Customer Reviews for

Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make A Difference

Average Rating 4.5
( 232 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(122)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful book!

I've read several books about giving and helping others so I was hesitant at yet ANOTHER book about the same thing... but I was surprised at how much I enjoyed Outlive Your Life. Max talks often about how ordinary people are the ones who change the world. If I could p...
I've read several books about giving and helping others so I was hesitant at yet ANOTHER book about the same thing... but I was surprised at how much I enjoyed Outlive Your Life. Max talks often about how ordinary people are the ones who change the world. If I could pick a theme of the book it's one line from the first third, 'God does not call the qualified, he qualifies the called.' It sums up the book perfectly and it's equally as motivating.

I especially love that there is a study guide in the back of the book, which is perfect for small groups, Bible Studies, etc... I would have loved to have read this book with a group and then jointly picked a project at the end to put some action with the thoughts. I receommend this book to anyone.

posted by Ginfinluno on September 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Same old, same old

I've read a handful of Max Lucado's books and he's written countless others. While they are charming and often inspirational, even after reading only a fraction of his library, I find that I am tired of his style. It's certainly cute and humorous, and yes, it garners a ...
I've read a handful of Max Lucado's books and he's written countless others. While they are charming and often inspirational, even after reading only a fraction of his library, I find that I am tired of his style. It's certainly cute and humorous, and yes, it garners a few chuckles and presents the occasional thought-provoking concept, but it's pretty formulaic.

There'd been a rather significant amount of buzz surrounding the release of his latest book - Outlive Your Life - so I went into it hoping for something more than the usual fare. Unfortunately, that isn't what I found. Outlive Your Life is full of the same homespun stories aimed at making Bible characters relate-able to us in the 21st Century, and anecdotal stories about famous and semi-famous figures. Lucado tries to show us the importance of doing something with our lives - of making a real difference - but failed to inspire me with his stale prose and quirky storytelling.

Maybe Outlive Your Life will be a home run for extreme Lucado fans. If you don't mind a cookie cutter mold fit with a slightly different filling, then this is probably the book for you. But, if you were expecting something different from Lucado, this is not it. It's okay, Max...we know you mean well. Maybe next time?

posted by joannacullen on September 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    Wonderful book!

    I've read several books about giving and helping others so I was hesitant at yet ANOTHER book about the same thing... but I was surprised at how much I enjoyed Outlive Your Life. Max talks often about how ordinary people are the ones who change the world. If I could pick a theme of the book it's one line from the first third, 'God does not call the qualified, he qualifies the called.' It sums up the book perfectly and it's equally as motivating.

    I especially love that there is a study guide in the back of the book, which is perfect for small groups, Bible Studies, etc... I would have loved to have read this book with a group and then jointly picked a project at the end to put some action with the thoughts. I receommend this book to anyone.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended book!

    Max Lucado

    Thomas Nelson Publishing


    We are common folk. We sit in the bleachers, eat at diners, change diapers, and wear our favorite team's ball cap. Fan's don't wave when we pass. Servants don't scurry when we come home. Chauffeurs don't drive our cars; butlers don't open our doors or draw our baths. Doormen don't greet us, and security doesn't protect us. We are regular folk. And we wonder: does God use people like us. He did. God stampeded the first-century society with swaybacks, not thoroughbreds. Are you more dinghy than cruise ship? More stand-in than movie star? More blue jeans than blue blood? Congratulations. God changes the world with folks just like you.

    This is the second Max Lucado book that I have read and I have to say that it is an incredible book. Lucado delves into a subject that, upon reflection, lay deep within the heart of every person: Living a life that matters. Moving effortlessly through the first few chapters of Acts, Lucado shows us how God used the very people that society discounted, as the catalyst to change the world. These men and women of God were nothing to the culture that they lived in: a tax collector, a prostitute, a bunch of fishermen -- yet they were pivotal in spreading the Gospel of Christ and shaping history.

    I actually read this entire book in a day. Once you breach the first chapter, Max draws you in and points you toward challenge after challenge, daring you to deepen your relationship with Christ and, in so doing, broadening the ministry that He has placed you in. Don't misunderstand, you are eyeball-deep in a ministry whether you realize it or not. Your ministry is to be Christ to people around you - even when you can't stand to be around them. Max weaves personal anecdotes between scripture and stories of real-life people who simply trusted God to use them, and the incredible outcomes of that simple trust.

    Lucado's unique writing style, mixed with his honest perspective on life, creates a book that encourages as it challenges, and uplifts as it subtly chastens. I found I had to ask myself several times why I knew what Lucado was saying, but I wasn't acting on it. Outlive Your Life is a call to all Christians to walk what we say we believe. To move like we say we do. To be what we say we are -- Followers of Christ.

