Customer Reviews for

Outpost (Enclave Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Waiting for the 3rd installment Ms. Aguirre!

Good Stuff!!! Please tell us why the freaks are the way they are, in the third installation; I know other readers are dying to know as well. Look forward to the next book.

posted by CaseyABQ38 on September 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Okay not great

I didn't like this book as much as the first one. It had plenty of action, and I liked how the author expanded on characters we only glanced in book one. However, I feel like our main characters changed. Duece seemed to become quite ignorant, which was a trait I didn't ...
I didn't like this book as much as the first one. It had plenty of action, and I liked how the author expanded on characters we only glanced in book one. However, I feel like our main characters changed. Duece seemed to become quite ignorant, which was a trait I didn't associate her with in book one. Fade also changed, becoming softer and more sensitive in my opinion. Duece's 'two sides', her girl side and her huntress side got on my nerves. Why can't she just be both? That being said, I enjoyed the developement with the Freaks and the characters of Longshot, Stalker and Tegan. I really did get involved in the story and will probably read book three.

posted by Anonymous on September 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Waiting for the 3rd installment Ms. Aguirre!

    Good Stuff!!! Please tell us why the freaks are the way they are, in the third installation; I know other readers are dying to know as well. Look forward to the next book.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Helpful

    Had a good ending ,but think it was a little lovey dovey amd if you want a backround on college enclave read foundations it only 40 pages but it builds on what thimble and stone find

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    A worthy sequel.

    I liked it and although Enclave had more action in it, it was still good. Now, Deuce is given a chance to relax and actually be a woman. She falls more in love with Fade and they get more comfortable with each other. I dont know why people are comparing this to Twilight (must you morons compare everything to Twilight and Hunger Games?) Deuce isnt becoming whiny and Bella-like, she just has a family, the love of her life and more sentimental things to think about. That doesnt make her a softie. She's still a warrior and she has her marks to prove it. Comenting on her love life, I like Stalker almost as much as I like Fade. Maybe I like Stalker a bit better even though Fade is like, the dream guy. Still, Ive been known to root for the underdogs. Commenting on the action, very good. Kept me at the edge of my seat. It's insane knowing the mutants are becoming so much smarter. They're actually organizing, building, grouping and worst of all, breeding. They can even growl words. How will Deuce, Fade, Tregan and Stalker survive the quickly learning Mutants who have even started to fatten and then cook the game (humans) they catch? How will they survive when the Mutants start organizing battle strategies and burning down settlements? I cant wait for the third novel, I have a feeling a really disturbing situation is about to be revealed in the next novel (even more disturbing than Mutants having sex and procreating). 4 stars for this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    The book was great

    I think the first book was better because it had more action and more questions at the end. But this book is also amazing bit i sort of got tired that all of this happend cause of the freaks. This book is more romantic then everything and the love triangle with stalker, duce, and fade will keep you on your tip toes. This book has to do with fitting in or acting like someone your not but at the end you relize its better to be yourself because in the futer great things will happen.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    :)

    This is a good sequel to Enclave. The characters have developed more and you meet some new faces. Some you will hate some you while grow attached to. Deuce has developed a new side, her girl side. But she is still a huntress through and through. You get to look inside of Fade and his feelings for Deuce. And Stalker is still hanging in there and I have grown to like his character. I can't wait for the next one!! I will definitely be rereading some parts since I tend to do that when I grow attached to a book. :D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Love this

    One word great!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    You read and enjoyed Enclave? You'll definitely want to continue with this one!

    I asked my son, who read this book at the same time as me, to share in reviewing. His answers are short as he's afraid to spoil anything to come and being thirteen not sure the way to twist the words yet.

    (M = Me, K = Kiddo, my 13 yr old son who's new to this reviewing thing)


    The Setting….
    M: Where do we start? We start in a fort town, then move to the Outpost watching over the fields. Did you like the setting?

    K: Yes. It was different from the first one because the first one was underground and this one is above ground in a fort.

    M: Yes, gives you a whole different view of the world.

    The Freaks…
    K: They are getting smarter! But some people are too scared to realize it. Scared of the freaks and sit behind the fighters to deal with it.

    M: You predicted this in the first review! There is a lot more to them than we suspected. I can’t wait to learn the whole story and see what comes of the Freaks. What about you?

    K: I think they’ll get smarter again. I think they will act like normal people do. And see more of them, they are the point of the story.

    M: The Freaks bring a whole new dynamic to the story.

    The Characters….
    M: We have Deuce, who’s struggling here with being in a whole new atmosphere and living arrangements than she’s use to.

    K: She wants to fight freaks because that’s all she knows.

    M: Yep, and she finds a way to keep to her believes.

    K: Uhhh, somewhat.

    M: Why do you say that?

