BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Outrageously Alice

Average Rating 3.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sick of being Average Alice

Alice is an average girl - she could even be you. Yet she is sick of this averageness. Pamela is an outlandish, pixie-cut blonde who guys go wild over. Elizabeth is a stunning, prudish beauty who seems to fear sex. Alice is just Alice, boring and average,...
Alice is an average girl - she could even be you. Yet she is sick of this averageness. Pamela is an outlandish, pixie-cut blonde who guys go wild over. Elizabeth is a stunning, prudish beauty who seems to fear sex. Alice is just Alice, boring and average, or so she thinks. Not pretty, not ugly. Not skinny, not fat. Just Alice, sister of Lester. Things go a little crazy and Alice brings the craziness into the picture sometimes - like dying her hair green. Like dressing in a hooker-esque costume for a school Halloween function. Being in that costume and Frenched by an unknown guy is a hilarious situation and she soon finds out that, no, it isn't some secret admirer - just her boyfriend Patrick who she was unable to see clearly in the dark. Read on to see what other mischief Alice gets into - and gets herself into.

posted by Anonymous on February 22, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Going Downhill

The Alice series was pretty darn good at first, but then, it stopped being good when I read this book. They had a chapter just ALL about sex! It was really unnesessary and inappropriate. The plotline was HORRIBLE!!!! I don't recommend this book to ANYONE! Unless you lik...
The Alice series was pretty darn good at first, but then, it stopped being good when I read this book. They had a chapter just ALL about sex! It was really unnesessary and inappropriate. The plotline was HORRIBLE!!!! I don't recommend this book to ANYONE! Unless you like inapproiate content and like that sorta stuff. And no, if you think I'm an adult I'm not...I'm a teen stating this. Don't waste your time and money on this book!

posted by Anonymous on June 13, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2007

    Going Downhill

    The Alice series was pretty darn good at first, but then, it stopped being good when I read this book. They had a chapter just ALL about sex! It was really unnesessary and inappropriate. The plotline was HORRIBLE!!!! I don't recommend this book to ANYONE! Unless you like inapproiate content and like that sorta stuff. And no, if you think I'm an adult I'm not...I'm a teen stating this. Don't waste your time and money on this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    Outrageous

    As Alice died her hair with the special green moose they had picked up at the corner store, she wondered will this make my life more exciting. As she walked down the stairs with her green spiked hair, she saw her dad¿s facial expressions. Her father told Alice she was not allowed to wear that to school, and then he left for work. What is Alice going to do? In book Outrageously Alice by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor Alice is looking for a way to be outrageous and have an exciting life. Alice is the main role and throughout the book we are learning about her life and how it feels to be in 8th grade. We also meet her best friends Pamela and Elizabeth who are also going through a lot of changes in their lives. In the book we also meet her father and her brother les, she doesn¿t have a mother because she died when Alice was very little. In the book there is one more character that is very important Alice¿s boy friend Patrick. She has also gone through a lot with her friends and wanting to be original and daring such as dying her hair green for a day. In this book Alice and her friends also want to be new and have different personalities, more exciting ones. They all wanted to have something exciting happen in their lives, and it did in Alice¿s. On Halloween she was working at a haunted house at her school, and then she got pulled into the closet and got French kissed. She didn¿t know who it was because it was dark and she couldn¿t see his face. It was very misturious. In the book the main setting is in her neighborhood. She lives on the same street as her best friends, and they are frequently together. A lot of the book also is held at school, and at home. In the end of the book it wraps up all of the questions that you have and it helps understand other parts of the book. It is an amazing book! I read the book Outrageously Alice in study halls and before bed. I try to read at least 30 minutes everyday. The book has made a great impression as being fun and exciting. I love the author¿s writing style it is fun because she makes it like you are right there watching the whole book. I have read other Alice books and I enjoy the series a lot. I love the book Outrageously Alice and enjoy reading it. I have read other books by her that aren¿t the Alice books but they are the same upbeat style. She always describes things in such detail like when she described the kiss in the closet Alice got. She described how Alice was so confused and how she used all of her strength to fight him of, and how she was so scared. In all of the books she always includes times, places, and events in explicitly. She also says what the characters are thinking which helps you understand the book more, and it also makes it interesting. Like when she writes how Alice feels about not being outrageous helps me understand how Alice was feeling. My final thought on the book is that many of the experiences that Alice went through, Phyllis also went through because she described the feeling of her so well and how it happened. I don¿t think that she gave enough information at the end, but I think she did this so that you will read the next book in the series to get a question answered. This book is amazing! I think that Alice misses her mom a lot. Any girl without a mom is going to be very sad, so I think she will talk about her mother with her father to find out more. In the book there is a girl named Pamela Jones she is one of Alice¿s best friends. She reminds me of Lindsey one of my best friends Pamela is tall, pretty, and skinny. She is one of the most popular girls at school, and everyone likes her. She is identical to Lindsey because Lindsey holds all of those qualities too. I would recommend this book to anyone who is above 11. This book is very mature and people younger than 11 should not read it. Although boys might like this book I would recommend it most to girls. It is from a girl¿s point of view so I think girls like it better. If you want a good book, thi