    I encourage everyone that wants to live their Christian life to the fullest to get this book, as well as Lucado's Fearless, and read them one after the other. You will walk away with a new understanding of God's will for you, I can promise you that.


    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2010

    Best Lucado Book for Sometime

    Out Live Your Life by Max Lucado

    Max Lucado takes us through the the first twelve chapters of the book of Acts and forces us to address issues around poverty and social justice. The very issues we find it so easy to tune out to and put on the back burner.

    Using carefully crafted stories Lucado highlights where each of us can help. Especially pleasing was his acknowledgment that we ordinary people can sometimes do only ordinary and small things to help. My favorite quote from this book is:

    As Chrysostom pointed out, "We do not hear, 'I was sick and you healed me,' or 'I was in prison and you liberated me.'" The works of mercy are simple deeds. And yet in these simple deeds, we serve Jesus.

    In a review of this book Kyle Mcdanell says it is all social and no gospel and states:

    Although I believe that Lucado understands the gospel, I believe he has dropped the ball on this one. Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make A Difference is a book, surveying the biblical book Acts of the Apostles in the New Testament, about why the church should seek to alleviate poverty and fight against injustice. Again, I believe that the church should seek to do such things, but in this book Lucado presents almost all social and no gospel. Little is said about the cross or resurrection. Little is said about belief in the works of Christ and repentance of our sins. If we hand someone a cup of cold water for any other motivation than to present the gospel and to show the love of Christ, then we have missed the point.

    I wholeheartedly agree AND disagree with Mcdanell on this.

    I agree that our motivation should be to present the gospel and show the love of Christ.

    But I disagree that Lucado doesn't say this himself. In actual fact the book's 3rd chapter, entitled Don't Forget the Bread is all about this and Lucado says in it (referring to Peter's sermon at Pentecost):

    Peter would eventually speak about poverty. The church would soon address the issues of widows, disease, and bigotry. But not yet. The first order of the church's first sermon was this: pardon for all our sins. Peter delivered the bread.

    Personally I think this is one of Lucado's best books for quite some time.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze[tags]BookSneeze[/tags].com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2010

    Think there is more to life than just existing here or do you have a purpose?

    We are common folk.

    We sit in the bleachers, eat at diners, change diapers, and wear our favorite team's ball cap. Fan's don't wave when we pass. Servants don't scurry when we come home. Chauffer's don't drive our cars; butlers don't open our doors or draw our baths. Doormen don't greet us, and security doesn't protect us. We are regular folk.

    And we wonder: Does God use people like us?

    He did. God stampeded the first-century society with swaybacks, not thoroughbreds. Before Jesus came along, the disciples were loading trucks, coaching soccer, and selling Slupee drinks at the convenience store.

    Their collars were blue, and their hands were calloused, and there is no evidence that Jesus chose them because they were smarter or nicer than the guy next door. The one thing they had going for them was a willingness to take a step when Jesus said, "Follow me."

    Are you more dinghy than cruise ship? More stand-in than movie star? More blue jeans than blue blood? Congratulations. God changes the world with folks like you. (Excerpt back cover).

    In the book, Out Live Your Life by Max Lucado, he takes each of us through the first couple of chapters in Acts to show us how our lives are very similar to the people in each of the chapters and the differences they made and how we can do the very same things. We simply need one thing. A willingness to do it. That's it. We need more yes's and a lot less no's!

    Max in his usual way of writing directly from the heart and as a close, personal friend touches your heart and shows you the different ways we can all begin to take care of people around us. He provides perfect examples of everyday people who made less than $1.25 a day and they too are changing lives. So what's our excuse? Find out by reading Max's latest book!

    I received this book, compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers for my honest review and believe every single person living today should read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    I Highly recommend this book - you really should check it out.

    As with all of Mr. Lucado's books it has good spirtual insite and give you lots to ponder on about your life and how you choose to live it. He grabs you by the heart and makes you think about what you have contributed to it and what you have done for others. It is a real eye opener.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    Make a difference!

    This is an engaging and fast paced study that really gets you thinking.
    Very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    Max Lucado's Out Live Your Life

    Max Lucado's lastest offering is beautifully written, easy to read, and will change your life. By sharing personal stories and Biblical commentary, he shares about the importance of making the most out of the life you've been given. Lucado lays out Acts 1 - 12 as a blueprint and launching pad for what your calling is and how to walk it out. He offered some sobering statistics about current injustice in our world, from poverty to hunger to human traffiking. And he asked, "What will you do about it?". None of us can do everything to help everyone, but all of us can do something to help someone.

