BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Outlander (Outlander Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4128 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2933)

4 Star

(582)

3 Star

(289)

2 Star

(154)

1 Star

(170)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

120 out of 127 people found this review helpful.

I want more!!!

The Outlander series is really good and now I am hooked on them just like all my freinds. Well, before I read any book series I HAVE to get most of them before I start to read any of them and I hate to read novels out of sequence.
Outlander was a delight! My friends...
The Outlander series is really good and now I am hooked on them just like all my freinds. Well, before I read any book series I HAVE to get most of them before I start to read any of them and I hate to read novels out of sequence.
Outlander was a delight! My friends were RIGHT! It WAS good and I did like it! I too fell in love with Jamie. In fact I felt sorry for the bloke! What he went through!! I cried for him, hurt for him, was enraged with everything he went through, right along with the heroine. I wanted to pummel Captain Randell so many times, even wanted to smack Jamie a couple of times for being so stubborn!
Gabaldon not only brought the characters to life but the time period as well. I really felt I was in Jacobite Scotland. She is an extraordinary storyteller. The book was suspenseful and filled with intrique as well as with romance. I'd still like to know who hit Jamie on the back of the head. She never really explained that. Several characters where suspected, but none admitted to it.
While slow in places, especially when the heroine was talking about the historical aspects of the time period or something that had to do with healing, the book had a nice pace and did keep me interested until the end. In fact when I reached the end I wanted MORE! Thank goodness there IS a second book! I have begun Dragonfly in Amber and already it has me intrigued and in tears!

posted by 148617 on October 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

77 out of 256 people found this review helpful.

Soft porn

I was disappointed. It was a subject I was interested in with likable characters but it was soft porn that got worse the deeper you got in to the book.

posted by ShrewishWench on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 4169 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 209
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    I want more!!!

    The Outlander series is really good and now I am hooked on them just like all my freinds. Well, before I read any book series I HAVE to get most of them before I start to read any of them and I hate to read novels out of sequence.<BR/>Outlander was a delight! My friends were RIGHT! It WAS good and I did like it! I too fell in love with Jamie. In fact I felt sorry for the bloke! What he went through!! I cried for him, hurt for him, was enraged with everything he went through, right along with the heroine. I wanted to pummel Captain Randell so many times, even wanted to smack Jamie a couple of times for being so stubborn!<BR/>Gabaldon not only brought the characters to life but the time period as well. I really felt I was in Jacobite Scotland. She is an extraordinary storyteller. The book was suspenseful and filled with intrique as well as with romance. I'd still like to know who hit Jamie on the back of the head. She never really explained that. Several characters where suspected, but none admitted to it.<BR/>While slow in places, especially when the heroine was talking about the historical aspects of the time period or something that had to do with healing, the book had a nice pace and did keep me interested until the end. In fact when I reached the end I wanted MORE! Thank goodness there IS a second book! I have begun Dragonfly in Amber and already it has me intrigued and in tears!

    120 out of 127 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2010

    The "romance novel" for NON-romance readers

    This book is 736 pages (on my Nook) and I read it all in a day and a half - that's how magnetic it is. Be warned, you won't get anything else done while reading it. Now, I wouldn't go around calling it academic literature or anything, but as an escapist novel, it is divine. I hate romance fussy stuff, *never* read romance novels, and I adored this book. Yet it is about a love story, and it has plenty of 'adult fun time' described in it to support the romantic relationship the two main characters have to each other. So a romance novel it is I suppose. And yet one that is well written, tight, with great plot control and well developed characters; tense thrills and wonderfully researched history. It is one of the rare novels in which, after putting it aside for a few days, I still have to remind myself that the characters are not real and I am not, in fact, living in 18th century Scotland and my husband will laugh at me if I talk with a brogue. It's so incredibly engaging! I enjoyed every minute of this work. I highly recommend it.

    83 out of 90 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    In a word... "Stunning!"

    It took me about 200 pages before I became an addict,(and it was a rough 200 pages!) so don't let the beginning turn you off from this incredible series! There is a method to her madness, and once it catches, you will literally be lost in time!<BR/><BR/>I can't recall which book it was (2 or 3) that literally had me in tears by the end. This is the ONLY author ever talented enough to suck me into her world as thoroughally, and completely as this.

    83 out of 90 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Soft porn

    I was disappointed. It was a subject I was interested in with likable characters but it was soft porn that got worse the deeper you got in to the book.

    77 out of 256 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    I feel depraved (and deprived)

    Diana Gabaldon leads off with an interesting premise and, next thing you know, you're into a pretty good time travel book. She has talent, no question, and her style is just fine for this type of book. Spoilers coming spoilers spoiler spoiler. Spoiler The problem is that she hobbles her talent with a plethora of unnecessary sex scenes. Some are longer, some are shorter; some are highly explicit, some are relatively tame; sometimes the characters are both willing, and sometimes the scenes are of rape... or the next thing to it -- or both. Now I love sex morning, noon and night if I can get it. And I never thought I'd say this in a million years, but -- there's too much sex in this book. Sometimes it seems our heroine (Claire) must be the only woman in Scotland because nearly every man she meets wants or tries to jump her bones. And I think it's great that she and her husband have lots of sex -- but I don't need to read about it every dozen pages or so. This is a long book and I think it has room for about 3 long wet wild sex scenes and a bunch of more circumspect mentions of the subject. Now some of the sex is integral to the plot, but some of it just sidetracks plot and character development and is plain annoying. There was so much sex in this book that it left me thinking I don't have nearly enough -- but if I tried to keep up with Jaimie and Claire, I'm sure it would shorten my life. I have the next book, "Dragonfly in Amber," but I won't be reading it anytime soon -- if ever. "Muff," I say. Er, I mean, "Nuff," I say.

