Customer Reviews for

Outlander (Outlander Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3905 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2777)

4 Star

(546)

3 Star

(275)

2 Star

(146)

1 Star

(161)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

90 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

I want more!!!

The Outlander series is really good and now I am hooked on them just like all my freinds. Well, before I read any book series I HAVE to get most of them before I start to read any of them and I hate to read novels out of sequence.
Outlander was a delight! My friends...
The Outlander series is really good and now I am hooked on them just like all my freinds. Well, before I read any book series I HAVE to get most of them before I start to read any of them and I hate to read novels out of sequence.
Outlander was a delight! My friends were RIGHT! It WAS good and I did like it! I too fell in love with Jamie. In fact I felt sorry for the bloke! What he went through!! I cried for him, hurt for him, was enraged with everything he went through, right along with the heroine. I wanted to pummel Captain Randell so many times, even wanted to smack Jamie a couple of times for being so stubborn!
Gabaldon not only brought the characters to life but the time period as well. I really felt I was in Jacobite Scotland. She is an extraordinary storyteller. The book was suspenseful and filled with intrique as well as with romance. I'd still like to know who hit Jamie on the back of the head. She never really explained that. Several characters where suspected, but none admitted to it.
While slow in places, especially when the heroine was talking about the historical aspects of the time period or something that had to do with healing, the book had a nice pace and did keep me interested until the end. In fact when I reached the end I wanted MORE! Thank goodness there IS a second book! I have begun Dragonfly in Amber and already it has me intrigued and in tears!

posted by 148617 on October 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

68 out of 225 people found this review helpful.

Soft porn

I was disappointed. It was a subject I was interested in with likable characters but it was soft porn that got worse the deeper you got in to the book.

posted by ShrewishWench on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    I feel depraved (and deprived)

    Diana Gabaldon leads off with an interesting premise and, next thing you know, you're into a pretty good time travel book. She has talent, no question, and her style is just fine for this type of book. Spoilers coming spoilers spoiler spoiler. Spoiler The problem is that she hobbles her talent with a plethora of unnecessary sex scenes. Some are longer, some are shorter; some are highly explicit, some are relatively tame; sometimes the characters are both willing, and sometimes the scenes are of rape... or the next thing to it -- or both. Now I love sex morning, noon and night if I can get it. And I never thought I'd say this in a million years, but -- there's too much sex in this book. Sometimes it seems our heroine (Claire) must be the only woman in Scotland because nearly every man she meets wants or tries to jump her bones. And I think it's great that she and her husband have lots of sex -- but I don't need to read about it every dozen pages or so. This is a long book and I think it has room for about 3 long wet wild sex scenes and a bunch of more circumspect mentions of the subject. Now some of the sex is integral to the plot, but some of it just sidetracks plot and character development and is plain annoying. There was so much sex in this book that it left me thinking I don't have nearly enough -- but if I tried to keep up with Jaimie and Claire, I'm sure it would shorten my life. I have the next book, "Dragonfly in Amber," but I won't be reading it anytime soon -- if ever. "Muff," I say. Er, I mean, "Nuff," I say.

    46 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    Mildly Entertaining

    Heartened by the overall high rating and positive reviews, I thought I would give this book a try. As a frequent reader and lover of historical fiction, the premise of the book truly interested me.

    In summary, a happily married 20th century nurse finds herself mysteriously transported to 18th century Scotland, where (through predictable plot conventions), she finds herself married to another man. They encounter hiccups along the way.and then the book ends.

    My biggest gripe with this book is the bumbling pace. Perhaps writer's block can explain the sporadic jumps and lack of cohesive, climax building plot. Imagine how disappointed I was (SPOILER) to read that the arch antagonist of the book is disposed of neatly and without the emotional payoff we expect.

    The author, more often than not, seems to be showing off her intensive research of the period rather than making a cohesive, sensible plot. To make matters worse, the reader receives a heavy dose of her masochistic leanings throughout the book. It becomes tiresome.

    I'm all up for a good love story, but this one was wooden. We are given no indication that our protagonist is unhappy in her 20th century marriage. (SPOILER) Yet she struggles very little throughout the course of the book in her decision to abandon it. I don't buy it.

    I feel no sense of closure or catharsis upon finishing this. Nor do I feel particularly inspired to purchase the sequel.

    5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    I thought the plot was intriguing and it would have been a good

    I thought the plot was intriguing and it would have been a good read if the author would have left out all the boring side plots and silly romance. After the torture/rape of the hero I was so disgusted and very sorry I paid money for it. I know it has been very popular but I will not read any further into the series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Great potential, but..........

    The author goes on and on and on and on and on and on. Get my point?

    I wanted to like this book. Really, I did. Such a great story line. There is just so much detail to things that don't matter in this book. From ever wrinkle to every crumb, the author covered it. There were times I was yelling at the book for it to "get to the point!"

    It saddens me to give this book 2 stars after all the rave reviews. The two stars are because I really did like the characters. I liked the story line. It just had too much in between "stuff."

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    If you like Historical Fiction - May not be your cup of tea...

    I have been reading historical fiction books throughout my whole life. A lot of them do include sex scenes, but they are nothing like the ones in this book. I am not a romance novel reader, and perhaps that's why I don't like this. I read another review that said this is nothing compared to other romance novels....well remind me not to read romance novels. I don't like violent sex scenes, and I REALLY don't like domestic violance - no matter the circumstances. I liked the book at the beginning and I liked the characters....but they completely changed. There was not enough good history in the book to compensate for it's downfalls. Spoilersssss--- I also DO NOT like the man Jamie turned into. Constantly loosing his temper everytime Claire brings up anything and bruising her in more than one way to get back at her. It's just not my cup of tea. I love the Tea Rose series. That series has it all - historical fiction, romance and a little mystery and violence for good measure...