    I loved thie book and his message because it was challenging and thought provoking. Not many books out there today actually call you to something. I thought he outlined the problem and gave practical solutions on what to do next. It can be overwhelming sometimes thinking about everything that is wrong in the world, but I loved how Max Lucado made the problem approachable, and more real, by bringing it to our doorstep and giving it a face. Not all of us are called to a third world country, or have the money to give to solve problems, but we all have a neighbor we can invite over and show hospitality to, and we all meet people everyday who just need to see Jesus' love in us.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    Made Me Want to Be Better!

    Come "press your ear against the pages" of the book of Acts and hear them come alive in three-dimensional surround sound. Listen as the early church puts feet to the gospel and leaves a distinct set of footprints for us to follow. Hear the "hillbillies, "simple folk" and "net casters" declare the Truth to a society in desperate need of it. Experience all of this (and a little more) in Max Lucado's Outlive Your Life.

    Using the book of Acts as a backdrop, Lucado challenges believers to take an eyes-wide-open look at their response to the suffering in the world. At a cursory glance, it might appear that Lucado's goal is to merely call us to social action. When he points to the 175 billion poor, the 1 billion hungry or the 2 million exploited children in the world, it's easy to conclude that he just wants us to do something about it.

    Upon deeper inspection, it's more than clear that what he's really encouraging is that we allow the love of Jesus to actively flow through us, causing us to extend our hands further to those who need Him. It's a reminder that the early church, full of average Joes, started a revolution that still resonates today, and asks how we, the average Joes of the contemporary church, plan to get off our back-sides and do the same.

    As with any other Lucado book I've read, this one was teeming with truth, cleverly written and easy to read. It was impossible to walk away from it without experiencing the strong conviction of the Holy Spirit and asking myself if I'm doing enough. The book was relevant and insightful, and the final chapter on prayer (which I wish would have come sooner in the book) is one I'll be coming back to over and over again. I highly recommend the book and its premise that we have everything we need to alter the course of human suffering and the responsibility to do just that.

    I reviewed this book as a member of Thomas Nelson's BookSneeze blogger review program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent and Highly Motivating!

    You go to work, take care of things around your house, play with the kids. You consider your life to be simple, ordinary even. You feel like you want to make a difference, but you are just one ordinary person. Do you really have the power to impact people in a big way?

    Most of us have felt small and inconsequential at some point in our lives. If only we were famous or rich, then we would really have the chance to influence and impact people's lives, right?

    But what if you could make a difference? You. Just as you are. Without an endless bank account or fans on every corner. This is exactly what Max Lucado talks about in his book "Outlive Your Life."

    From the moment I picked up this book, I was completely sucked in. The easy reading style of Lucado combined with the messages of hope and motivation made this a really enjoyable read. I highly recommend this book to anyone wanting to make a lasting impact on the world around them.

    If you take anything from reading this book I think it will be this:

    "None of us can help everyone. But all of us can help someone." -Max Lucado, "Outlive Your Life."

    I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    Great read for all christians

    "Outlive Your Life" - You Were Made to Make a Difference.

    This book is basically a guide to how a modern Christian should live their life. Max Lucado's writing style never ceases to amaze me and consistently sparks my interest.
    Aimed at people who are not living their lives to their full potential, this book gives great advice on essentially how to outlive your life, hence the title.
    As a way of informing us of the different things we can do to help others and do all the things that christians should be doing, this book is very motivational and really makes you think, "what can I do to fully reach my goals in living a satisfying Christian life?"
    I would recommend this book to all Christians, because it is definitely going to give you a fresh perspective on living your life to the fullest!
    I got this book for free from book sneeze . Com and was required to write a review.
    The opinions I expressed are my own, and only formed after reading the book in it's entirety.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    Inspired

    My second book I received along with this one to review was Outlive your Life also by Max Lucado. Oh my word this book was amazing. IT is such a refreshing perspective on how we each have the ability to make a difference. Lucado points out how we are so uniquely designed that no one can fulfil what God has chosen for us to do. We have been given a talent to use in such a powerful way.



    I love the perspective of how Jesus chose His twelve deciples and they were just common people like you and I but because they chose to follow Jesus they made a huge difference in the world. I think that puts such perspective on how God can use us as instruments for Him and we can have an impact. We just have a choice. I love this book and am definitely inspired and think I may even re-read it! It is that good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    This is a must-read for any Christian or spiritual person!