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2005

    very bad book

    While the story line was ok, I was apalled by the references to sex in it. Not only that, but questions from a 'test your sensuality' quiz AND many refernces to sexual positions! Definently NOT a book that I will ever recommened to anyone! Especially children!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2004

    Sick of being Average Alice

    Alice is an average girl - she could even be you. Yet she is sick of this averageness. Pamela is an outlandish, pixie-cut blonde who guys go wild over. Elizabeth is a stunning, prudish beauty who seems to fear sex. Alice is just Alice, boring and average, or so she thinks. Not pretty, not ugly. Not skinny, not fat. Just Alice, sister of Lester. Things go a little crazy and Alice brings the craziness into the picture sometimes - like dying her hair green. Like dressing in a hooker-esque costume for a school Halloween function. Being in that costume and Frenched by an unknown guy is a hilarious situation and she soon finds out that, no, it isn't some secret admirer - just her boyfriend Patrick who she was unable to see clearly in the dark. Read on to see what other mischief Alice gets into - and gets herself into.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2007

    great!!

    frist of all alice books are page turners once you start you can't stop it's so funny and trueful ... anyway this is one of my favorite alice books because the nature of it is just awsome i love her books i just wish it was based on a true story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2000

    A can't put down book!

    Outrageously Alice is a good book for teenagers to read. It has drama, excitement, and humor. This is a great book to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    thanks

    thanks for all the reviews you all wrote it really helped me decide if i should read it or not!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2003

    Outrageously Teenage Life!!

    Have you ever straight up your hair and even dyed it in green? Or was french-kissed with a unknown guy? If you didn't, congratulations, just see how many interesting thing Alice had did to rid off her thirteen years of boring life. you won't feel sorry about that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2003

    You can be a real teenager!

    I think this book is special, exciting and funny book. Tihs book's main character, Alice, 8th grader, she always fo strange and outrageously. Her life is incrediable!! And there were many events to find herself. (She wants to know more about herself.)Sometimes she think about herself so seriously. Teenager life is so hard course to be an adult. If teenagers read this book, they can feel happy to find that book, and if teenager's parents read this book, they will understand there children's mind. When you are so boring, just read this book. I am sure that time really goes fast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2002

    Alice's 9th novel more wonderful then others

    This Alice novel is great for middle school aged children going through all the things Alice is. Naylor's characters are always so lifelike and easy to compare to real life! I would give this novel 10 stars if it was possible!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2002

    Awsome!

    This book was halarious. I couldn't put it down. I read it in one day! The title of the book sure explains Alice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2001

    great book

    This book is brilliant. Its probably one of the funniest books in its series. It brings real life situations into a great well written book. I am very glad that Neylor will continue this series until Alice is 18.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2000

    One of the best books I reed

    It talks about growing up for girls my age. It is also very funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2000

    Good book

    I really liked this Alice book because it talked about the changes in life.. and all the stupid things that some people do to stop them. I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1