Customer Reviews for

Outlander (Outlander Series #1) (Starz Tie-in Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    I was working at Waldenbooks when this series came out and we we

    I was working at Waldenbooks when this series came out and we were having a problem trying to figure out where to place it in the store . . Romance . . Science Fiction . . Fiction? So I read the book and fell in love with the series. Yes. It is a Romance which is where we ultimately shelved the series. But I still remember taking women over to the Romance section from the Science Fiction/Fantasy section to show them this book. You see, most Sci-Fi/Fantasy readers wouldn't be caught dead with a Romance.

    My only complaint is that Ms. Gabaldon doesn't write fast enough! I am constantly checking the "Soon to be Released" looking for my next fix and counting the days until it shows up on my Nook. Her books are the only ones I ever Pre-order so I can have it as soon as possible.

    So, even if you aren't into Romance but like Historical Fiction with perhaps a little Science Fiction thrown in on the side . . take a chance and read this series. I can pretty much guarantee you will join the ranks of readers eagerly awaiting the next installment in the lives of Claire and Jamie.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    I got this book for a gift back in 1998 and it has been my favor

    I got this book for a gift back in 1998 and it has been my favorite series ever since. Historical fiction is my favorite genre and the characters are so alive and real, none of my daughters have read it yet, but they know about Jaime and Claire. I refer to them as though they are flesh and blood people. I am an avid reader and this series is so detailed and vivid, it is more like an experience than just a good read. I had for many years hoped that this would become a movie, but since the Game of Thrones series I changed my mind and was wishing for a cable series instead. I am thrilled that Diana and the Starz series actors are going to be at Comic Con this week! I am most anxious for the show to begin!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    After finding out that this book was going to become a series on

    After finding out that this book was going to become a series on STARZ, I decided to read it. I found that it was rather slow starting, but did improve as the story continued. I found myself not liking Claire until a little more than halfway through the book. Jamie was the more caring of the couple and he was ready to give his life for Claire. She cared for him but was stubborn and usually refused to do what he told her to do (that was one reason why she'd refuse---modern women differ so much from those 200 years before), which put them in danger time and time again. I had read so many positive reviews about Outlander and maybe that was why I was somewhat disappointed in the story as I read it---reviews were better than what I found the book to be. I don't regret having read it, but wasn't totally thrilled. But just remember, this is just MY opinion...you may like it a lot!! Anything by Diana Gabaldon and K S Michaels is going to be a big hit in my book shelf.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2014

    Absolutely love the Outlander series and it all starts with this

    Absolutely love the Outlander series and it all starts with this book 1.  Best book I've ever read in my 60 years.  Diana is brilliant and pulls the reader in as if you are experiencing every adventure.  You care deeply what happens to the characters and can't get enough.  I have lost track of how many copies of Outlander I've purchased and give away.  Read it, you won't be sorry.!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    To use an overused word - amazing! Gabaldon pulls you into the s

    To use an overused word - amazing! Gabaldon pulls you into the story and you don't want it to end! I thoroughly love this series and have started over from the beginning several times when a new book came out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2015

    Trigger Warning! I decided to read the book after watching, and

    Trigger Warning!

    I decided to read the book after watching, and getting hooked on, the first half of season one of the Starz TV show.  I enjoyed the book up through that point, as well.  The TV show has been pretty close to the book, which doesn't always happen, but the author seems to be very involved in the production.  Since I saw the show before I read the book, I didn't have any notions of the actors not resembling my imagination of the characters.




    One big difference for the better, I think, is that the show doesn't have the actors jumping in bed every five minutes.  However, the book does take a very dark turn soon after the point in which the mid-season break occurred in the show.  There is graphic rape and torture, both physically and psychologically, with sadistic sexual intent.  I found this very difficult to read, and I even had a nightmare one night, while reading it.  And, as the book is told from Claire's point-of-view and she isn't the primary victim, the events are not told all at once, but incrementally, so you can't just gloss over that part; it keeps coming back to haunt our two main characters.  I have also read the second book, and we continue to learn more specifics of the horror there, as well.  This is more realism than I generally reading about.  The reader is really forced onto an emotional roller-coaster ride.  I felt drained by the end.