    Where do I start? I really, really, really (did I mention really?) enjoyed this book! So bear with me, because this is going to be a fairly lengthy and detailed review. While I believe this is only book I've read by this author, it's quality writing. Often, an author who has written that much will start to fizzle by this point (over 25 years). But this book was really good. He incorporates several real life stories to illustrate his points, and he does so very well. The stories chosen for this book were touching, and amazing examples of what your average everyday Joe can do. I found a lot of points in this book to be very true, for instance, in Chapter 9: Do Good, Quietly, the author reminds Christians to do their good deeds without shouting about them. Don't do good deeds expecting to be noticed. Don't do good deeds expecting credit. He writes:

    "Hypocrisy turns people away from God. When God-hungry souls walk into a congregation of wannabe superstars, what happens? When God seekers see singers strut like Las Vegas entertainers... when they hear the preacher--a man of slick words, dress and hair--play to the crowd and exclude God... when other attendees dress to be seen and make much to-do over their gifts and offerings... when people enter a church to see God yet can't see God because of the church, don't think for a second that God doesn't react. 'Be especially careful when you are trying to do good so that you don't make a performance out of it. It might be a good theater, but the God who made you won't be applauding.' (Matthew 6:1 MSG)" pg 92

    How true that is. I speak from personal experience when I say that one thing that turns me away from the church, and God, the most is hypocrisy. People who only do good deeds when someone important (i.e. a pastor) is watching, people who neglect their families yet help the poor because they know others will see, people who go to church and make spectacles of themselves, thinking that others will approve of them more or accept them more for it. If you are truly Christian, you would know that the only approval you need is that of God's, and that you should strive to do good every chance you get, whether someone is watching or not. That is what being Christian is, being Christ-like, being like Christ. Christ did not care if anyone was looking, he did not care if people were okay with what he did. He knew what was right and he did it, no matter what.

    Some of the truths presented in this book may be hard for some people to swallow, but they are presented in a gentle way. You can tell that the author is not being preachy, but what his says is very true.

    This book is presented in a great format for bedtime readers. Each chapter ends with a verse and a prayer, so for those who like to read a chapter in bed before going to sleep, you will really like this. Although you might not be able to put this book down after just one chapter!

    Disclosure of Material Connection: As a participant in the book review bloggers program, I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers. Reviewers are not required or encouraged to post a positive review. The opinions in this post are mine and mine alone. This disclosure required by the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    Outlive your Life

    Out Live Your Life by Max Lucado was a most enjoyable book to read and was well written. Many times the author used humor to stress a point and that helped me remember the point he was making. Each chapter title grabbed my interest and kept me reading chapter after chapter. Through out the book the author used personal experiences to illustrate the point he was making. For me this was a way to make the book easier to understand and helped me to remember what he had written. In the book the author is writing about hunger, the hunger for food and also the hunger for God. He interviewed one mother who had a homeless son and he asked her why she was willing to tell her story. Her answer to him was, "I want to change the way people see the homeless. I want them to stop seeing problems and begin seeing mothers' sons." Being the mother of two sons, that statement really touched me and hopefully changed the way I see homeless people. When we begin to out live our lives we can expect to be criticized, mocked, and persecuted but we can prepare ourselves by imitating the disciples of Jesus. "Courage comes as we live with Jesus." One point that the author stressed through out the book was "No one can do everything, but everyone can do something." He also encourages us to "do good things. Just don't do them to be noticed." The book ended with these words: "None of us can help everyone. But all of us can help someone. And when we help them, we serve Jesus." I highly recommend this book and give it a five star rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    Yes You Can Make A Difference

    Authenticity seems to be something that people desire in themselves and others. This book is one that will spur the reader on to live a life that does make a real difference. The Bible says in Psalm 90:12, "So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom." Lucado give guidance, encouragement and challenge for each person to make their life count for something greater than themselves. He deals with some of the most popular concerns that people use to justify not investing in the world and community around you. One of my favorite quotes from the book is, "In the game of life, many of us who cross home plate do so because we were born on third base. Others aren't even on a team". For those of us who are on third based, we need to reach out and rescue, restore and redeem that which is lost. You might ask the question, "Can God use me?" Read this book and Max will point you in the right direction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    OUTLIVE YOUR LIFE

    A Phone Tree Book Review

    Outlive Your Life is truly an inspiring book. From the moment I began reading it, I was hooked. As Acts is one of my favorite books of the Bible, I was initially a bit curious about how Mr. Lucado would approach it. I must say, however, that his depiction of the first-century church was not only entertaining, but it was also precise. I was captivated by his description of Peter. I was intrigued by his reflections on Ananias and Sapphira. But I have to say, I was most deeply moved by his present-day examples of what I call "acts of love."