    K: Because she still has to do other stuff, like her person she’s living with gives her a dress and she has to wear it. She does have to act like a girl sometimes.

    M: Ah, yes, her character is evolving with the atmosphere she’s in. The lovely lady that takes her in, like a mom. And learns the difference between boys and girls.

    We have Fade! Poor Fade…. Now no spoilers! About him.

    K: He’s quiet and doesn’t do much.

    M: But he fits in better than she does.

    K: Because he’s quiet.

    M: This is his element, he came from topside. But he struggles too. We can’t say too much about Fade in or out of town. But him and Deuce find new ground between them…

    M: We still have Tegan and Stalker too. They seem to fitting in rather well.

    The Feeling while reading….
    K: Surprised for some things. Like when Fade got captured and his reaction to it.

    M: Yes. I agree. I was afraid knowing what Deuce and company knows of the freaks, I had a feeling of trapped in Salvation because it was fort. I liked when they went out to the Outpost. We really started to learn more about the Freaks there.

    What about the relationships of the main company?

    K: They change.

    M: Good or bad?

    K: Both.

    M: Lol, okay we wont spoil for anyone and go on with that topic.

    The End…
    M: I know you have strong feelings about this ending. Want to share?

    K: Not surprised because I knew it was going to happen. But it was different. The book hints at it coming.

    M: I remember when you finished this book. You came right to me, handed over the book, and said, “There’s going to be another.” Giving me a strong look. It was kind of a cliff hanger ending, do you think?

    K: Sure.

    M: The ending leads you into wanting the next book. I can’t wait to get it. Are you looking forward to it?

    K: Yes. I do want to know.

    M: Would you suggest this book?

    K: Yes. Rate it a 7-7.5 out of 10. (I’m a tough rate.)

    M: I would have to agree with you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Needs some improvement.

    I enjoy this book and Deuce as a character, the story line is good. However, i think the author tends to be repetitive and elaborates on the wring areas. Overall though, good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Recommend Highly

    If you liked "Enclave", "Outpost" is a must read. I'm looking forward to future adventures with these characters and hoping they'll eventually hook up with some of the characters from the "Enclave".
    I recommend this book for Teen readers that enjoy an apocolyptic storey along with the struggle for human survival.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Great read!

    Could not put it down! So exciting! Much better than the 2nd book of the Hunger Games series! Cannot wait to read the 3rd book! A must read for sure!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I liked this book though I didn't love it like the first one. P

    I liked this book though I didn't love it like the first one. Poor Deuce can not fit in Salvation. Everyone wants her to be this girl that wears dresses and behaves like a young lady, but she's not. She's forever the Huntress.
    For a while Fade pretty much ignored her and she couldn't figure out why. So she gets closer to Stalker. She volunteers for summer patrols and ask if Fade would like to join. After that feelings emerge and a little romance happens.
    While out of the gates they get attacked by the Freaks and their harvest was ruined. They decided to make an outpost (hence the name) to protect the harvest while it grew. Not many Freak attacks happened but they start to show how they are evolving. They're not the mindless Freaks everyone thought them to be.
    During the last half of the book, my heart was racing with anticipation. There was sad moments also. Can't wait to see where their journey goes in the next book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2014

    An interesting and original story.

    An interesting and original story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good

    When I saw Enclave, the first book on the shelf, I wasn't sure what to expect, nor had heard anything about it. After reading it, it was pretty good. Then read up on the second one and was a little hesitant, well, a lot, about the second one. I thought, well I'm not going to like this for some reason and so put off reading it for a while. So at the library one day, I saw it on the shelves and thought, I'll have to read it sooner or later and didn't back out when I finally begun to read it. And yeah, this was some annoying moments, a lot now that I think about it, but I kept reading, wanting Deuce to belong. And you find that she does, even if there's some that think the opposite, just because she's different and doesn't follow Salvation's rules and views all that well. But then you get why they are being like that but still. I liked that Deuce didn't change who she was, just because some of the townspeople didn't like it, and you see her character grow, same with the others, sort of, I guess. Yeah. Then there's the love triangle. Good gravy was that annoying. I'm like, dude, communication is your friend. Do you not get this? Or why are you insisting this, she said no, so back off or something. Anyway, I was going to give this a 3.5 but upped it to 4 because near the end it got...yeah this was a good read and wonder how the next one will fare. And from what I heard, can't help but feel nervous about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    If you liked the the first then you will like this one

    Outpost is a great continuation of the book Enclave. Its is about the four peoples life in the fort, and weird things are happening to the freaks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    I loved it, except for...

    Too much focus on her love triangle. Needs more freak slaying!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Aspen

    Smike in satesfaction and scratcheed her back.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Liked

    Need to tie up the story now. Time for #3, please get around to it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Longer than the first

    How many pages?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2