Customer Reviews for

Outlander (Outlander Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3919 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2784)

4 Star

(549)

3 Star

(275)

2 Star

(148)

1 Star

(163)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

92 out of 98 people found this review helpful.

I want more!!!

The Outlander series is really good and now I am hooked on them just like all my freinds. Well, before I read any book series I HAVE to get most of them before I start to read any of them and I hate to read novels out of sequence.
Outlander was a delight! My friends...
The Outlander series is really good and now I am hooked on them just like all my freinds. Well, before I read any book series I HAVE to get most of them before I start to read any of them and I hate to read novels out of sequence.
Outlander was a delight! My friends were RIGHT! It WAS good and I did like it! I too fell in love with Jamie. In fact I felt sorry for the bloke! What he went through!! I cried for him, hurt for him, was enraged with everything he went through, right along with the heroine. I wanted to pummel Captain Randell so many times, even wanted to smack Jamie a couple of times for being so stubborn!
Gabaldon not only brought the characters to life but the time period as well. I really felt I was in Jacobite Scotland. She is an extraordinary storyteller. The book was suspenseful and filled with intrique as well as with romance. I'd still like to know who hit Jamie on the back of the head. She never really explained that. Several characters where suspected, but none admitted to it.
While slow in places, especially when the heroine was talking about the historical aspects of the time period or something that had to do with healing, the book had a nice pace and did keep me interested until the end. In fact when I reached the end I wanted MORE! Thank goodness there IS a second book! I have begun Dragonfly in Amber and already it has me intrigued and in tears!

posted by 148617 on October 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

70 out of 230 people found this review helpful.

Soft porn

I was disappointed. It was a subject I was interested in with likable characters but it was soft porn that got worse the deeper you got in to the book.

posted by ShrewishWench on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Soft porn

    I was disappointed. It was a subject I was interested in with likable characters but it was soft porn that got worse the deeper you got in to the book.

    70 out of 230 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not at all impressed.

    I'm an avid reader of historical fiction and I have to say that this book just left me exhausted and deflated. There were too many details about things that were of no importance to the plot. This book could easily have been a 300 page book but instead just dragged out to the point where I had to put it down and walk away. The main character was really hard to relate to due to some of the ridiculous circumstances portrayed and her reactions to them. I'm not a big fan of romance cliches either, and unfortunately this one was full of them. I'd definitely take a pass on this book and the following 2 books of this series.

    10 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Entirely too much detail.

    I had high hopes for this book after reading all the good reviews. However, once I started reading i thought, ok this is going to start picking up any time now and so I kept reading and it really never gained momentum. I don't feel that the characters were really developed enough for me to really care about them or what happened to them. There were a couple parts brief exciting parts that were good but they were few and far between. The rest of it was drawn out details on things of non-importance. It was a struggle to get through the entire book and it wasn't worth the time. I thought it might get better towards the end but it didn't, in fact it took a really weird twist that i didn't care for. I would highly recommend Karen Marie Moning's Highlander Series and even more so her Fever series which is magnificent. Sorry to be a downer but this book was torture to get through.

    10 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Not recommended for romance readers

    Someone compared this to Jude Deveroux's "A Knight in Shining Armor," but there was absolutely no resemblance to my favorite romance novel. The story is classified as a romance, but there is nothing really romantic about it. I read nearly 350 pages and then decided to quit. I love books that give me some sort of an emotional impact. The story did not make me cry, laugh, or get angry with a character.The story just dragged on and on. Also, I don't know why a reviewer wrote that this author has vulgar language and sex scenes because she was very modest in my opinion, but this comes from an avid romance reader. If you love Jude Deveroux, Judith McNaught, Monica McCarty, PC Cast, and Charlene Cross...then prepared to be disappointed with this author's writing style.

    8 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    Be careful

    Pretty disturbing book as it contains vivid descriptions on domestic violence, tortures, and rape.

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    1 star

    1star - outlander #1 was a disappointment. Outlander was an interesting concept, but the characters or story line were not completely developed by the author.
    The author did a very good job of describing Scotland it made you feel as if you were there. That's the only saving grace about this book.
    The biggest problem was every other page starting with the first chapter had sex scenes or talked about sex. If you remove all the sex scenes the 800+ pages on the ereader would become 400+ pages, then if you remove all the pages they talk about sex the book would be 200+ pages.
    Of the 200+ pages very little action, story line drags, i was getting confused who was in what side of the war, very little explanation of what was happening or background info. I forced myself to read 400+ pages hoping this book would improve. I even started skipping paragraphs trying to find something interesting, I failed.
    One reviewer mentioned that the main character must be the only woman in Scotland because everyone want to jump her bones or lusted after her - they were right. What few woman are mentioned in this book are seniors or teenagers. Of course the teenagers are jealous of our heroine and the seniors just make fleeting appears in the book to preform a task. It appears the only young woman in this book that are over 18 and younger than 35 is our herione, so you can see why they all want to have sex with her.
    I am thankful this was a free friday book and won't be upset about deleting it from my library.
    If you want to read a book with lots of sex in it than you will enjoy this book. If you want a book with good character development, a developed story line, and action, this is not the book to read. I won't be finishing this book nor do i desire to read the rest of this serious. It is a shame the concept of this book had a good chance of becoming a great story.
    I cannot recommend this book and it is being deleted from my library ASAP.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Could not recommend

