Customer Reviews for

Outlander (Outlander Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2997)

4 Star

(596)

3 Star

(296)

2 Star

(157)

1 Star

(173)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

124 out of 132 people found this review helpful.

I want more!!!

The Outlander series is really good and now I am hooked on them just like all my freinds. Well, before I read any book series I HAVE to get most of them before I start to read any of them and I hate to read novels out of sequence.
Outlander was a delight! My friends...
The Outlander series is really good and now I am hooked on them just like all my freinds. Well, before I read any book series I HAVE to get most of them before I start to read any of them and I hate to read novels out of sequence.
Outlander was a delight! My friends were RIGHT! It WAS good and I did like it! I too fell in love with Jamie. In fact I felt sorry for the bloke! What he went through!! I cried for him, hurt for him, was enraged with everything he went through, right along with the heroine. I wanted to pummel Captain Randell so many times, even wanted to smack Jamie a couple of times for being so stubborn!
Gabaldon not only brought the characters to life but the time period as well. I really felt I was in Jacobite Scotland. She is an extraordinary storyteller. The book was suspenseful and filled with intrique as well as with romance. I'd still like to know who hit Jamie on the back of the head. She never really explained that. Several characters where suspected, but none admitted to it.
While slow in places, especially when the heroine was talking about the historical aspects of the time period or something that had to do with healing, the book had a nice pace and did keep me interested until the end. In fact when I reached the end I wanted MORE! Thank goodness there IS a second book! I have begun Dragonfly in Amber and already it has me intrigued and in tears!

posted by 148617 on October 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

82 out of 262 people found this review helpful.

Soft porn

I was disappointed. It was a subject I was interested in with likable characters but it was soft porn that got worse the deeper you got in to the book.

posted by ShrewishWench on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 296 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wealth of Historical Detail Kept Me Reading

    Like Jude Deveraux's <i>A Knight in Shining Armor</i>, one of those "modern heroine travels to centuries past" stories; in this case, 18th Century Scotland. Gabaldon can found in general fiction often these days and the novel was noteworthy when published for breaking a lot of romance genre rules (while keeping to some romance cliches like marriage of convenience.) Unusual in this genre for being told in first person. Definitely in style and attention to historical detail a cut above the usual in the romance aisle, and this is one I finished and actually kept on my bookshelf. On the other hand, you need a strong stomach with this novel, which featured heterosexual and homosexual rape, domestic violence and sadistic torture. After all the characters go through, when I discovered that in the next novel Gabaldon in a sense hit the reset button, I dropped the sequel and series. But I do remember this first novel as an engaging adventure tale and romance.

    10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Age changes views!

    I read this years ago. I read about 3 of the series before I got bored with it. Lots of history, lots of charactors, some pretty graphic scenes, incredible in many ways. Not your standard romance drivel. This time though I gave up 500 pages in. It became boring to me much earlier this go round.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2013

    This is a 5-star story with 2 stars deducted for reasons I will

    This is a 5-star story with 2 stars deducted for reasons I will explain below.

    First the good: This is a well-researched story which begins in post-WWII with an English military nurse transplanted along with her husband to the Scottish countryside to start over their new life after a 7-year wartime separation. Having read much ACTUAL WWII literature written at that time, Claire's voice was credible and believable.

    More good: Thanks to a little paranormal mishap involving some standing-stones, Claire suddenly finds herself transported back in time 200 years to Scotland during the beginnings of the Jacobite rebellion. There she runs into none other than her 1940's husband's ancestor, who turns out to be a very bad man. Some Scottish highlanders rescue her just before she can be raped and drag her, even though they think she's an English spy, to stitch back together Jaime, a handsome young Scottish man who becomes important to her over the course of the story. The author pieced together meticulously the way these 1700's Scottish people live and the journey is a fascinating one.

    From there I won't elaborate more because it contains too many spoilers...

    Now the bad: Back to the 'bad man' ancestor of her husband, this is where we get into the two deducted stars. Rape has always been, unfortunately, a part of war. That the bad man tries to rape Claire does not surprise me. Nor that we later learn this same bad man purportedly raped Jaime's sister. But then (view spoiler)

    At what point does a story cross a line? When is rape is no longer used to portray a woman's worst fears and the horror of war, but becomes gratuitous? I think that line was far, far crossed by the third (and definitely by the fourth) rape scene. Enough, already! This story would have been perfect if not for the titillating depictions of rape. It went too far. It ruined my enjoyment of the story and left me feeling unsettled (and not in a good, thoughtful way) instead of satisfied.

