonus CD featuring 4 songs from the musical. The bonus CD was absolutely incredible. I began listening to it before reading the novel, during, and after. I'm in love and the idea was great to include it. It added quite a bit of excitement to the experience and I can't help the overwhelming feeling to hug every single person who was featured on the CD. Their voices were exactly what I imagined from the characters.

    Details about the CD:
    Track 1: I am ready - Jamie Fraser (Allan Scott-Douglas) --My favorite of the four tracks.
    Track 2: Is tu fuil 'o mo chuislean - Gaelic chorus, Jamie, Claire (Cait & Annie Lennox/ Allan Scott-Douglas/Sue Roberston)
    Track 3: Why did I marry a Fraser - Jamie, Clare, Jenny & Ian Murray (Allan Scott-Douglas, Sue Robertson/ Michelle Bruce/ Kevin Walsh)
    Track 4: Claire's message - Claire & Dougal MacKenzie (Sue Robertson/Kevin Walsh)

    Now onto Outlander. Nothing I say will ever properly express how much I loved Outlander. The story was amazing. Time travel, adventures in the Highlands, fighting, blood and who could forget about the romance? Diana's characters were wonderfully described, detailed and realistic. I couldn't help feeling that I knew them on a personal level when reaching the end of the novel. There is no doubt that Diana Gabaldon is a very witty writer, her humor shining through when her characters interacted with each other. I was also happy to see that the story line was very unpredictable. "What's going to happen to Jamie and Claire in the next chapter?" Who knows?! Very exciting indeed. Though Outlander is a hefty 600 pages, and took me quite a few days to finish, I couldn't help by moan in sadness that it had ended. There is no doubt in my mind that Outlander has turned me into a fan and I will definitely me reading further into Diana's Outlander series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Book I've ever read!!

    This book has so much information in it, I've read it 3 times in the last 10 years.....twice in the last month....so much Scottish history,18th century, and has so much adventure in it!!!! Keeps you glued to the book!!! So exciting,and the characters are absolutely the best ever....a movie could not due this book justice!!! There are so many different plots going on at the same time, you have to take this book, slow, if you can!!! I went thru it the last time, CD back to back over one weekend!!!! It just keeps popping!! I recomend this book, for anyone interested in Scottish lore,time travel,Romance,Adventure and detail...IT's Great!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Outlander is fun to read.

    I loved this book, and I'm loving the whole series! It has history, fantasy, romance, drama, action, and best of all, escapism.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    1 star

    1star - outlander #1 was a disappointment. Outlander was an interesting concept, but the characters or story line were not completely developed by the author.
    The author did a very good job of describing Scotland it made you feel as if you were there. That's the only saving grace about this book.
    The biggest problem was every other page starting with the first chapter had sex scenes or talked about sex. If you remove all the sex scenes the 800+ pages on the ereader would become 400+ pages, then if you remove all the pages they talk about sex the book would be 200+ pages.
    Of the 200+ pages very little action, story line drags, i was getting confused who was in what side of the war, very little explanation of what was happening or background info. I forced myself to read 400+ pages hoping this book would improve. I even started skipping paragraphs trying to find something interesting, I failed.
    One reviewer mentioned that the main character must be the only woman in Scotland because everyone want to jump her bones or lusted after her - they were right. What few woman are mentioned in this book are seniors or teenagers. Of course the teenagers are jealous of our heroine and the seniors just make fleeting appears in the book to preform a task. It appears the only young woman in this book that are over 18 and younger than 35 is our herione, so you can see why they all want to have sex with her.
    I am thankful this was a free friday book and won't be upset about deleting it from my library.
    If you want to read a book with lots of sex in it than you will enjoy this book. If you want a book with good character development, a developed story line, and action, this is not the book to read. I won't be finishing this book nor do i desire to read the rest of this serious. It is a shame the concept of this book had a good chance of becoming a great story.
    I cannot recommend this book and it is being deleted from my library ASAP.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    I thought the plot was intriguing and it would have been a good

    I thought the plot was intriguing and it would have been a good read if the author would have left out all the boring side plots and silly romance. After the torture/rape of the hero I was so disgusted and very sorry I paid money for it. I know it has been very popular but I will not read any further into the series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Could not recommend

    I read this book looking for a powerful female hero and I enjoyed the first third of the novel. After that however, it went from bad to worse. If you read it be prepared for heavy S&M content. I will not read this author again.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Great potential, but..........

    The author goes on and on and on and on and on and on. Get my point?

    I wanted to like this book. Really, I did. Such a great story line. There is just so much detail to things that don't matter in this book. From ever wrinkle to every crumb, the author covered it. There were times I was yelling at the book for it to "get to the point!"

    It saddens me to give this book 2 stars after all the rave reviews. The two stars are because I really did like the characters. I liked the story line. It just had too much in between "stuff."

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    If you like Historical Fiction - May not be your cup of tea...

    I have been reading historical fiction books throughout my whole life. A lot of them do include sex scenes, but they are nothing like the ones in this book. I am not a romance novel reader, and perhaps that's why I don't like this. I read another review that said this is nothing compared to other romance novels....well remind me not to read romance novels. I don't like violent sex scenes, and I REALLY don't like domestic violance - no matter the circumstances. I liked the book at the beginning and I liked the characters....but they completely changed. There was not enough good history in the book to compensate for it's downfalls. Spoilersssss--- I also DO NOT like the man Jamie turned into. Constantly loosing his temper everytime Claire brings up anything and bruising her in more than one way to get back at her. It's just not my cup of tea. I love the Tea Rose series. That series has it all - historical fiction, romance and a little mystery and violence for good measure...

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    TMI

    The premise is great, the characters are engaging, but it had more detailed sex than I care to read.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    The Only Book I've ever Torn In Half and Thrown Out

    I can't believe this book came at the top of the est selling historical romances. There is a part in this book where the girl is beaten by her husband and it is justified. I read 3 more chapters and they kept referring to it in a positive way. Woman look to romances for escape not to read about their herione becoming a victim of domestic volience. Don't buy this book.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my fav

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Great plot, good writing and a story that will make you want to read more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The best series I've EVER read.

    I don't normally re-read books, this will be my 5th time on this series!!! The author gets you so involved with the characters that I genuinely miss them after a while. My sisters thought I was crazy until they finally started them, now they are in love with Clare and Jamie as much as I am! Fantastic read, don't miss them!!! Tina Goble

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    Sprawling and Savage Historical Romance

    Sprawling (in both detail and plot), savage historical romance with a paranormal element (time travel) by a wonderful storyteller who also happens to be a good writer. Entirely told in first person (from the heroine's point of view) yet I didn't feel cheated or bored by that at all (which I was afraid of). Some questions were left unanswered (maybe saved for the next book?), but most were, even the small ones. The emotional conflicts were believable and the main characters (and several valuable secondary) were well-developed.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    Fantastic Book!

    A friend recommended this series to me so I decided to give it a try as she said "these are the best books I have ever read" I have to be honest, in the beginning I really couldn't see it, but as I kept reading I found myself loving each and every page of this book! It starts out slow but is well worth pushing through. Fantastic book and highly recommeded I have bought this book for 3 different people for their birthdays.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 4047 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 203