Customer Reviews for

Outlaw Platoon: Heroes, Renegades, Infidels, and the Brotherhood of War in Afghanistan

Average Rating 4.5
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Great book!!! I definately recommend you buy and read it!!!

This book is fantastic. It is so well written you feel like you know the men in the story personally and you are right there experiencing what they go through. You don't need to be a huge military buff to read it either. The book exposes war and the bond it forges be...
This book is fantastic. It is so well written you feel like you know the men in the story personally and you are right there experiencing what they go through. You don't need to be a huge military buff to read it either. The book exposes war and the bond it forges between the men who fight in it. It evokes so many emotions highs and lows---on top of that it is a real page turner. I finished the book in a few days, I couldn't put it down. It is a story of an amazing group of men and I'm so glad their story has been told! Read this book, I promise you won't regret it!

posted by Cherry1126 on February 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Please take this review not as a criticism, but as a forewarning

Please take this review not as a criticism, but as a forewarning of what to expect and as an understanding of why works like this exist. Parnell purports to tell the story of "his men," but the focus is certainly on him. The interviews he frequently gives neve...
Please take this review not as a criticism, but as a forewarning of what to expect and as an understanding of why works like this exist. Parnell purports to tell the story of "his men," but the focus is certainly on him. The interviews he frequently gives never mention the coauthor, nor do they stray far from the beaten path of his prior interviews. If you're expecting an academic read on military history, this will let you down. Sources are obscured, "facts" are presented uncritically, and the stories--recalled long after the events--rely heavily on the "essence of the experience," which tends to be glorified and used to hail American exceptionalism. The process of writing this book, Parnell tells us, has been "cathartic." As such, it should be seen not as a work in military history, but rather as personal therapy. Leniency should be permitted in the public sphere for the "war hero narrative"; without such an outlet, many more would descend deep into cognitive dissonance after reflecting on the realization that, "yes, what I did was wrong and I knowingly (perhaps gladly) did it." (The medals that Parnell forced his men in "Outlaw" platoon to claim injuries for serve a similar purpose.) What's often purged in cathartic war story narratives are not the real and internalized horrors of war, but the former, pre-war self. More significantly, such glory-making neutralizes the reality the "war is hell," which is the basis of this sort of therapeutic process.

posted by DominicC on April 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 179 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    Great book!!! I definately recommend you buy and read it!!!

    This book is fantastic. It is so well written you feel like you know the men in the story personally and you are right there experiencing what they go through. You don't need to be a huge military buff to read it either. The book exposes war and the bond it forges between the men who fight in it. It evokes so many emotions highs and lows---on top of that it is a real page turner. I finished the book in a few days, I couldn't put it down. It is a story of an amazing group of men and I'm so glad their story has been told! Read this book, I promise you won't regret it!

    21 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    As a member of Outlaw Platoon, I can not stress enough the impor

    As a member of Outlaw Platoon, I can not stress enough the importance of this book to our nation's forgotten infantry soldiers. Outlaw Platoon is an honest and compelling account of life and death in the trenches and does true justice to our combat experience.

    As you read this post, there are thousands of men on battlefields around the world killing and suffering for the preservation of American ideals. As a civilized society and beneficiaries of our nation's might, we must meet their sacrifices with unwavering support. It is not enough for us to adhere a yellow ribbon to our cars, to shake a soldier's hand, or even to send care packages to the front. More than anything, these men need our understanding. They need to know that we are aware of their plight, that we are invested in their success, and that we are willing to help shoulder the burdens of combat, just by listening and caring.

    Outlaw Platoon is a window into the world of America's infantry warriors. In the book, Sean puts you on the ground in Afghanistan, straps 100 pounds of gear on your back, and injects you into the fight. However, he also introduces you to the human side of the war, highlighting the exceptional diversity of the platoon and the strength that it generates, as well as the horrifying realities of life for Afghani civilians.

    Not only is Outlaw Platoon a thrilling, emotionally-charged read, it is a tool for healing the wounded souls of our discarded patriots and reuniting the American people with the guardians of our way of life. It is our undeniable duty as Americans to share the load of our foreign wars, and by simply reading Outlaw Platoon with a compassionate heart, we are doing our part for the men we put in harm's way.

    18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    A Must Read

    How do you write a review for such a book, I struggle to find the words. As the mother of an infantryman who will be back in Afghanistan within a matter of days, the book frightened me, it broke my heart, and I wept a time or two in the reading of it. Yet it gave me a glimpse into the life of the Infantry, helped me to understand why it is difficult for these men we love to share their experiences. It made me proud and grateful that such men live, and it made me yearn for peace. The story of Outlaw Platoon is well written, and the inner thoughts and feelings of Sean the young Lt leading the platoon give the reader insight into what combat is like, and what it does to the hearts, minds and souls of the men who endure it. My words do not do justice to the book, but I hope that you will read it for yourself, I truly wish every American would read it, for the story is worthy and needs to be told.

    17 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    War is hell to the soldier in a combat zone and completely unfat

    War is hell to the soldier in a combat zone and completely unfathomable to any person fortunate enough to never experience it. Outlaw Platoon will bring the reader to the mountains of Afghanistan where they will get a clear look into the psychology, emotions, pains, and triumphs of America’s service personnel. Outlaw Platoon is an honest, gritty, and no-holds-barred depiction of combat through the eyes of a young officer.