    ~

    I thought this book was a call to action. It was a call to love in deed and in truth. It was a direct challenge to every man and woman to go forward and care. It gave insight into compassion, and it gave a sense of empowerment to those who, like me, stand at the ready to serve.

    ~

    This book would be a great read for anyone interested in living beyond self and who is willing to actively execute the love of God toward mankind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    How are you living your life?

    I had the privilege of listening to the audio version of a book called Outlive Your Life by Max Lucado. It was provided through the reviewer's program at christianaudio.

    I had previously read this book and posted my review here. When I saw the audio version available, I knew I'd enjoy hearing it because I had enjoyed reading it so much. It was one I wanted to read again anyway and I figured I could learn something new by hearing it.

    This book focuses on how we should be living our Christian lives...caring for others, seeing the needs of people, and praying to name a few. It is based on the book of Acts. It is very thought provoking for the listener and causes you to think about how you are living compared with how Christians really should live. I appreciate the real-life examples given by the author of people who are living out their faith in real-world situations.

    The narrator, Dan Butler, was interesting to hear overall. At times I found his voice to be a bit monotone. He did a nice job reading this book and gave me the feeling he understood what he was reading, making it personal and not just words he was reading.

    The audio version was provided through christianaudio Reviewers Program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    Amazing book!! Make a change in your life!

    We live in terrible times and seem to forget easily that we can still make a difference. This difference has to change within us first. This book helped me realize that I'm not just one voice, I'm a child of God. And there are many of us out there. We can make a difference. I thought this book was amazing. The way Max writes and tells stories really show why he's a great author. It's extremely thought provoking. Makes you think outside of the box. We can make a change in this world. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is looking to make a change in their lives. It will open your eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    Wonderful read... highly recommended!

    As I've said before, I love Max Lucado books. Therefore be warned, I have a pre-conceived notion about what any of his books will be like. That being said, here we go.

    Outlive Your Life is a masterpiece. Max Lucado takes you through the Book of Acts, sharing the stories of the Apostles and how they lived and preached. He challenges us to live beyond ourselves; as Christians to impact the world. How can we not do so?

    Reading Outlive Your Life will change you, or at least it should. How do you see the poor, the orphans, and the less fortunate? Do you see how you as a Christian can rock their world and change their lives? This book will have that impact on you. Lucado shows us how to be truly generous, with ourselves, with our love, and how our finances can make a difference. Everything we have is from God, we are called; no, we are directed, to care for one another, to share with one another, and to make a difference. That's what this book is about, how can Christians make a difference in the world? How can we not do something??

    There are various resources to go along with the book; a Small Group Kit, participant's guides, Live to Make a Difference (a booklet on making a difference in the church, local community, region, and the world), CD's, Church Bible Study DVD's, an audiobook, and the book is available in Spanish. One final note, 100% of the royalties from Outlive Your Life and the related materials will be donated to various faith-based compassion ministries such as World Vision which help families and children around the world.

    About the Author: Max Lucado is a minster who writes and a writer who preaches. He and his wife, Denalyn, serve the Oak Hills Church in San Antonio, Texas. They have three grown daughters, Jenna, Andrea, and Sara; one son-in-law, Brett; and one sweet but lazy golden retriever, Molly.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255, "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    Interesting Pricing anomaly

    I just bought a Nook and I wanted this book, but chose not to buy it electronically as the electronic price is 1.25 less than the paper copy.
    I have to guess that this is the result of a publisher contract issue and not Barnes and Noble.
    I had to put a star rating so since Max Lucado's books are always excellent I put 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding and Inspirational

    Most of the books I review are fiction. I do read non-fiction though. One of my favorite writers of Christian non-fiction is Max Lucado because he manages to inspire and challenge without using ten dollar words and resorting to theological terms that most people can't relate to. His stories cut straight to the heart and stick with you long after you close the cover. This book is no exception. In fact, I think it's the best book of his that I've read.

    The whole idea is that just like the humble motley crew of fisherman, tax collectors and the like from the early church - we can make a difference today. Too many people believe that they are just one person and can't do anything. Yet there are many examples when one person made a huge impact. We need to remember that God can and wants to use us to impact the world around us in big and small ways.

    A lot of it is also about legacy. What do we want to leave behind? What we give and do for God can impact generations and last much longer than just our lifetime. What an exciting and challenging concept. I also think it's something that our world desperately needs right now. Many more people don't understand who God is at all. They need to know the truth about what the Bible says and they need people who will live out that truth for them - showing them they don't need to be perfect.

    I can't say enough good things about this book. It was a great read and had wonderful ideas. Please consider reading it and passing it along to friends and family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7