Customer Reviews for

The Outside Shot

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    follow up

    I like his books because there's so much to learn from them. The things that go on in his stories are real for some people,the things that come to most people in life can be much harder for others to achieve.It teaches you to be grateful for what you are blessed enough to have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    I refuse to read this book.

    Walter Dean Myers is one of the worst authors. I read Hoops. Within the first 10 pages, I hated it. I read Briefcase (one of his short stories). Ridiculous. I would NOT want to read anymore of his ridiculous slang, and ridiculous names. Example: For a guy who just shot a little girl, his name is Pookie. Not kidding. Walter Dean Myers can't write, so don't read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    If You Like Basketball.. read---> (The Outside Shot)

    The Book I read was "the outside shot" by Walter Dean Myers. It's about a young adult named Lonnie Jackson, he gets drafted to play college Basketball at a mid-western college. When he gets to college, he meets a room mate named Colin Young and they become best friends. So through out the book he starts running into lots of problems. He meets a girl named Sherry and she ends up as his girl friend, then their off and on. Then he starts to blow off his basketball games because he gambles on them, His grades start to fall. Then he's trying to be a role modle for this kid named Eddie. He gets in a fight with his coach and can't play. Just alot of drama in the book. But if you want to know what happends at the end of the book you have to read The outside Shot. But you have to read Hoops to understand The Outside shot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    Chris Donabedian Tuesday, September 18, 2007 Period 4 Hoops By Walter Dean Myers This book is mainly about how seventeen year old Lonnie Jackson of Harlem believed in himself and came out a champion. Lonnie Jackson, a 17 year old black guy, isn't that well educated so he uses a lot of slang and cursing words. The word he uses the most is ain¿t. He makes people feel awful about themselves because he didn¿t have a very good childhood. He also doesn¿t know a variety of vocabulary because he was in a conversation with a smart man and he didn¿t know half the words he was saying. I think that he really needs to get a better education. Lonnie Jackson is pretty good about dressing himself. He usually dresses himself in basketball clothes but he wears normal shoes (not basketball shoes). He tries to find clothing from the NY Knicks which is his favorite basketball team. He sags his shorts extremely low and they look like they are coming off. His girlfriend, Mary-Ann, hates that he does that. She always tries to pull them up for him but he just curses at her. If he got his act together, he would look a lot better than he does. Lonnie has some serious problems in his head. He always thinks of killing the people that he hates like Tyrone and his gang because Tyrone keeps beating up his coach Cal. He thinks about Cal a lot like how he is doing because he always disappears for days at a time. In addition, Lonnie is always thinking of what Mary-Ann and Lonnie would become if they stayed together. He thinks that they should be together and he also thinks that they shouldn¿t be together. He is a pretty smart person but just needs to stop thinking about killing other people. Because he treats people poorly they are pretty rude back to him. At the end of the story he almost got killed defending his friend when he was jumped by some guys. They started beating on each other and he got stabbed by a man with a knife. Although he got beat up Mary-Ann treats him like a god. She does whatever he says to do just like a servant. Cal is pretty nice to Lonnie but only because he has to be. Lonnie is a pretty fine kid but can be a very dreadful kid at the same time. Lonnie Jackson is getting into a lot of mischief lately like stealing stuff from the liquor store by his work and getting knifed by his enemies. He got knifed because he was trying to protect his good friend Cal and he stole stuff from the liquor store because he needed the cash. He also treats the community like they are his slaves. He tries to manipulate them to think he is superior even though he isn¿t. He is a pretty smart person, though. Lonnie Jackson is a really smart kid that needs help to control his anger and get his life on track. Chris Donabedian Tuesday, September 18, 2007 Period 4 Hoops By Walter Dean Myers Mood The book Hoops has a very disturbing mood throughout the whole story. The mood is disturbing because it takes place in the ghetto where people rob and beat people who didn¿t do anything to them. The main character, Lonnie Jackson, and his good friend Cal get jumped by a few people that work at a club. In addition, another friend Ox gets shot near the beginning of this story for stealing from his boss. There is also a happy mood in this story because Lonnie¿s basketball team comes from behind to win an extremely important game which was on the news. They came back from 18 points and won the game by only 1 point. It¿s a pretty inspirational book for anyone who likes basketball. Setting The book takes place in Harlem. Harlem is a poor part of New York City. It takes place mostly in the daytime but some of the book is at night. The weather was perfect throughout the whole story. Most of the action takes place while the main character, Lonnie Jackson, is playing basketball. It¿s pretty horrifying in the beginni

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    Swish! Lonnie shoots and scores

    Lonnie Jackson gets recruited to play basketball for Monteclare university. When he gets there he has a hard time getting used to college life. He has todeal with school work, girls, and basketball. He meets a girl named Sherry who helps him with his problems. During the games Coach Leeds is hard on him. He also has to help Eddy with his condition. This is a story of triumph and caring for others. I liked this book because as an athelete I can relate to Lonnie. I understand the troubles he was going through with school. any athelete can relate to this book and find something you have incommon with this book. I would recommend The Outside Shot by Walter Dean Meyers to any athelete. Especially basketball players. This book shows the life struggles of Lonnie and his team.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    Outside Shot

    this book is good and very interesting and if you like basketball i will reccomend this book to you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2005

    Outside Shot Review

    I've read 'The Outside Shot' by Walter Dean Myers. Myers has written another great basketball novel. This book is about a kid in Harlem, New York who gets a scholarship to a college in Indiana. Lonnie faces many challenges at Monteclare. He is short on cash, he is trying to make the basketball team, he has a crush on a girl and so much more. I reccomend this book to any b-ball lover, it will sure intrest you.The outside shot is the sequal to Hoops, Slam! is also a basketball book written by Walter Dean Myers. This story is told on Lonnie's point of veiw. Myers really knows how to put yourself in someone elses shoes who really loves basketball. Mike A

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2004

    Great Book like Love And Basketball

    This book is absuloutely AMAZING, its about a kid named Lonnie who goes to college and plays ball along the way he gets in to some trouble falls in love and is a hero

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2003

    Moving and Inspirational!

    This book was a great sequel to hoops and inspired me to try and get a scholarship in Basketball. It was humorous and taught that basketball was not a one-man game. I enjoyed Collin, Lonnie roommate in college because he stuck with him. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2002

    The Most Interesting Book I've Ever Read.

    I think that this book is meant for you people to read. It is a book that people would love to read, because it touches the soul, and the feelings of young teenagers. I am a young teenager only a sophmore, and I love to play basketball. I've been playing since I was in the 7th grade and I continued to play until my freshmen year. I couldn't play my sophmore year because I hurt my arm in an accident, but starting my junior year I will be back again. I've been startin since I was in the 7th grade. I played J.V., and varsity as a freshmen. I hope to go on and succeed, so that I can get a scholarship to go to school and play basketball.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1