    63 out of 115 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    This is the best book ever!

    I am an avid reader. Outlander, the first book in Gabaldon's Outlander Series, is one of the best books I've ever read! Claire and her husband go to Scotland for a second honeymoon shortly after WWII. While on a walk, Claire touches a stone and is transported back to Scotland in the 1700's. She meets Jamie Frasier and their incredible love affair, adventure, epic saga beings. There is something for everyone in Gabaldon's Outlander series: history, adventure, romance, time travel, warfare, even a touch of veiled eroticism here and there. Do not be afraid of the size of Gabaldon's books - you will be sad when they end and look forward to the next one with much anticipation.

    50 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Read this book - Please!

    I have to admit - I DO NOT read romance novels - would never buy one. I like intense mysteries, historal fiction of England - and I found all of this in the Outlander only taking place in the Highlands. When I received this book as a gift for Christmas, I had no idea that I would get caught up in a "romance" novel. But its more than that, the history of the clans, the superstitions that the Highlanders believed - and just one turn after another in the storyline. I love the characters and the book is so well written - I couldn't put it down and ready for the 2nd in the series...how have I missed this author?

    40 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THE BEST BOOK SERIES EVER EVER EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is my all time favorite book series I've ever had the pleasure of reading! if you like romantic settings, love, adventure--you will love these books. Read them all, you won't be disappointed! My most treasured books in my library. I own the paperbacks and am currently acquiring the hardcopies. I will pass these books down to my daughters someday.

    25 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A BEAUTIFUL READ!!!

    Outlander is a title that I've had several friends tell me I need to read, but I just put it in the back of my mind as a dated historical romance until this tag. I wish that I had read this book when it first came out. Because then the novelty of time travel would have been fresh, and I wouldn't have felt the weight of every other romance I've read over the years with that theme that have cribbed from Outlander. Claire is a wonderful, absolutely non-stereotypical, character. Her dilemma of loving and marrying two men in two different times makes her fascinating as well. There was only one time I wanted to smack her: In Wentworth Prison, instead of watching Jamie and the brute fighting each other, she should have had the forthwith to smack Randall and take care of him before he woke up!! That made me want to tear my hair out a bit. The middle did drag a bit, and for awhile it felt like the book would never end. I enjoyed it, but it was loooong! I have already added Dragonfly in Amber, the sequel, to my wish list. It's got romantic sex without being pornographic. Lots of amazing historical detail. Jamie is awesome! How cool is it that for once the MAN is the virgin! Gabaldon turns so many romance stereotypes on their head. I highly recommend this beautiful read.

    24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    The first book is a door to a world you will never forget-- worth reading.

    I haven't seen this edition in person yet, but I know I will purchase it. I have two other copies of Outlander that I have lent to many friends. I know that once they start reading the series they will continue. Our book club hasn't used any of Diana Gabaldon books for a selection, yet we have spent more time discussing the Outlander Series than any other book! No matter how determined we are to stay on topic, Fraser Ridge inevitably gets mentioned. Outlander is a fascinating world created by an author who uses her talent to make characters feel so real you want to invite them to dinner. I have yet to meet a man who can hold a candle to Jamie, and I want to be Claire when I grow up.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    Wow!

    I could not put this book down. The characters are so real, how could you not love Jamie! I was a little doubtful at first with the time travel idea, however, once you get into the story, it just draws you in and you forget everything else. Claire's sense of humor is enjoyable. Diana Gabaldon's style of writing keeps you wanting to know what happens next. There is one part of the story that is a bit hard to read, and I have to say it brought tears to my eyes, but just makes you love Jamie even more. I am currently reading the next book in the series, and this is just as enjoyable.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    I read this book about 10 years ago and just didn't care for it. I found it recently among my books and thought I would give it another shot and boy am I glad I did! The book is long and filled with so many details, but I think that is part of the charm of Gabaldon's writing. I found myself laughing, crying and cringing at so many parts. This is truly an original story and a great one at that. If you want a quick read, this book is not for you. I read it in 3 days, but there is so much to take it, I should have slowed down to really absorb it all. It's a well written story filled with everything you might want.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    wow