    I will likely snag the second book in this series at some point because I have fallen in love with Jaime and Claire and am a full-blooded Celt with a soft spot for Highlanders, but if -that- book as well has gratuitous rape scenes, it will be my last one by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Outlander--sadly my search continues onto another series...

    Could it be? I really thought for a brief shining moment that my long search of fictional discovery was over, that I may have found the "perfect" historical series. Ultimately I am very disappointed and torn right now as I stare down at the last page on my nook.
    Never have I read a book I loved and yet loathed so much. I appreciated the authors (believable) story telling style and research of the era. I truly felt I wasn't slogging through another dime romance novel with overly syrupy dialogue and one-dimensional characters. I felt I was enjoying a real solid piece of literacy art. I lost myself in this work for 4 days, lost myself within the rising highland mists, the history, folklore, and beautiful words of a promising true fictional romance. The first half of this book (up to the last parts/chapters) I honestly enjoyed and couldn't stop reading. "Outlander" exceeded my expectations and hopes of just escaping into a historical romance. I must say I am a bit obsessed with anything to do with Scotland or the Highlands as a result of having an early exposure and appreciation of certain films and fascination with history. Outlander supplied all this in a large silk bundle but along with that bundle of the wonderful descriptions of the hills, castles, lochs, manors, fascinating herb lore, medical language, history, old fashioned adventure, mystery and swoon worthy moments--there waited a dark downright nauseating shadow. I do not wish to spoil anything but the last chapters I wanted to throw my nook across the room in disgust. I read review upon review about what was waiting towards the end, but I chose not to believe all the negative reviews. The positives of this book far outweigh the negative but still I wish my eyes and vivid imagination weren't burned or damaged by the unnecessary situations, language, mockery of Catholics, and the needless physical perverse violence. These stained my spotless overall experience and so I am now torn between rating this book 5 stars or -1 and sadly my search will continue for another series (sigh).

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    Downhill Read

    I really enjoyed the first half of the book, but then the second half was a little strange. The plot thinned and Gabaldon seemed to focus too heavily on sadastic sexual descriptions that unecessarily overwhelmed the characters and plot. I was dissapointed in the end. I think I'll wait a little before picking up the next book in the series.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    90% of this book was AMAZING, the other 10% made me wish I hadn't read it

    Jamie and Clair are well written multi-dimensional characters that I absolutely fell in love with. The story itself was really good, not hard to follow at all, and very captivating. why is it not a movie? I'll tell you why, something happens in the book, very near the end, that is so disturbing and disgusting, too well described that it made me ANGRY that this crap was in my ROMANCE novel. Not to mention that this "mini plot" was beyond believablity. its like David and Goliath if Goliath was the good guy, who, by the way, is supposed to prevail. I'm angry because it was such a good book throughout and it just ruined it for me completely in the end. Why? Why did she have to do that? why, why why why why why????? I really don't think I'll be reading the rest of the series now. part of me is hoping that the story continues without more of the same, but I really don't want to waste my time on another book that's going to leave me feeling so.....unsatisfied and regretful...anyone know if what I described is in the rest of the series?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    It was ok, but not great

    Many times I wanted to put this book down and not finish it. It is an ok story, but nothing exciting. It did not hold my attention. I won't be reading the rest of the series.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    Not so sure about this one!

    A good friend of mine absolutely loved the series, so I decided to read Outlander. The first 50 pages were tough to get into, but once the time travel backwards began, I was hooked. I could not put this book down for about the first 400 pages. The sex stuff was a little too much for this novel, and made it a little less historical fiction then a pure romance novel. The last 400 pages was a challenge for me to read. It dragged on and these portions would have been better for a sequel. Since I was so engaged with the main characters at this point, and 400 pages into it, I had to continue reading. This ruined it for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2015

    Romping romance and action

    At times it felt a bit longer than it needed to be, but if you're in the mood for not-too-heavy-not-too-light, somewhat over-the-top romance and adventure, this is the book for you--there's plenty of both, almost to the point of it being rather overwhelming. While my rational side wanted to shout 'enough already!!' at times, the book certainly kept me reading to the end. The characters are likeable and it was fun to watch them interacting. I'm trying to decide whether I want to read more in the series--maybe later, if I can get it on sale or at the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2014

    Rgv itetrtw :vnxir vur vx t vvetctuc ijru tw cm utirdh t i ti u fjucrt cer vttw . V tte rt u et fy texy t r .e

    Truu u i irrt utetgr tg f ucnx ute i t wtcet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2014

    Authors of quality literature held in high esteem write about se

    Authors of quality literature held in high esteem write about sexual encounters very sparingly and include them only when necessary to the plot of the book. Gabaldon overdoes the sex scenes to such an excessive degree that they detract greatly from the overall quality of the book. I found myself groaning whenever I read several pages only to encounter ANOTHER sex scene and began to wonder if I was reading some sort of Bodice Ripper. First they're doing it in the bed, then in the field, then up against the fence, then in the shed -- ad nauseum. That part of the book seemed very juvenile to me, like someone who can't get over the idea of "Wow, they're having sex." And believe me, I'm not a prude!