    While not writing this for dramatic effect, I view Captain Parnell as a modern day Major Winters, i.e., a humble, dedicated, competent, hero that puts the needs of his men far beyond his own. Captain Parnell modestly credits his NCOs for holding the platoon together, but good leadership starts at the top. As a former NCO, it is clear to me that Captain Parnell is the heart of the platoon.

    Many former military personnel try not to relive horrific experiences endured while deployed. I see it as pure bravery and the need to enlighten others that Captain Parnell wrote this story.

    Outlaw Platoon is so gripping that it took me less than 6 hours to read the entire book, for it was impossible to put down. This is a story that needs to be told. I highly recommend this book to anyone considering a military career, anyone that served, and to anyone that wishes to have a greater understanding of America’s warriors.

    God bless Captain Parnell and the brave men that served under his command in Afghanistan.

    15 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    A worthy read

    I typically do not read this type of book but I went out on a limb & am glad I did. It is one of those books that grabs your attention & just sweeps you up in the story. The author balances the gritty, horrific aspects of modern warfare with the respect & devotion to life and to each other that the platoon members develop over the course of their deployment. It is a gripping tale that will leave you reflecting upon how dedicated our servicemen are to us & wondering just how dedicated America is to them...

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    This book is great. I was a member of this platoon and as I have

    This book is great. I was a member of this platoon and as I have been reading this book I have relived alot of these moments where I was when all this was going on. It is a great book and I would recommend it to everyone if they want to know what its like to be in combat. Great book Sean.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Great Job Lt. Parnell!

    This book is an amazing depiction of war through the eyes of an American Hero. Our men do not get enough credit for the sacrifices they make and things they endure on the front lines. Once you start reading you will not stop until you have finished the book. Emotionally gripping account of the everyday lives of American warriors on the boarder of Pakistan; one of the most dangerous areas in the entire country of Afghanistan. Support our men and get a copy for yourself!

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    Good Job Sean!

    An excellent read, this book will make you understand the bonds of brotherhood second only to being a part of it. If you life reading, you will like this book.

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    Wow!

    This book was an excellent read! This is a book you will want to finish in one sitting, as you are pulled right into the story from the first page!

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Outlaws

    I read it online on google books for free but didn't take much away from it. I was mostly interested in how that platoon were outlaws. In my experience the military tends to be very by the books and against bad apples who do not follow the law in rules of engagement and the ucmj.

    7 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    Read this book! A must read!

    I have been waiting for this book to come out so I could read it! When I got it in the mail I couldn't put it down. I read it all day and it was great! I absolutely loved it! It is so good because it brings out so many different emotions as you read it. The author makes you feel like you are there with those men---who are a bunch of entertaining characters for sure! I highly recommend this book. Please pick it up and read it--you will be glad you did.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    The next Band of Brothers

    I have been waiting for this book a long time now. I actually got it last night and I skipped worked today so I could read it. This book tells a story unlike any other. It proves why America’s military is a force to be reckoned with. The members of Outlaw Platoon forged not only a bond but an everlasting love and respect for one another, one that can never be duplicated. During the book I laughed, I cried, I grew angry and in the end cheered. All I have to say is OUTLAWS 4-LIFE.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    average

    hoping it would be better. not bad, but a bit average among war memoirs

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    .

    .

    5 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Riveting from cover to cover

    A compelling story that opens one's eyes. Proud father of an Outlaw Platoon member.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Finished the book in just a few sittings - usually read mysterie

    Finished the book in just a few sittings - usually read mysteries & thrillers and this book did not disappoint. It provoked a wide range of emotions and left me in wonder of all our servicemen (and women) that put their lives on the line daily. I am recommending this to my book club and to anyone who is looking for a great read.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    I truly enjoyed reading 'Outlaw Platoon'... This was an intrigu

    I truly enjoyed reading 'Outlaw Platoon'... This was an intriguing story that kept me interested from the first page. Sean Parnell is a compassionate and caring person and an awesome leader to his men. Do yourself a favor and buy this book, and get ready to read a story about some of the bravest young men our country has ever seen...

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Extremely recommended-a must read!

    I was able to get this long anticipated book the day before the official release. This book expertly chronicles the trials any infantry platoon leader can expect: from the undying respect Parnell has for the men in his platoon to the fear he feels for each one of his men's lives, this is how infantry platoon leaders need to be. This man sets a new standard.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    One star

    One star from an avid military history reader. Frankly, I don't understand all the positive feedback.

    Even bestsellers that have been around for years and sold millions of copies don't get this many ratings. I suspect the authors - along with their friends and family - are constantly hyping it.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    One big lie. As a member of Bravo Company 2/87 who was there,

    One big lie.

    As a member of Bravo Company 2/87 who was there, I can tell you this book is a bunch of lies. From the details of the firefights to the claims of injuries. Even those who served in 3rd Platoon admit most of their purple hearts are ridiculous. True a lot were earned but many were not. Parnell forced his men to go to the aid station so they could get purple hearts. That is why they all got kicked out until he made a fuss. He himself got laughed out for his "injuries". He also got his bronze star with valor after he made a subordinate write up the award for him. By the way it was a silver star he put in for but the BC scoffed and said he doesn't get a silver star for doing his job.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 179 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9