    I read this book looking for a powerful female hero and I enjoyed the first third of the novel. After that however, it went from bad to worse. If you read it be prepared for heavy S&M content. I will not read this author again.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    The Only Book I've ever Torn In Half and Thrown Out

    I can't believe this book came at the top of the est selling historical romances. There is a part in this book where the girl is beaten by her husband and it is justified. I read 3 more chapters and they kept referring to it in a positive way. Woman look to romances for escape not to read about their herione becoming a victim of domestic volience. Don't buy this book.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Beware! Not your typical romance novel!

    So I came upon this book reading some reviews of a beloved book, Jude Deveraux's A Knight in Shining Armor. A reviewer said they loved that book and also Outlander. I assumed they would be somewhat similar. In the beginning they were and I kept reading waiting for them to live happily ever after. My wait was in vain however. At the end I felt slightly sick and completely horrified. That is not the feeling I like to be left with at the end of a romance novel. Its clear that this book is for some people but if you are reading it with the idea that your getting a great run of the mill romance novel then beware! I read this book to the very end because I have never not finished a book that I started but I can assure you I will not be getting the second in this series!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Thoroughly disappointed!

    I usually purchase my books by reading the reviews of other readers, but this book was just too long and drawn out. I liked the two main characters but not enough to go on with this series. The sex scenes were awful!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    Horrible read!

    Too bad I bought #2 in the series.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    scarcely entertaining

    GRRR!! this book SUCKS..because of the good reviews i decided to buy the first three books of the series and it was a HUGE mistake. To start with, the storyline was so slow and full of fillers, the writer could have cut half of the things in the book and the story would still be the same. Also i feel like that the main character wasn't portrait as a tough Laird, instead a man full of self pity that would take unnecessary beating and would let another man rape him, why would the writer put something like that in a love story is beyond my comprehension. I tried to the like the book but after a disappointing ending i wasn't sure if i can:(

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2005

    Worst book ever

    The book started out ok but the ending was terrible. I was so upset this book is so long and I took the time out to read it only so that I could be disappointed in the end. I will write to the author to see if she can give me a refund for buying this terrible book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2014

    Horrid book. Just horrid. Completely uninteresting characters.

    Horrid book. Just horrid. Completely uninteresting characters. Very repetitive and long winded with lots of gratuitous sex and torture. The only plot device the author apparently knows how to use is rape and she uses it over and over again. And honestly? if having your husband beat you raw because you disobeyed him is your idea of romance, that's pretty sad. I think I was halfway through when I realized that life is too short to spend any more of it on this regressive little bodice-ripper. It's basically 50 shades of grey with a thin veneer of "historical" romance. At least you'll look a wee bit classier reading it on the train. Cheers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    Way to long.....................................................

    Way to long.............................................................
    This was to long for  a time travel book.   Way to long for a Highland romance.  Loaded with unnecessary dull filler.  But the real turn off was....SPOILER ALERT..................not only was this book full of depraved sex, violence and torture......but it is the first time I have ever read a book where the hero in a romance is repeatedly raped by another man.  Gross.   I can't imagine why people liked this book.   

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Hated it

    I really don't understand the good reviews. I wanted to like this book after a friend recommended it, but I just couldn't. It goes on forever, there's too much sex, partnered with rape and domestic violence. I won't be reading anything else by this author.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Mostly stupid and long winded. So disappointing! Some parts made me feel sick. What a waste of a fun plot. I am glad I did not buy the collection.

    Hated it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    way too graphic for me

    not sure why this was a bestseller and gets raves. Graphic torture, graphic rape (equal opportunity rape, gay or straight), graphic abuse... sigh... I just wanted a good historical time travel fiction with some romance. This just grossed me out.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Annonymous

    All of my friends have raved about thi series. I liked the book, until the graphic homosexual rape. At first the seen was implied, it was then graphically explained. I felt disgusted after reading the scene. What a horrible way to ruin a good story. I will not be reading the rest of the series. If homosexual rape and sadistic torture are your thing, this is the book for you. Otherwise, pass it by.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    couldn't finish it

    As soon as I realized that this was just a romance novel, I put it down in disgust, sorry that I had bought it, and started reading Jasper Fforde's clever, entertaining Thursday Next series. A huge improvement!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9