    This was my main negative critique of the book. I found many other things to like about it -- interesting characters and their doings. But I would never include this book on my list of favorite literature on the same level of Du Maurier or J.K. Rowling because, with all the gratuitous sex in it, it doesn't deserve to be on that list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    I think there is something wrong with this version of the book.

    I think there is something wrong with this version of the book. Years ago I listened to the audio version of this book, which is how I got hooked on this series. This eBook does not end in the right place. SPOILER ALERT......In the audio version, Claire came back to the present (for her...1940s) to find that she had only been gone a few months from Frank's vantage point, but she is well along in her pregnancy. This eBook ends just after she reveals that she is pregnant but well before she and Jamie decide -- together -- that she should go back since he will die in the battle of Colloden. Something is amiss....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Very strange story.  They have a home --  why are they constantl

    Very strange story.  They have a home --  why are they constantly wandering around in the woods ??  Thought the whole storyline was pretty stupid actually.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Just OK

    Nice idea but the story didn't live up to its promise

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Have you ever thought about visiting Scotland in 1743? This q

    Have you ever thought about visiting Scotland in 1743? This question and more is answered in Outlander by Diana Gabaldon.
    Synopsis:
    Claire is on honeymoon trip with her husband Frank Randall. Frank is a historian and has a position with Oxford University when they get back. They are reconnecting in hopes of rekindling their romance since they were separated in the second world war. One day while Frank is visiting a friend and his housekeeper shows Claire how to read leaves in her tea. The housekeeper foresees that she will have two marriages. Claire’s first thought is it must be a mistake or would something happen to Frank? Little does she know circumstance with change when she visits the stones at Cragna Dun? What will she find through the rocks?
    My Thoughts:
    This is not my first time through Outlander. The first novel in a series introduces you to the main players in the future novels. The point of this book is to introduce you to Jaime, Claire, and Frank. I found the conflict to be most interesting what would you do if you were sent to a different time? Has she committed adultery?
    The only negative to me other than the length of the novel was the condition to of the audio book cds. I love Diana’s writing but I wonder why some parts of the book are included? I would still read more of her books.
    Ratings:
    3.50/5
    Please visit Diana on Facebook, twitter, and her website.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Outlander Series book 1

    The story as a whole was good but it was hard for me to stay interested. It usually would take me two days to finish a book of this length ( if it kept me interested ) It took me about a week and a half to finish this one. There were several point in this book that it dragged, badly. Usually I wouldn't say that there is to much detail in a book but in this one it was kind of like...an over load of information. I don't think I will be getting the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Pretty good!

    Have to read the next one now. I guess you could say i'm hooked. Had some pretty weird spots but over all really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    It was okay

    I thought the concept was very good, however, it seemed as if it went on and on. I love the main characters, but i dont think ill be finishing the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    It was different...

    As a lover of all things time travel, I was really excited to start this book. However, after forcing myself to finish it, page after dragging page, I think I'll stick with Lynn Kurland. After about 400 pages all I could think was what could possibly happen to these people next?! Even so, the next dramatic but slightly boring chapter commenced. If Danielle Steele wrote a time travel book, it still wouldn't have been this long or drawn out. As for the characters, I really didn't find them that relatable. I did like them, but I couldn't bring myself to support them. It did bring a different twist to the traditional travel back in time to Scotland theme, and it was raw to be sure, however it did not leave me wanting more, just wanting it to finally be over and grateful that I could move on to something else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    Good historically, but too steamy

    Outlander held my attention well. Very few of the characters were in danger of becoming props, though Jamie could certainly have used more dimension. Claire is extremely well rounded, and most other characters are too. The plot makes me wonder how well I would fair as a prophet if I were sent back in time. Claire remembers enough to help, but not so much that she can navigate the details. I don't know if I'll invest any time or money in continuing the series, I may. I am interested in the characters, but the tomes are a considerable investment. I have my doubts about the sex ... Claire has a drive like a guy, not realistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 296 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15