    I got this book for free, and totally avoided it for so long. It just didnt seem like a story I was going to be into. Im also not one to care much for sex scenes. For the first time I read a story that had the scenes make sense to me. I mean, as I kept reading( because i was hooked) I realized by the end of the last page how they fit into the story. She didnt just build the characters of the people, but the relationship as well. The love and all it was for them had a personality alomost. I wasnt sure what drove me through this book, but at the end I bought ALL the remaining books that followed and read them in 3 months. The story gets even better. I even started to look at myself, my marraige and all that makes me, me. Maybe I am to sentimental and some wont see this book as I saw it. If you liked it I say get the others to go with it. Follow this couple..its wonderful.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing read

    Diana Gabaldon has really shown her talent in this first book in her series. Wow. The characters are well developed and all very interesting. The plot is amazing, the time travel is exciting. The history is fictional but well researched at the same time. What more could you ask for. When Claire Randall accidently time travels into 17 century Scotland, shes in for the ride of a lifetime, to say the least. She meets horrible people like Jack Randall and amazing people like Jamie Fraser. At first Claire wants nothing but to time travel back to her time. But slowly she adapts to her new life, and falls in love with Jamie. Your in for a treat if you decide to read this. If you've already read it, I'm sure you will agree to say that this book may have kept you up late one or two nights. The romance, action, and adventure of this book is amazing.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Entirely too much detail.

    I had high hopes for this book after reading all the good reviews. However, once I started reading i thought, ok this is going to start picking up any time now and so I kept reading and it really never gained momentum. I don't feel that the characters were really developed enough for me to really care about them or what happened to them. There were a couple parts brief exciting parts that were good but they were few and far between. The rest of it was drawn out details on things of non-importance. It was a struggle to get through the entire book and it wasn't worth the time. I thought it might get better towards the end but it didn't, in fact it took a really weird twist that i didn't care for. I would highly recommend Karen Marie Moning's Highlander Series and even more so her Fever series which is magnificent. Sorry to be a downer but this book was torture to get through.

    11 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    Took me to another place

    Outlander is one of the best books I have ever read. And I mean it. It was suggested by a friend and I only read it because of her recommendation. I was not sure the story line sounded that interesting. It started slow but then it blossomed. The author puts you in the story. You connect with the charaters. I fell in love, I mourned, and I was captured. I highly recommend this book. It is one of my favorites.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2014

    This series of books is wonderful!  I started with this first bo

    This series of books is wonderful!  I started with this first book, &quot;Outlander&quot;, and continued to read every following book until the end. Diana Gabaldon's writing is superb. Her attention to detail and gift of story telling has kept me thoroughly entertained over several months. The characters in the books have become my friends.  I was sorry to read the last page of the final and 8th book, but was left completely satisfied.  The relationships between the characters are what make these books so rich - especially the magical relationship between Claire &amp; Jamie.  I used to read books like this &amp; have thoughts like &quot;I wish I had a relationship like that...&quot; But this time I didn't because I've read other amazing books that have made my relationship with my husband just as sweet, loving &amp; sexy as Claire &amp; Jamie's. Check out Ariel &amp; Shya Kane's books, &quot;How to Have A Match Made in Heaven&quot; and &quot;How to Create a Magical Relationship&quot;. It's a possibility for all of us! Enjoy Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series!  It's delicious reading.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not at all impressed.

    I'm an avid reader of historical fiction and I have to say that this book just left me exhausted and deflated. There were too many details about things that were of no importance to the plot. This book could easily have been a 300 page book but instead just dragged out to the point where I had to put it down and walk away. The main character was really hard to relate to due to some of the ridiculous circumstances portrayed and her reactions to them. I'm not a big fan of romance cliches either, and unfortunately this one was full of them. I'd definitely take a pass on this book and the following 2 books of this series.

    10 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    You have to get this book!

    This is the 20th Anniversary Edition of the first book in the outlander series. This is one of my all time favorite books, Diana Gabaldon has created such a wonderful story that has been enjoyed by so many people. If you havent read it you are really missing out on a great book. Check out some of the outlander book clubs and Diana's websight for more info. Once you start reading this you will be hooked on Jamie and Claire forever. To answer some questions, this book is a all in one story that is hard to put in a single catagory,If I had to sum it up with a few words I would say, historical fiction,romance, war,the 1700's,scottish highlands, and time travel. I would highly recommend reading everything this Author has written (I Have )and I belong to some outlander book clubs that talk about each book, so yes I think it is a perfect book for club discussions.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wealth of Historical Detail Kept Me Reading

    Like Jude Deveraux's &lt;i&gt;A Knight in Shining Armor&lt;/i&gt;, one of those "modern heroine travels to centuries past" stories; in this case, 18th Century Scotland. Gabaldon can found in general fiction often these days and the novel was noteworthy when published for breaking a lot of romance genre rules (while keeping to some romance cliches like marriage of convenience.) Unusual in this genre for being told in first person. Definitely in style and attention to historical detail a cut above the usual in the romance aisle, and this is one I finished and actually kept on my bookshelf. On the other hand, you need a strong stomach with this novel, which featured heterosexual and homosexual rape, domestic violence and sadistic torture. After all the characters go through, when I discovered that in the next novel Gabaldon in a sense hit the reset button, I dropped the sequel and series. But I do remember this first novel as an engaging adventure tale and romance.

    9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 4169 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 209