Customer Reviews for

The Outlaws

Average Rating 4
( 290 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Charlie and the virus factory...

I am a huge WEB Griffin fan, and this book met all my expectations. Laughed out loud in places, and my only regret is always when the book is over.

All forces turn again Charlie and his Merry Band, and once again we and he are never sure who is friend and who is ene...
I am a huge WEB Griffin fan, and this book met all my expectations. Laughed out loud in places, and my only regret is always when the book is over.

All forces turn again Charlie and his Merry Band, and once again we and he are never sure who is friend and who is enemy.

No spoilers, but just a suggestion if you are a first time reader, the Griffin books are ALL better when you read the series in order. Characters will live with you day by day till the next book is published. Not sure how they read for a new arrival to the author.

posted by 3rdGenerationTexasAggie on January 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Lacking any depth, intrigue...NOT a "Can't put it down" Book :(

I LOVE WEB Griffin...and I have LOVED this series; especially Charley, BUT...the last 2 books have really seemed to be lacking. They could have been combined into 1 book and it would have been worthwhile.

There was soooo much backgound -- you could not get through a...
I LOVE WEB Griffin...and I have LOVED this series; especially Charley, BUT...the last 2 books have really seemed to be lacking. They could have been combined into 1 book and it would have been worthwhile.

There was soooo much backgound -- you could not get through a chapter w/o tons of "what happened in book 2,3,4, etc..." It wasn't laborious -- it was plain BORING. If one were writing this book for those who've never read any of his series, all that background stuff still would have been unnecessary. For me, it was just redundant.

Charley & Svetlana -- this pair just doesn't have much chemistry in my option. To think of Charley saying something sort of religious, "taking God's name in vain", is just NOT in character. And I'll admit maybe Griffin is trying to get Charley to change -- but I just don't BUY IT. I really don't even like Sweaty & Dimitri... maybe time to move them on...

I didn't really care for the new PRES (Clendennen). TO me, this story just lacked any intrigue. I strolled through the end of the book -- there was NO RUSH to get to the end; and the end was so anticlimactic.
I can't say this was a good read. The next book I get in this series, I definitely won't pay hardcover price :(

posted by Lelise64 on March 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    Lacking any depth, intrigue...NOT a "Can't put it down" Book :(

    I LOVE WEB Griffin...and I have LOVED this series; especially Charley, BUT...the last 2 books have really seemed to be lacking. They could have been combined into 1 book and it would have been worthwhile.

    There was soooo much backgound -- you could not get through a chapter w/o tons of "what happened in book 2,3,4, etc..." It wasn't laborious -- it was plain BORING. If one were writing this book for those who've never read any of his series, all that background stuff still would have been unnecessary. For me, it was just redundant.

    Charley & Svetlana -- this pair just doesn't have much chemistry in my option. To think of Charley saying something sort of religious, "taking God's name in vain", is just NOT in character. And I'll admit maybe Griffin is trying to get Charley to change -- but I just don't BUY IT. I really don't even like Sweaty & Dimitri... maybe time to move them on...

    I didn't really care for the new PRES (Clendennen). TO me, this story just lacked any intrigue. I strolled through the end of the book -- there was NO RUSH to get to the end; and the end was so anticlimactic.
    I can't say this was a good read. The next book I get in this series, I definitely won't pay hardcover price :(

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    Half and Half

    Let me begin by saying that I have read them all. I started with the first Brotherhood of War book back in the early eighties. I love Griffin's style. He paints a brilliant picture. Griffin conjures some fantastic characters. Charlie Castillo may be my favorite so I awaited this book eagerly. After reading the first half of this book I began to wonder if Griffin had gotten lazy and had used the rehash of the other books in this series merely to fill pages since very little new plot took place in the first 200 pages. very dissapointing to have to have to read through so much review to get to some new action. I know it's there in all of his series but it seemed to me that this book was just way over the top in telling the backstory.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Boring

    Had to put the book up after reading over 150 pages and still no story, just re-hash of previous books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    Disappointed due to the repetition from previous works

    If you have read the other books of the Presidential Agent series, then don't bother with this one. Of the 380 some pages, only 50 deal with the new story. The rest are just repeating what was written in some of the previous 5 books. Now if you have read any of Griffin's other books, you will know that he has a tendency to do this. But this time, it was taken to an extreme. I don't understand the need to do this. J. K. Rawlings spends one page setting the stage from previous books. I cannot remember Daniel Silva nor Vince Flynn doing it at all. I surely do not need to pay for a new book to only find that I am rereading some of his previous books. If someone wants to jump into book 6 of a series without having read books 1 through 5, then let them be confused.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    This is so substandard for Griffin. I'm not sure if its the But

    This is so substandard for Griffin. I'm not sure if its the Butterworth guy or what but this book took a nose dive. First Five were great. About half of this book is background info from the other 5 books. Don't let Charley die a slow death...... Still hopeful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Not up to snuff.

    This is the weakest book in the series. The authors depiction of

    the President is far worse than any real life person has ever been

    and does not add anything to the story. They also do a disservice

    to the Military and the main characters who until now you could

    consider as unsung heroes. In all of Griffin's other books

    it was easy to understand the logic of decisions taken in the

    heat of a situation. Up to this point I have read all of the

    Military stories penned by Mr Griffin, I hope that this is only

    a momentary lapse and his writing returns to his prior level.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    It's okay. . .

    Having read all of Griffin's books in each series I am really disappointed with The Outlaws. There is nothing worse than an author trying to 'stretch' a book. It gets quite redundent when you have to keep reading the bio of each person by the fourth or fifth time. Take the extra space out, the duplicated titles, medals, etc., and you have a book with about 40 less pages. The story is good. . . for a short story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2