    I can't say too much without giving spoilers, but this book is also unusual in other ways.  For example, the sexy man isn't always the one saving the day.  Also, he is younger than the heroine.  There is also time travel involved, but it seems to be a sci-fi phenomenon, not magical fantasy.  The historical elements of both the 1940s and the 1760s seem to have been well-researched and provide fascinating aspects of the story in terms of culture, beliefs, medicine, politics, daily life, justice, priorities, honor, etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2015

    I'll admit that I got bored with this book about halfway through

    I'll admit that I got bored with this book about halfway through and didn't finish it. Although I was willing to go along with the storyline that she fell through some standing stones and went back 200 years, I found it a little unbelievable that she cheerfully took up life two centuries before she was born without a hitch. Within a few weeks she was madly in love and married to another character. I love reading history, but I didn't really glean anything about the history of Scotland except the most rudimentary facts that anyone knows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2014

    A must-read!

    As wonderful as the Starz film has been, the book turns out to be an exiting page turner. Gabaldon's descriptions are the very best writing. Her details are the core of what makes the scenes really live. The accents, vocabulary and Gaelic phrases create fantastic authenticity, It is truly a wonderful read. It is also a good suggestion for readers to continue with the rest of the Outlander series, which are all page turners!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    GREAT COMPANION TO THE TV SERIES

    IF YOU LOVED THE TV SERIES YOU DEFINATELY HAVE TO HAVE THIS BOOK.IT WILL KEEP YOU SATED TIL APRIL 2015,WHEN THE SERIES STARTS AGAIN.A MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2014

    I could read these books over and over again.I get a little bit

    I could read these books over and over again.I get a little bit more out of them each time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    ADVENTURE and ROMANCE all in one!

    This book is definately for readers who love series books. I picked it up cause I don't have STARZ and the previews were interesting. I read the book in a week and devoured the next one just as fast. Give it a try, I bet you will love it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2014

    I was thrilled to get Outlander through LibraryThing's Early Rev

    I was thrilled to get Outlander through LibraryThing's Early Reviewer program.  But I was very sad to find that the book - long considered a classic - did absolutely nothing for me.




    I did not finish the book, though I did manage to hold out until Claire went back into the 18th Century.  The pace was too slow, and I had no interest in what happened to the characters.  I was unable to suspend my disbelief, and as someone who regularly reads sci-fi/fantasy, that's saying something.  This book simply bored me, and I couldn't face slogging any farther into it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    She is a very exceptional author and I recommend her Outlander S

    She is a very exceptional author and I recommend her Outlander Series to everyone who is interested in Historical information
    on Scotland and the American revolution.  I have purchased all of the outlander books and look forward to seeing
    more in the future......   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    I read this book twice when I was on bed rest for my triplets.

    I read this book twice when I was on bed rest for my triplets. I eventually read most of the books in the series. I always knew it would be a terrific story on the screen. Thank goodness someone realized it. BTW - I named one of my daughters Claire!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    This is a wonderful series and is easy to get lost in! If you

    This is a wonderful series and is easy to get lost in!



    If you want a reading escape, this is a good one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2014

    I have read and re-read most of the Outlander series and thoroug

    I have read and re-read most of the Outlander series and thoroughly enjoyed them every time. Even went so far as to visit Scotland and looked for the stones. It was as if you were going through the journey with the characters. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    One of the best books and series I have ever read. Gabaldon has

    One of the best books and series I have ever read. Gabaldon has a way of pulling you into a setting and really making you see it in your mind. Her characters are three dimensional and you find your self laughing and crying along with the characters as they go through their journey. Don't get discouraged by the length of the book. Once you start reading you are pulled into the story and find yourself bummed out when the book ends as you want to keep following the characters. Good thing is there are mutliple books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2