Customer Reviews for

Outpost (Enclave Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Waiting for the 3rd installment Ms. Aguirre!

Good Stuff!!! Please tell us why the freaks are the way they are, in the third installation; I know other readers are dying to know as well. Look forward to the next book.

posted by CaseyABQ38 on September 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Okay not great

I didn't like this book as much as the first one. It had plenty of action, and I liked how the author expanded on characters we only glanced in book one. However, I feel like our main characters changed. Duece seemed to become quite ignorant, which was a trait I didn't ...
I didn't like this book as much as the first one. It had plenty of action, and I liked how the author expanded on characters we only glanced in book one. However, I feel like our main characters changed. Duece seemed to become quite ignorant, which was a trait I didn't associate her with in book one. Fade also changed, becoming softer and more sensitive in my opinion. Duece's 'two sides', her girl side and her huntress side got on my nerves. Why can't she just be both? That being said, I enjoyed the developement with the Freaks and the characters of Longshot, Stalker and Tegan. I really did get involved in the story and will probably read book three.

posted by Anonymous on September 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Anonymous

    You know a book is good when you catch yourself still reading it at 2am on a weekday!! I could not put this book down. Most of all, it made me realize how much and how many things we take for granted everyday. It also made me wonder what the world would be like if we had more youth with the courage and character of Fade, Deuce, and Stalker.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    You have to read this!

    Outpost, sequel to Enclave, is a must read. I bought it the day of release and couldn't put it down until reading the entire book. I must have reread the final pages at least three times. Loved it! I'm going to be on pins and needles waiting for the third book to come out. I was/am a big fan of Fade, but now I can't help routing for Stalker. :) Happy reading.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Amazing

    To fellow dystopic novel fans,
    My favorite books are Harry Potter, Hunger Games, and Divergent. I don't know why people are comparing enclave/outpost to hunger games, because it's not really like hg except for the fact that katniss and deuce are both badass. Here's the biggest difference: are peeta or gale desirable?(no) Fade is......oh my god. The romance is wonderful and there is enough action to make exciting. And, i can't forget about the freaks....THEY'RE TERRIFYING! A must read!

    Age: 13
    Why: some sexual references and making out





    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Awesome second book!

    Great followup to Enclave. Can not wait for book 3!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Awesome

    I love it! Recomend to everyone

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Loved it

    Finished it in a day cant wait for 3 to come out.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    I really enjoyed Enclave (read my review here) but I just loved

    I really enjoyed Enclave (read my review here) but I just loved Outpost. I was a little foggy on some of the details from Enclave, but re-reading the summary plus my review helped clear things up. And once I started Outpost, all the pieces fell back into place and I jumped right back into Deuce's world.

    I found Enclave to be pretty dark, mostly because much of the book takes place in the subway tunnels. Outpost is set in the Topside town of Salvation, and I enjoyed the new scenery just as much as Deuce did. I liked Deuce as a character in Enclave, but I really admired her so much more in this book. Her hard exterior softens bit by bit as she learns to let other people in and to let herself love for the first time. Watching Deuce change was one of my favorite parts of this book.

    The best thing about Outpost was the fast-paced plot and all of the action. There was so much going on, all the time, and it kept things really interesting and moving quickly. I had come to expect the Freaks to act one way, and when they started changing, it really intrigued me. I love how Aguirre leaves us hanging a little bit with regard to the Freaks. We still don't know how they came to exsist or how humanity will rid the world of them. In fact, we still don't know a lot about how the world got to where it is. Aguirre included an afterword and promises to explain everything more fully in book three, which I am really looking forward to.

    I have not read any of Aguirre's other books but based on the way this series is going, I will be seeking out her other work. She's a great writer and I would highly recommend the Razorland series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    I loved this book! I think it was better than the first one, Enc

    I loved this book! I think it was better than the first one, Enclave, by two. At least.  Stalker really struck a note with me in this book, seemed more of a person instead of a horny douche. I feel bad for Fade but am hopeful about how he'll end up.  I am super happy neither of the girls went all mooshy and soft like so many other novels that are supposed to have strong female leads.  I am happy Deuce is learning to be more emotional, and even happier that it isn't overwhelming the character she was in the first book. I can't wait for the next in the series and hope this review helped someone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Better than the 1 st in the series!

    Loved this book and cannot wait for book 3 to be published! Enjoyed the new characters and this book packed a ton of action, backround & so many new adventures & trials for the two main characters from bk 1, Enclave and 2 new characters added into their journey. Twists and turns that I didnt expect kept me on the edge of my seat! Would have read this in one sitting but my Nook battery died! I hope she writes a few more books in this series.....and Id enjoyed the novellas with backstory and also what had become of 2 supporting characters from bk 1. Anyone of any age who enjoys dystopian & post apocalyptic reads will definitely enjoy this series and novellas.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    AMAZING

    I love this thriller/ ironic romantic comedy. Everyone should read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2012

    Amazing book!!!! everybody needs to read this. ann aguirre creat

    Amazing book!!!! everybody needs to read this. ann aguirre created the perfect blend or action and romance. Although there is a bit of gore, nothing to unbearable. i love this series and im looking forward to the third and final book in the triliogy. TEAM FADE!!!! ;) (i really hope that deuce doesnt end up with stalker, everybody knows that they are alike, but too much alike as mentioned in the book. fade just needs to comes to his sences, and realize that he needs deuce. but i am not expecting a gooey happy ending)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    I lovee itttt!!

    Its hard to find a book with a strong, independent main character. And if you've read Enclave then you know Deuce is bad@$$. I loved this book as much as the first one. You see glimpses of her soft side in this one, which doesn't clash with her bad@$$ness lol. It just made me love her more. I'm a romantic and I don't think love triangles will ever get boring to me, ( which this book has) so I loved it even more. I hateee Zombie movies, (So Cliched) and even though the freaks/muties aren't mentioned as Zombies its pretty obvious what they are, however, Ann Aguirre made it so much fun to read about them. I can not wait for the next book. I'm soo happy that there even is a next one.

    If you haven't read it yet then buy it or borrow it or something, its definitely worth it:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    AMAZING.......WOW

    Finished the book in one day!!!!! It was all everything I expected and some more!, I can't wait for the next book!!, if you liked Enclave, you will definitely loved Outpost!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Fabulous Read

    Dont listen to the negative reviews regarding this book. Ann Aguire is a fantastic author, her writing flows wonderfully and lyrically. Plenty of action, adventure and suspense. Also just the right amount of heartfelt emotion to allow u to connect and bond with the characters. Kept me interested until the very end, so looking forward to the next book. If you enjoyed Enclave, this is a must read. I highly recommend. Happy reading!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Great end of the world story.

    I am in love with this series. Finally a herione that is strong and independent. This series keeps getting better and i can't wait for the next book. If you liked the first book you wont be disappointed with this installment. Some romance which i liked. There is some pretty gory descriptions so id recommend reading it before letting your kids.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book with great story line. Kept me entertained

    Great book with great story line. Kept me entertained

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Awesome

    Lovved itt:)) itt was alotttt of romance unlike the lasstt onee but itt was amazing!<3 lol:)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Mgirl

    AMAZING!!!!!!! People usually say the first book is the best but i cant decide which is better!!!!!! If you read the first book you should already be inlove with the series but you havnt lived until you read this book!!!!!!
    HIGHLY RECAMENDED!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5