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    TMI

    The premise is great, the characters are engaging, but it had more detailed sex than I care to read.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Could not finish

    ***Spoilers***

    I had to put the book down after the main character began laughing along with her husband during the author's futile (in my case) attempt to humanize him, just days after he beat her 'for her own good.'

    I volunteer in an anti-domestic violence program and this is a classic example of a honeymoon period in the cycle of violence. I have to wonder if the author has been a victim herself... but most of all I worry for all the readers who see how this character is accepting this abuse, and think that it is okay to accept in their lives. It's not, and it isn't something to be taken lightly. It should not have been written as a bonding experience between spouses, but rather an obstacle for the main character to overcome.

    Extremely disappointed.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    Porn

    I agree ,with Shrewish Woman. The characters are good but the story drags on and on with Porn taking the place of a really interesting story.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    :(

    There were so many instances in this book that either were degrading to women or simply boring. I found myself skimming through it just to finish it. Not what I expected at all. This author's writing style just does not do much for me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2010

    Who wrote the end??

    It took a while to get to know the characters, but then it was hard not to keep reading to find out what happened next. The end, however, was a shock. It was too much, too revoltingly unbelievable, and felt like it was written by someone else. The author spared us explicit and gory details throughout the first 700 pages, then let all hell break loose. Admittedly, I read to the end, but I wish I had stopped when my sensibilities warned me to.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The slowest book ever

    Felt like homework.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2004

    Disappointed

    ZZZzzzzzzz..... Too wordy and too much rambling. I should've bought a secondhand version instead, preferrably with highlights so I won't need to have wasted my time reading through page after page of irrelevant scenes and dialogues. Once in a while you come across an interesting page or a witty remark or two, but after it is immediately dulled by the consistent bland wordiness of the book. Pah!

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    A Harlequin Novel

    A good book is one that has such a great story line that you think about when busy with other tasks and can't wait to get back to it. This is not that type of story.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    Chick Book

    I tried very hard to get into this book. I gave it 300 pages then I did something I rarely do. I quit and moved on to another book. The book is well written but the author goes into mind numbing detail about everything except the sex. Gabaldon could take a page out of Auel's books for examples of good sex and the anthropology of the age.

    I tend to read everything by an author when I find a good one. I won't be buying any more of Gabaldon's books. Just not my cup of tea. Maybe its a guy thing. I feel this book is written for female readers who might appreciate the effort far more than a male. (I'm a male.)

    BUT, just so you know, I LOVE Jean Auel's books. Have read every one of them except Painted Caves which does not get good reviews so won't pay retail to find out for myself. In fact, the poor reviews of Auel's last would apply to Outlander, IMHO.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    OUTLANDISH!!!

    I cannot understand why this book has so many positive reviews. Could they have possibly read the same words that I did? First of all, I found the writing style so frustrating with its super long descriptions that I found myself skipping pages to get to the dialogue. Secondly, I find the heroine to be crude, vulgar and all together too willing to sleep with a guy just because she finds him attractive. She says she misses her husband but it does not seem to affect her too much. The hero is a brute, archaic, horny savage who beats her, and practically rapes her. All he seems to want is to have sex all the time. I cannot get the connection between them beyond a physical one which leaves me wanting more. She justifies the way he treats her by making excuses for him. I was so insulted with some of the things I was reading that instead of feeling romantic and dreamy like (as you would want a romance to make you feel) I wanted to punch him in the nose from the outrage. I am glad I got this book when it was free on my nook because I would have felt ripped off if I had paid for it. Clearly I will not read anymore of this series.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2010

    Graphic Rape Ruins Book

    The sweeping romance and strong characterization of this novel are destroyed, in my opinion, when the hero is brutally raped in prison. If an explicit description in horrendous detail does not bother you, go ahead and read it.

    As this is an immensely popular series, I presume that other readers were able to overlook this event for the sake of plot development. I wish them joy of it then, as I am not among them AT ALL.

    I downloaded the free ebook. It wasn't worth the price.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    Too much sex!

    This had the possibility of being a great story. Its premise is very interesting to a fan of historical fiction. But the amount of detail in the sexual encounters is really a turnoff. If I wanted to read a trashy romance novel, I would.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I really wish I could like this book...

    I tried really hard to get into this book.
    I love time travel books. I thought The Time Traveler's Wife was awesome.
    I could only get 1/2 way and that was a struggle.
    I tried to like this book but...I could not.
    I just do not want everyone to feel they "should" like this book.
    I can not imagine how people continue to read the many long length books in this series. Half of the first one was enough for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    I wish I had read the reviews first before purchasing this book.

    I wish I had read the reviews first before purchasing this book. The storyline had a lot of potential and the characters were likable, but the amount of sex in this novel is ridiculous. I am 400 pages in and can't stomach anymore! It's just not integral to the storyline, it's gratuitous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2014

    Rambles on and on.  I have never skimmed through a book as much

    Rambles on and on.  I have never skimmed through a book as much as I did this one.  Not sure why everyone says its soft porn; it wasn't even sexy.  Yes they have sex a lot, but to the tune of "he took her off into the bushes and they had sex".  Not romantic, not erotic, not well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8